News

1 February 201416:48

Introductory speech by the Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, during his meeting with the Ukrainian Foreign Minister, Leonid Kozhara, Munich, 1 February 2014

180-01-02-2014

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

When we speak about the situation in Ukraine, we should not simplify everything, because otherwise it means facing up to the situation, when leaks and rumours in the mass media rule the entire process. This is absolutely wrong, not correct. Now we need less slogans and more caring about the results of the efforts, which are being undertaken, to return the situation to a constitutional one.

Our friend, the US Secretary of State, John Kerry, stated that Ukraine should choose who it is with: the entire world or one country. Knowing his experience and common sense I did not expect such an "agitprop" from him. When I contact him next, I will ask what his mark in arithmetic was.

I completely agree that we need to maintain relations within the framework of the entire Atlantic Europe – some OSCE documents speak about this, it is the goal of the Helsinki Plus 40 programme which started under the Ukrainian presidency of the OSCE. It is counterproductive to use fine words, sign under high principles, but act otherwise in practice. Russia, Ukraine and the EU are strategic partners. We do not want any "behind-the-scene" manoeuvres either, to play the old card "with us or against us". This is thinking from the last epoch which should be relegated to history or even better disappear.

We actively supported the proposition of the Ukrainian government to hold trilateral consultations Ukraine-Russia-EU. We still think that this is a reasonable idea. It was discussed at the Russia-EU summit in Brussels. We feel that the partners that the President of Russia, Vladimir Putin, talked to are starting to better understand that we should stop building artificial barriers dividing the immense common OSCE space. Today, at the Munich conference, in which we are participating, we are hearing slightly different, earlier statements, that Ukraine must make a choice, and this choice should be in favour of the EU. It is evident that there is a mismatch between reality and what is supposed to be reality. I hope that after the meetings you are holding here, as well as after the Ukrainian President's contacts with the opposition and foreign partners, others will understand that they should stop their attempts to act according to the "with us or against us" principle.

1 February 2014

Additional materials

Video

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

1.02.1416:48

Вступительное слово Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова на встрече с Министром иностранных дел Украины Л.А.Кожарой, Мюнхен, 1 февраля 2014года

180-01-02-2014

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

 

Говоря о ситуации на Украине, нельзя все упрощать – это означает опять впадать в ситуацию, когда утечки и слухи в СМИ руководят процессом. Это абсолютно неправильно, неверно. Сейчас нужно поменьше лозунгов и побольше заботы о результатах усилий, которые предпринимаются украинским руководством для возвращения ситуации в конституционное русло.

Наш друг Госсекретарь США Дж.Керри заявил, что Украина должна выбрать, с кем она: со всем миром или с одной страной. От него, с его опытом и рассудительностью подобной "агитки" я не ожидал. У нас еще предстоит контакт с ним, и я спрошу, что у него было по арифметике.

Полностью согласен с необходимостью поддерживать отношения в рамках всего евроатлантического пространства – об этом говорится в документах ОБСЕ, на это нацелена начатая при украинском председательстве в ОБСЕ программа "Хельсинки плюс 40". Говоря красивые слова, подписываясь под высокими принципами, контрпродуктивно действовать иначе на практике. Россия и Украина, и ЕС – стратегические партнеры. Мы также не хотим каких-то закулисных маневров, которые разыгрывают старую карту "либо с нами, либо против нас". Это мышление прошлой эпохи, которая должна уйти навсегда в историю, а лучше – в небытие.

Мы активно поддержали предложение украинского руководства о необходимости трехсторонних консультаций Украина-Россия-ЕС. До сих пор считаем, что это очень разумная идея. Она обсуждалась на саммите Россия-ЕС в Брюсселе. У нас есть ощущение, что у партнеров, с которыми разговаривал Президент России В.В.Путин, растет понимание необходимости перестать возводить искусственные барьеры, разделяя огромное общее пространство ОБСЕ. Пока на Мюнхенской конференции, в которой мы принимаем участие, звучат несколько иные, прежние заявления о том, что Украина должна сделать выбор, и выбор этот должен быть в пользу ЕС. Здесь – очевидно несовпадение реальности с тем, что пытаются за нее выдать. Надеюсь, после встреч, которые Вы здесь проводите, а также после контактов Президента Украины с оппозицией и зарубежными партнерами будет укрепляться понимание необходимости остановить попытки действовать по принципу "либо с нами, либо против нас".

 

1 февраля 2014 года

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Горячая линия

+380 44 280-14-12
+380 44 244-09-61
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж