20 February 201409:50

Visit by the Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, to Kuwait

323-20-02-2014

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

PRESS RELEASE

On 19th February, the Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, who is in Kuwait to participate in the work of the third round of ministerial strategic dialogue between Russia and the Co-operation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf (CCASG), was welcomed by the Emir of the State of Kuwait, Shiekh Sabah Al Ahmed Al Sabah; he has also conducted negotiations with the First Deputy President of the Council of Ministers, the Foreign Minister of Kuwait Sheikh Sabah Khalid Al-Hamad Al-Sabah.

During their talk, the Emir of Kuwait showed much appreciation for the state of what are traditional friendly Russian-Kuwaiti relations. At the same time, they proclaimed a mutual aspiration to develop bilateral partnership in the financial, economic and investment sectors, as well as in the trade, oil and gas and energy sectors. There was noted the importance of more dynamic involvement of economic and financial institutes, and the involvement of entrepreneurs from both countries in the implementation of investment projects.

Special attention was devoted to the large-scale transformation processes which have taken place in several countries in the Middle East and North Africa. Sergey Lavrov highlighted the importance that the people of Arab countries work towards resolution of all the problems in the region, without external interference or artificial escalation of tensions.

The heads of the Russian and Kuwaiti foreign services exchanged many opinions on the development of the situation in Syria and the surrounding area, including in the context of the results obtained from the first two rounds of inter-Syrian negotiations in Geneva. Sergey Lavrov emphasised the need to continue the negotiation process between delegations from the SAR government, and the need to maintain opposition characterised by the constructive assistance of all influential international players, to ensure a faster political settlement of the Syrian crisis via the implementation of the Geneva Communiqué of 30th June 2012.

The framework of the discussion of the ways to reinforce interaction in the form of strategic dialogue between Russia and the CCASG, includes the topic of ensuring collective security in the Gulf area, including through the implementation of the respective concept proposed by Russia and supported by several subregional countries including Kuwait. The common opinion was that the Iran nuclear issue should be settled in a political and diplomatic way.

20th February 2014

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Web Content Display is temporarily unavailable.

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

20.02.1409:50

О визите Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в Кувейт

323-20-02-2014

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

19 февраля Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров, находящийся в Эль-Кувейте для участия в работе третьего министерского раунда стратегического диалога Россия-Совет сотрудничества арабских государств Персидского залива (ССАГПЗ), был принят Эмиром Государства Кувейт шейхом Сабахом Аль Ахмедом А.Ас-Сабахом, а также провел переговоры с первым заместителем Председателя Совета министров, Министром иностранных дел Государства Кувейт шейхом Сабахом Халедом Ас-Сабахом.

В ходе беседы Эмир Кувейта дал высокую оценку состоянию традиционно дружественных российско-кувейтских отношений. При этом констатировано обоюдное стремление к наращиванию двустороннего партнерства в финансово-экономической и инвестиционной областях, а также в сфере торговли, нефтегазового комплекса и энергетики. Была отмечена значимость более динамичного вовлечения экономических и финансовых институтов, предпринимателей обеих стран в осуществление инновационных проектов.

Особое внимание было уделено глубинным трансформационным процессам, охватившим ряд государств Ближнего Востока и Северной Африки. С.В.Лавров подчеркнул важность решения всех имеющихся в регионе проблем народами самих арабских стран, без вмешательства извне и искусственного нагнетания обстановки.

Главы внешнеполитических ведомств России и Кувейта провели обстоятельный обмен мнениями по развитию ситуации в Сирии и вокруг нее, в том числе в контексте итогов двух первых раундов межсирийских переговоров в Женеве. С.В.Лавров акцентировал необходимость продолжения переговорного процесса между делегациями правительства САР и оппозиции при конструктивном содействии всех влиятельных международных игроков с целью скорейшего политического урегулирования сирийского кризиса на путях выполнения Женевского коммюнике от 30 июня 2012 года.

В рамках обсуждения путей укрепления взаимодействия в формате стратегического диалога Россия-ССАГПЗ затрагивалась тематика обеспечения коллективной безопасности в зоне Персидского залива, в т.ч. через реализацию соответствующей концепции, предложенной Россией и поддержанной рядом государств субрегиона, включая Кувейт. Общим было мнение о необходимости достижения политико-дипломатического урегулирования иранской ядерной проблемы.

20 февраля 2014 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска