1 August 201315:43

Comment of Maria Zakharova, Deputy Director of the Information and Press Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia, as regards the next taking of Kurdish hostages by extremists in Syria

1516-01-08-2013

  • en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

On July 31, mass media started to report that Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant and Djebhat an-Nusra, terrorist groupings allied to Al-Qaeda, took about 200 civilians from Kurdish villages Tel'eran and Tel Hasel near Aleppo as hostages. Tel'eran was occupied by "jihadists" the day before. Local Kurdish militia in blocked Tel Hasel continue to resist.

We have already paid attention to the activation of radical Islamists in regions of Syria bordering Turkey mostly populated by Kurds. Suffering a defeat from Syrian government forces in Homs, near Damascus and in the south of the country, militants aimed their stroke at the Kurdish minority, evidently pursuing the aim to split Syria based on ethnicities and religions. Their actions seem to revenge Kurds having different political views, who have not allowed to involve themselves into the military conflict in Syria, independently enforcing order in places of its compact settlement.

In the period of Ramadan, sacred month for Muslims, extremists have closely started to implement their known plan of creation of an Islamic emirate exclusively with sharia laws in the areas controlled by them. Kurds did not want to subject themselves to such order and drove the alien militants from earlier occupied populated areas, including Ras al-Ayn and Tell Abyad at the Turkish border. Extremists responded by terror: taking and killing of civilians, shooting attacks to towns and villages, detonation of landmines and mined cars, destruction of local government buildings. At the beginning of current week Isa Huso, eminent person of the Supreme Council of Syrian Kurds (SCSK), was killed in Qamishli, after which Kurdish parties appealed to the youths to join community defence volunteer squads.

The situation in Syria is complicated by the fact that neither the National Coalition of Syrian Opposition (NC) nor the Free Syrian Army (FSA) have not responded to the appeal of Kurdish leaders in SAR to start jointly combating extremists. Moreover, according to some data, FSA units interact with Islamists in the Kurdish line and involve representatives of Arab tribes living in these regions, in particular Shammar tribal confederation into confrontation with Kurds.

We decisively denounce attacks of radicals on local Kurdish population. We consider their actions to be committed for the purposes of provoking ethnic and religious hostility, break-up of the unity of Syria and security in the entire region. We intend to consistently attain that Syrian authorities and all the opposition groups, which include SCSK representatives, undertake joint obligations to liquidate or remove from Syria all terrorist and extremist organisations allied to Al-Qaeda during the International conference on Syria.

1 August 2013

x
x
Advanced settings

1.08.1315:43

Комментарий заместителя директора Департамента информации и печати МИД России М.В.Захаровой в связи с очередным захватом экстремистами в Сирии заложников среди курдского населения

1516-01-08-2013

  • en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

31 июля в СМИ появились сообщения о том, что связанные с «Аль- Каидой» террористические группировки «Исламское государство Ирака и Леванта» и «Джабхат ан-Нусра» захватили в заложники около 200 мирных жителей из курдских деревень Телль Арейн и Телль Хасель в провинции Алеппо. Телль Арейн был занят «джихадистами» накануне. В блокированном Телль Хаселе местные курдские ополченцы продолжают сопротивление.

Мы уже обращали внимание на активизацию радикальных исламистов в приграничных с Турцией населенных преимущественно курдами районах Сирии. Терпя поражения от сирийских правительственных сил в Хомсе, под Дамаском и на юге страны, боевики направили удар против курдского меньшинства, явно преследуя цель расколоть Сирию по этноконфессиональному признаку. В их действиях просматривается и месть курдам, которые, придерживаясь различных политических взглядов, в целом не дали себя вовлечь в разгоревшийся в Сирии вооруженный конфликт, самостоятельно обеспечивая порядок в местах своего компактного проживания.

В период священного для мусульман месяца Рамадан экстремисты вплотную приступили к реализации своего известного плана создания на контролируемых ими территориях исламского эмирата, где действовали бы исключительно законы шариата. Курды подчиняться таким порядкам не захотели и выбили пришлых боевиков из ряда ранее захваченных ими населенных пунктов, включая Рас аль-Айн и Телль Абъяд на турецкой границе. Экстремисты ответили террором: захватами и убийствами мирных жителей, обстрелами городов и деревень, подрывами фугасов и заминированных автомобилей, разрушением зданий местной администрации. В начале текущей недели в г.Камышлы был убит видный деятель Высшего совета курдов Сирии (ВСКС) Иса Хисо, после чего ведущие курдские партии призвали молодежь к вступлению в отряды самообороны.

Ситуация осложняется тем, что ни «Национальная коалиция сил сирийской революции и оппозиции» (НК), ни «Сирийская свободная армия» (ССА) не откликнулись на призыв курдских лидеров в САР начать совместную борьбу с экстремистами. Более того, по некоторым данным, отряды ССА взаимодействуют с исламистами на курдском направлении и вовлекают в противостояние с курдами представителей проживающих в этих же районах арабских племен, в частности племенной конфедерации Шаммар.

Решительно осуждаем нападения радикалов на мирное курдское население. Рассматриваем их действия как совершаемые с целью провоцирования этноконфессиональной вражды, подрыва единства Сирии и безопасности всего региона. Намерены последовательно добиваться того, чтобы сирийские власти и все оппозиционные группы, среди которых мы видим и представителей ВСКС, взяли на себя в ходе Международной конференции по Сирии, подготовка к которой идет в настоящее время, общие обязательства ликвидировать или изгнать из Сирии все террористические и экстремистские организации, связанные с «Аль-Каидой».

 

1 августа 2013 года

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска