29 April 200920:52

Transcript of Remarks and Response to Media Questions by Russian Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov at Joint Press Conference after Sixth Arctic Council Meeting, Norway, April 29, 2009

695-29-04-2009

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

I am gratified that all the tasks set at the previous Arctic Council session in Salekhard have been accomplished. I want to note the services of the Norwegian chairmanship, to thank the Norwegians for their efforts and to wish the Danish chairmanship success.

Among the decisions made today are two Russian initiatives: to establish a multilateral system for preventing and neutralizing the consequences of man-made disasters and to establish a system of search and rescue. We also suggested additional projects to our partners, in particular, concerning creating a pan-Arctic electronic library ‘Electronic Memory of the Arctic,' and expanding collaboration between coast guards of Arctic states.

I fully agree that the existing norms of international law help solve any issues that may arise in the Arctic.

By decision of President Dmitry Medvedev, the guidelines for the Russian Federation's state policy in the Arctic to 2020 were approved last year. They articulated the task of promoting multilateral Arctic cooperation with the employment of all the existing norms of international law and entities, the Arctic Council in the first place.

In conclusion I want to say that practical activities of the Arctic Council, which we have consistently sought to strengthen, debunk every prognosis that the Arctic is becoming a potential source of conflict. Such has never been, nor will ever be, the case.

Question: Is Russia planning to create security forces in this region? Will the Russian military contingent be increased there? How do you envision the role of observer countries in the Arctic Council which are not Arctic countries, for example China or Japan?

Foreign Minister Lavrov: We do not intend to increase our armed presence in the Arctic. Decisions being adopted to strengthen the capabilities of the coast guard are important for rescue operations in these areas. There are no plans to introduce any extra armed forces in addition to the regular units performing their functions.

We have heard of various ideas concerning development of security cooperation in the framework of organizations which are not part of the Arctic Council. But those are not Russian proposals. I hope that any likely proposals in this sphere will be regulated by mechanisms of the Arctic Council. That's the exact decision of last year's Arctic Ocean Conference at Ilulissat. I hope that this decision will be respected by all countries.

As to observers, we welcome all who make their contribution to our work. We expect observers to take into account the positions of all Council participants. If we see that our partners are ready to facilitate realization of the goals approved by the Arctic Council member countries, we will always be able to find a common language with them.

Question: The United States has declared an intention to head up the talks in Copenhagen. What will be the role and aim of Russia in the negotiation process?

Foreign Minister Lavrov: I cannot speak for the United States. You better put this question directly to my American counterpart. Russia is interested in the success of the conference in Copenhagen. We are actively involved in the work of this forum and believe a just solution must ultimately be worked out that meets the interests of all participants. We hope that its concrete parameters and objectives will be developed on a professional and universal basis.

Question: Was the question of a possible legislative prohibition of a military presence in the Arctic discussed in the Council?

Foreign Minister Lavrov: We did not discuss this theme. As I have already noted, our common position is that the existing norms of international law help solve any issues in the development of cooperation in this region.

April 29, 2009

Additional materials

Video

Photos

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

29.04.0920:52

Стенограмма выступления и ответов на вопросы СМИ Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в ходе совместной пресс–конференции по итогам Шестого заседания Арктического совета, Норвегия, 29 апреля 2009 года

695-29-04-2009

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Доволен тем, что все поставленные на предыдущей сессии Арктического совета в Салехарде задачи были выполнены. Хочу отметить заслуги норвежского председательства, поблагодарить норвежцев за их усилия и пожелать успехов датскому председательству.

Среди принятых сегодня решений две российские инициативы: создание многосторонней системы предотвращения и нейтрализации последствий техногенных катастроф и создание системы поиска и спасания. Мы также предложили нашим партнерам дополнительные проекты, в частности, касающиеся создания панарктической электронной библиотеки «Электронная память Арктики», а также расширения взаимодействия между береговыми охранами приарктических государств.

Полностью согласен с тем, что имеющиеся нормы международного права позволяют решать любые вопросы, возникающие в Арктике.

Решением Президента Российской Федерации Д.А.Медведева в прошлом году были одобрены основы государственной политики Российской Федерации в Арктике на период до 2020 г. В формулировании этих основ в полной мере учтены задачи развития в Арктике многостороннего сотрудничества с использованием всех имеющихся норм международного права и структур, прежде всего Арктического совета.

В заключение хочу сказать, что практическая деятельность Арктического совета, в пользу укрепления которой мы последовательно выступаем, развенчивает всякие прогнозы о том, что Арктика становится потенциальным источником конфликтов. Такого не было и не будет.

Вопрос: Планирует ли Россия создание сил безопасности в этом регионе? Будет ли увеличен там российский военный контингент? Как Вам видится роль стран–наблюдателей в Арктическом совете, которые не являются арктическими странами, например Китая или Японии?

С.В.Лавров (неофициальный перевод с английского языка): Мы не намерены увеличивать наше вооруженное присутствие в Арктике. Решения, принимающиеся для усиления потенциала береговой охраны, важны для спасательных операций в этих районах. Не планируется введение дополнительных вооруженных сил в добавление к регулярным подразделениям, выполняющим свои функции.

Мы слышали о различных идеях, касающихся развития сотрудничества в вопросах безопасности в рамках организаций, не являющихся частью Арктического совета. Но это не российские предложения. Надеюсь, что любые предложения, которые возникнут в этой сфере, будут регулироваться механизмами Арктического совета. Именно такое решение было достигнуто в ходе встречи министров иностранных дел пяти прибрежных арктических государств, которая проходила год назад в Илулиссате. Надеюсь, что это решение будет уважаться всеми странами.

Что касается наблюдателей, то мы приветствуем всех, кто вносит свой вклад в нашу работу. Ожидаем, что наблюдатели будут учитывать позиции всех участников Совета. Если мы будем видеть, что наши партнеры готовы содействовать реализации целей, утвержденных странами–членами Арктического совета, то мы всегда сможем найти с ними общий язык.

Вопрос: США заявили о намерении возглавить переговоры в Копенгагене. Какова будет роль и цель России в переговорном процессе?

С.В.Лавров (неофициальный перевод с английского языка): Я не могу говорить за Соединенные Штаты. Вам лучше задать вопрос напрямую американскому коллеге. Россия заинтересована в успехе конференции в Копенгагене. Мы активно участвуем в работе этого форума. Уверены, что в конце концов должно быть выработано справедливое решение, отвечающее интересам всех участников. Надеемся, что его конкретные параметры и задачи будут вырабатываться на профессиональной и универсальной основе.

Вопрос: Обсуждался ли на Совете вопрос о возможном законодательном запрете военного присутствия в Арктике?

С.В.Лавров: Мы эту тему не обсуждали. Как я уже отметил, наша общая позиция заключается в том, что существующие нормы международного права позволяют решать любые вопросы развития сотрудничества в этом регионе.

29 апреля 2009 года

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Фотографии

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска