5 June 200913:15

Attendance of Russian Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov at the 15th Ministerial Session of the Council of the Baltic Sea States in Helsinger, Denmark, June 3-4, 2009

903-05-06-2009

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

PRESS RELEASE

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Sergey Lavrov, attended a regular ministerial session of the Council of the Baltic Sea States from June 3-4.

Session participants representing the Council member states, Russia, Germany, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Poland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, as well as the European Commission devoted their main attention to discussing Baltic cooperation prospects in the context of the previous session's decisions on the reform of the CBSS with a view to raising the effectiveness of its work and rationalizing the entire system of multilateral Baltic cooperation. The thesis about the importance of strengthening the coordinating functions of the Council as the leading intergovernmental organization focused on carrying out specific cooperation projects, significant for the entire region, keynoted the session.

The heads of the foreign affairs agencies approved the renewed statutory documents of the CBSS – the regulations concerning the organization and its secretariat and the rules on third-party participation in Council activities – and adopted an outcome Declaration articulating the tasks in deepening the structural reform of the Council, and fixing a broad spectrum of upcoming or already-accomplished activities and projects in all priority areas of Baltic cooperation (environment, economic development, energy, education and culture, and civil security and the human dimension). The Russian side accentuated the importance of broadening cooperation in combating human trafficking and defending children's rights and in such areas as nuclear and radiation safety, civil protection, youth policies, people-to-people contacts, and the promotion of tolerance. It was emphasized that the situation of unprecedented mass non-citizenship in the region and a number of other problems linked to the position of national minorities should also remain in the Council's sphere of attention.

The composition of CBSS observer states (Britain, Italy, the Netherlands, Slovakia, the United States, France and Ukraine) has widened. From July 1, 2009, Belarus, Spain and Romania will also enjoy observer status. In accordance with the principle of annual rotation, the Council presidency passed to Lithuania.

On the sidelines of the session, Sergey Lavrov held a number of bilateral meetings with foreign ministers of CBSS member and observer states.

June 5, 2009

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)


x
x
Advanced settings

5.06.0913:15

Об участии Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в 15-й Министерской сессии Совета государств Балтийского моря в Хельсингёре, Дания, 3-4 июня 2009 года

903-05-06-2009

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров 3-4 июня принял участие в работе очередной Министерской сессии Совета государств Балтийского моря.

Участники заседания, представлявшие государства–члены Совета –Россию, Германию, Швецию, Финляндию, Норвегию, Данию, Исландию, Польшу, Эстонию, Латвию, Литву, а также Комиссию Европейских сообществ – основное внимание уделили обсуждению перспектив сотрудничества в регионе Балтийского моря в контексте принятых на предыдущей сессии решений о реформировании СГБМ в целях повышения эффективности его работы и рационализации всей системы многостороннего взаимодействия на Балтике. Лейтмотивом работы сессии стал тезис о важности укрепления координирующих функций Совета в качестве ведущей межправительственной организации, нацеленной на осуществление конкретных значимых для всего региона проектов сотрудничества.

Главы внешнеполитических ведомств утвердили обновленные уставные документы СГБМ – положения об организации, ее секретариате и участии третьих сторон в деятельности Совета, приняли итоговую Декларацию, в которой сформулированы задачи по углублению структурной реформы Совета, зафиксирован широкий спектр осуществленных и предстоящих мероприятий и проектов по всем приоритетным направлениям сотрудничества на Балтике (окружающая среда, экономическое развитие, энергетика, образование и культура, гражданская безопасность и человеческое измерение). Российская сторона акцентировала важность расширения взаимодействия в сферах борьбы с торговлей людьми, защиты прав детей, ядерной и радиационной безопасности, гражданской защиты, молодежной политики, контактов между людьми, продвижения толерантности. Было подчеркнуто, что в сфере внимания Совета должны также оставаться ситуация беспрецедентного массового безгражданства в регионе, ряд других проблем, связанных с положением нацменьшинств.

Расширился состав государств–наблюдателей СГБМ (Великобритания, Италия, Нидерланды, Словакия, США, Франция и Украина). С 1 июля 2009 г. статусом наблюдателя будут пользоваться также Белоруссия, Испания и Румыния. В соответствии с принципом ежегодной ротации председательство в Совете перешло к Литве.

На «полях» заседания С.В.Лавров провел ряд двусторонних встреч с министрами иностранных дел государств–членов и наблюдателей СГБМ.

5 июня 2009 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)


x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска