22 November 200511:15

Speech by Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation Sergey Lavrov at the Ministerial Meeting on the Northern Dimension, Brussels, November 21, 2005

2464-22-11-2005

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Unofficial translation from Russian

Esteemed colleagues,

Ladies and gentlemen,

I am glad to have this opportunity today jointly with you to start a renewed initiative, conceived as a means to deepen interaction between Russia, the European Union, Norway and Iceland. The Northern Dimension will encompass an extensive geographical zone from the Arctic to areas adjoining the southern part of the Baltic Sea, from Iceland and Greenland to the northwest of Russia. By virtue of this alone it appears to be a unique format of international regional cooperation.

Our generally favorable attitude to the Northern Dimension policy, launched by the European Union in 1999, is well known. At the same time, at the early stages of its formation and implementation a lot of questions arose about the degree of consideration of Russia's interests, including the practical interests of our regions. We criticized the colleagues from the EU, but did that constructively in such a way as not to hinder the Northern Dimension, but try and optimize it, make it a truly effective and valuable instrument for equal regional interaction. Not everything succeeded in this regard and it can be said that the Northern Dimension had essentially become an "umbrella" under which the projects being realized as part of other programs were artificially being pulled.

The task of reforming the Northern Dimension has successfully been moved off dead center only in the current year as a result of the intensive and systematic expert work, aimed at finding an optimal balance of interests. The aim was set in quite ambitious terms: not to try to do any cosmetic repairs to the dilapidated building, but to construct it actually anew on a new, more solid foundation. We had to struggle for a while also, but in the end the mutual leaning towards cooperation played a decisive role.

The document which we are today to approve, Guidelines for Elaborating a Political Declaration and a Framework Political Document for the Northern Dimension Starting in 2007, differs radically from its predecessors. We are satisfied with the fact that many of our priorities and basic approaches are reflected in it.

We welcome the stronger understanding in the EU today that Russia is a key Northern Dimension participant. Very important is the pivotal idea of the document: the transformation of the Northern Dimension into a common policy for Russia, the European Union, and Norway and Iceland, which are not its members.

The acceptance of the Guidelines for the Northern Dimension will provide conditions for the sustained development of this program in the coming years. On this basis we will be working out new documents. A working group is being formed to carry out day-to-day interaction. I think it would be logical to include in it our experts who were directly working out the Guidelines. One of the tasks for them next year will be the preparation of agreed-upon proposals on priority projects, on whose implementation it would be possible to embark immediately.

The Northern Dimension is seen as a common possession and a common instrument for all its participants. It must be fully integrated into partner relations between Russia and the EU. Accordingly, it cannot be viewed in isolation from the general context of the Russia-EU relationship, in particular from the roadmaps approved in May of this year for the four common spaces. We also take the Northern Dimension as a regional embodiment of the global partnership between Russia and the European Union. Thus, all the prerequisites exist for the Northern Dimension to become a significant element of regional cooperation by Russia with the countries of the European Union and its institutions.

It is aimed at a greater dovetailing of the efforts of the northern regional organizations (Council of the Baltic Sea States, Barents Euro-Arctic Council, Arctic Council, and so on), the reduction of duplication in their activities, and the optimal utilization of available resources. Each of the listed sub-regional structures has its own experience, a definite history and a definite agenda. They can well find their niches in the changing architecture of regional cooperation with the launching of the renewed Northern Dimension. We must jointly do so that the Northern Dimension does not dissolve them in itself, but facilitate the effective solution of the tasks before them.

As far as the long-term Northern Dimension thrusts and projects are concerned, I shall emphasize, first of all, economics, trade and investment, business interaction, energy, transport and communications. We regard science, education, social security and healthcare, as well as the environment and nuclear safety as a major component of the Dimension and similarly rank contacts between people.

A couple of words about the environmental partnership already being implemented under the Northern Dimension. This business project was from the outset predicated on an equal, balanced basis, which the Russian side has consistently been favoring. The experience in environmental partnership merits the closest attention in further work.

As to the partnership in healthcare and social security, we have invariably shown our principled interest in its development as one of the most promising areas in the framework of the Northern Dimension. But reforms are needed here in order to raise effectiveness and real dividends. I will not go into detail: our position was repeatedly voiced in the course of contacts at the expert level. We hope that this Partnership too will now "get on its feet."

As to financing for the Northern Dimension, we understand that, starting in 2007, the main role on the part of the EU in this field will be played by the new European Neighborhood and Partnership Instrument. At the same time, I consider it necessary to stress that this situation does not imply the extension to Russia's regions or the Russian Federation as a whole of the European Neighborhood Policy or any mechanisms of its realization. Our position is that the principal instrument for implementing the Northern Dimension projects will be a future model of financial cooperation between Russia and the EU after the expiration of the TACIS program in 2007. I think we shall be able to jointly find appropriate forms of interaction which to a greater extent than TACIS would correspond to the level and dynamism of the strategic partnership between Russia and the European Union.

In conclusion I want to address you as the minister of foreign affairs of the country presiding over the Arctic Council. This organization with broad geographic coverage maintains stable ties with the European regional organizations in the North, and has much in common with them; the Arctic Council sees in the CEC an important long-term partner. We hope for the Arctic Council and CEC to be able to determine specific programs of cooperation.

In general, we have quite a few multilateral formats at our disposal. The question is one of their effective utilization, and the Northern Dimension should help us here.

Thank you for your attention.

November 22, 2005

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

22.11.0511:15

Выступление Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова на министерской конференции по “Северному измерению”, Брюссель, 21 ноября 2005 года

2464-22-11-2005

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

 

Уважаемые коллеги,

Дамы и господа,

Рад возможности сегодня совместно с Вами дать старт обновленной региональной инициативе, задуманной как средство углубления взаимодействия между Россией, Евросоюзом, Норвегией и Исландией. "Северное измерение" будет охватывать обширную географическую зону от Арктики до районов, прилегающих к южной части Балтийского моря, от Исландии и Гренландии до северо-запада России. Уже в силу этого оно представляется уникальным форматом международного регионального сотрудничества.

Наше в целом благожелательное отношение к запущенной Евросоюзом в 1999 году политике "Северного измерения" хорошо известно. Вместе с тем, на ранних этапах ее формирования и реализации возникало немало вопросов о степени учета российских интересов, включая практические интересы наших регионов. Мы критиковали коллег из ЕС, но делали это конструктивно так, чтобы не препятствовать "Северному измерению", а постараться оптимизировать его, сделать действительно эффективным и ценным инструментом равноправного регионального взаимодействия. Не все в этом в плане удалось и, можно сказать, что "Северное измерение", по сути, превратилось в "зонтик", под который искусственно подтягивались уже реализуемые в рамках других программ проекты.

Сдвинуть с места задачу реформирования "Северного измерения" удалось только в текущем году в результате интенсивной, планомерной экспертной работы, направленной на поиск оптимального баланса интересов. Цель была определена достаточно амбициозно: не пытаться провести косметический ремонт ветхого здания, а построить его фактически заново на новом, более прочном фундаменте. Пришлось и побороться, но в конечном счете, взаимная тяга к сотрудничеству сыграла решающую роль.

Документ, который нам с вами сегодня предстоит утвердить –"Директивы по разработке политической декларации и рамочного политического документа по "Северному измерению" начиная с 2007 года", радикально отличается от своих предшественников. Удовлетворены тем, что в нем отражены многие наши приоритеты и принципиальные подходы.

Мы приветствуем укрепившееся в ЕС понимание того, что Россия –ключевой участник "Северного измерения". Очень важна стержневая идея документа, заключающаяся в трансформации "Северного измерения" в общую политику России, Евросоюза и не входящих в него Норвегии и Исландии.

Принятие Директив для "Северного измерения" обеспечит условия для устойчивого развития этой программы в ближайшие годы. На этой основе будем разрабатывать новые документы. Для осуществления повседневного взаимодействия создается рабочая группа. Думаю, в ее состав было бы логично включить наших экспертов, непосредственно разрабатывавших Директивы. Одной из задач для них в будущем году станет подготовка согласованных предложений по приоритетным проектам, к реализации которых можно было бы приступить безотлагательно.

"Северное измерение" видится общим достоянием и общим инструментом для всех его участников. Оно должно полностью интегрироваться в партнерские отношения России и ЕС. Соответственно, его нельзя рассматривать в отрыве от общего контекста отношений Россия – ЕС, в частности от утвержденных в мае этого года "дорожных карт" по четырем общим пространствам. Воспринимаем "Северное измерение" и как региональное воплощение глобального партнерства России и Евросоюза. Таким образом, есть все предпосылки для того, чтобы "Северное измерение" стало значимым элементом регионального сотрудничества России со странами Евросоюза и его институтами.

Оно нацелено на большую состыковку усилий северных региональных организаций (СГБМ, СБЕР, Арктический совет и т.д.), уменьшение дублирования в их деятельности, оптимальное использование имеющихся ресурсов. Каждая из перечисленных субрегиональных структур имеет собственный опыт, определенную историю и повестку дня. Они вполне могут найти свои ниши в меняющейся с запуском обновленного "Северного измерения" архитектуре регионального сотрудничества. Мы совместно должны сделать так, чтобы "Северное измерение" не растворило их в себе, а способствовало эффективному решению стоящих перед ними задач.

Что касается перспективных направлений и проектов по линии "Северного измерения", то обозначу, прежде всего, экономику, торговлю и инвестиции, бизнес-взаимодействие, энергетику, транспорт, связь. Важнейшей составляющей "измерения" видятся наука, образование, социальное обеспечение и здравоохранение, а также защита окружающей среды и ядерная безопасность. Контакты между людьми ставим в этот же ряд.

Несколько слов об уже реализуемом в рамках "Северного измерения" природоохранном партнерстве. Этот бизнес-проект изначально был построен на равноправной, сбалансированной основе, в пользу чего последовательно выступала и выступает российская сторона. Опыт природоохранного партнерства заслуживает самого внимательного учета в дальнейшей работе.

Что касается партнерства в области здравоохранения и социального обеспечения, то мы неизменно высказывали принципиальную заинтересованность в его развитии в качестве одного из самых перспективных в рамках Северного измерения. Но при этом нужны реформы, чтобы повысить эффективность и реальную отдачу. Не буду вдаваться в детали: наша позиция неоднократно озвучивалась в ходе контактов экспертного уровня. Надеемся, что и это Партнерство теперь "встанет на ноги".

Что касается финансирования "Северного измерения", то понимаем так, что, начиная с 2007 года, главную роль со стороны ЕС в этой сфере будет играть новый Инструмент европейского соседства и партнерства. Вместе с тем, считаю необходимым подчеркнуть, что данная ситуация не означает распространения на российские регионы или Российскую Федерацию в целом Европейской политики соседства или каких-либо механизмов ее реализации. Наша позиция состоит в том, что основным инструментом реализации проектов в рамках "Северного измерения" станет будущая модель финансового сотрудничества России и ЕС после истечения срока действия программы ТАСИС в 2007 году. Думаю, мы сумеем совместно найти подходящие формы взаимодействия, которые в большей степени, нежели ТАСИС, соответствовали бы уровню и динамике стратегического партнерства России и Евросоюза.

В заключение хочу обратиться к Вам в качестве министра иностранных дел страны, председательствующей в Арктическом совете. Эта организация с широким географическим охватом поддерживает прочные связи с европейскими региональными организациями на Севере, имеет с ними немало общего, Арктический совет видит в KEC важного перспективного партнера. Рассчитываем, Арктический совет и КЕС смогут определить конкретные программы сотрудничества.

В общем, многосторонних форматов в нашем распоряжении немало. Вопрос в их эффективном использовании, и "Северное измерение" здесь нам должно помочь.

Благодарю за внимание.

 

22 ноября 2005 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска