29 October 200811:44

Transcript of Introductory Remarks and Comments by Russian Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov at the Opening Ceremony of the First Ministerial Meeting of the Renewed Northern Dimension, St. Petersburg, October 28, 2008

1698-29-10-2008

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Esteemed colleagues,

Allow me on behalf of all those gathered to thank St. Petersburg Governor Valentina Matviyenko for the invitation to hold the first Renewed Northern Dimension ministerial meeting in St. Petersburg at this beautiful Yusupov Palace, a former witness of not unimportant events in Russian history.

The fact that we have gathered for this meeting in the northern capital of Russia is symbolic: St. Petersburg, as is known, was founded by Peter the Great as the "window to Europe" and that the capital of this vast state for more than 200 years was in the Northern Dimension region attests to our country's gravitation towards cooperation in the Baltic Sea area, and in a broader sense, in the North of our continent.

As practice shows, the translation of the Northern Dimension from an EU policy into a joint policy of Russia, the European Union, Iceland and Norway has fully acquitted itself and enabled this format to gain greater strength and expand its sphere of activity. We are convinced that the Northern Dimension potential is so great that it can encompass practically every sphere of cooperation in this big region.

There is a very pressing need in Europe today to create a new, equitable system of cooperation and security, without dividing lines and without "buffer" zones, on the basis respect for the lawful interests of each other. Our format can lay its small brick in the construction of that comfortable common home for all Europeans.

Regional cooperation is becoming particularly relevant in the conditions of the global financial crisis. For in the situation where the problems at the national level are so acute that states are unable to render urgent financial aid to each other, clusters of the real economy in the regions can give sustainability to economic ties not only within a country, but also across the borders.

Serving the same aims, but at a local level is cross-border cooperation, the red thread in our common Northern Dimension policy which we have yet to take up in earnest.

Equally significant is the fact that the Northern Dimension has a distinctly humanitarian and people-to-people tilt. In the final analysis, all of our political and diplomatic efforts are aimed at achieving just one aim: to promote communication and mutual understanding between concrete citizens of our countries. These ties are for the most part impervious to the political conjuncture of relations between states or blocs. It is within our power to make borders all the more transparent not only for transport flows, but for people as well.

There is one more aspect to the Northern Dimension that may not be easily tangible at first glance: the rising awareness among our citizens, economic operators and political elites of their belonging to a shared region of democracy and prosperity, the Northern Dimension region. I am certain that given this common mentality the interstate and interregional projects and plans will get going more swiftly.

Now I suggest that you make your opening statements.

* * *

(After the statements of the EU (the French presidency and CEC), Iceland and Norway)

Thank you for your informative greetings, setting the tone for our further work.

Esteemed ladies and gentlemen,

Supportive of the existing multilateral cooperation within the framework of the regional councils operating in the North of Europe, such as the Barents Euro-Arctic Council (BEAC), Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS), the Nordic Council of Ministers (NCM) and the Arctic Council (AC), the Northern Dimension partners have invited these entities to full-fledgedly participate in the Northern Dimension policy, which is already being carried out in practice.

I now want to give the floor to the representatives of the regional councils in the person of their respective chairmanships.

(After the statements of the CBSS (Denmark), NCM (Sweden) and AC (Norway)

From the Russian BEAC chairmanship Ambassador at Large Anton Vsevolodovich Vasilyev now has the floor (the text of his statement is posted on the Russian MFA's website separately).

* * *

Esteemed colleagues,

It is obvious that there are great opportunities for the further development of dialogue and improvement of coordination between the Northern Dimension and the regional councils. It would perhaps be worthwhile to think of preparing a study with analysis of sometimes overlapping areas of their activity and with arrival at recommendations for the most rational division of labor with a view to saving resources and achieving a synergic effect.

After a short break we shall move to the substantive part of our meeting. (After the statements of the foreign ministers of Estonia, Finland and Sweden the conference continued examining other items of its agenda, including those concerning the Environmental Partnership, Health and Social Wellbeing Partnership and the Transport and Logistics Partnership)

October 29, 2008

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

29.10.0811:44

Стенограмма вступительного слова и комментариев Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова при открытии первой министерской встречи обновленного «Северного измерения», Санкт-Петербург, 28 октября 2008 года

1698-29-10-2008

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

 

Уважаемые коллеги,

Позвольте от имени всех собравшихся поблагодарить губернатора Санкт-Петербурга В.И.Матвиенко за приглашение провести первую министерскую встречу обновленного «Северного измерения» в Санкт-Петербурге в этом прекрасном Юсуповском дворце, бывшем свидетелем немаловажных событий российской истории.

Тот факт, что мы собрались на эту встречу в северной столице России, символичен: Санкт-Петербург, как известно, основан Петром Великим как «окно в Европу», и то, что столица огромного государства более 200 лет находилась в регионе «Северного измерения», свидетельствует о тяготении нашей страны к сотрудничеству на Балтике и в более широком смысле на Севере нашего континента.

Как показывает практика, перевод «Северного измерения» из политики ЕС в совместную политику России, Евросоюза, Исландии и Норвегии полностью себя оправдал и позволил этому формату набрать большую силу и расширить сферу своей деятельности. Убеждены, что потенциал «Северного измерения» настолько велик, что способен охватить практически все сферы сотрудничества в этом большом регионе.

Сегодня в Европе назрела необходимость создания новой, справедливой системы сотрудничества и безопасности, без разделительных линий, без «буферных» зон, на основе уважения законных интересов друг друга. Наш формат может положить свой кирпичик в строительство такого комфортного для всех европейцев общего дома.

Региональное взаимодействие становится особенно актуальным в условиях глобального финансового кризиса. Ведь в ситуации, когда на национальном уровне проблемы так остры, что государства не могут оказать друг другу срочной финансовой помощи, кластеры реальной экономики в регионах способны придать устойчивость хозяйственным связям не только внутри страны, но и через границы.

Этим же целям, но на локальном уровне, служит и приграничное сотрудничество – сквозная тема нашей общей политики «Северного измерения», которой нам еще предстоит заняться вплотную.

Большое значение имеет и то, что в «Северное измерение» заложено четко выраженное гуманитарное, межчеловеческое преломление. В конечном счете, все наши политические и дипломатические усилия направлены на одно – развитие общения и взаимопонимания между конкретными гражданами наших стран. Эти связи в основном неподвластны политической конъюнктуре отношений между государствами или блоками. В наших силах делать границы все более прозрачными не только для транспортных потоков, но и для людей.

В «Северном измерении» важен и еще один, на первый взгляд, трудно осязаемый момент. Это формирование у наших граждан, экономических операторов, политической элиты осознания принадлежности к единому региону демократии и процветания, региону «Северного измерения». Уверен, что при такой общей ментальности межгосударственные и межрегиональные проекты и замыслы пойдут быстрее.

Теперь предлагаю сделать свои вступительные заявления.

* * *

(после выступлений ЕС (французское председательство и КЕС), Исландии и Норвегии)

Спасибо за содержательные приветствия, задающие тон нашей дальнейшей работе.

Уважаемые дамы и господа,

Поддерживая существующее многостороннее взаимодействие в рамках действующих на Севере Европы региональных советов, таких как Совет Баренцева/Евроарктического региона (СБЕР), Совет государств Балтийского моря (СГБМ), Совет министров северных стран (СМСС) и Арктический совет (АС), партнеры по «Северному измерению» пригласили эти структуры к полноправному участию в политике «Северного измерения», что уже осуществляется на практике.

Хочу теперь предоставить слово представителям региональных советов в лице их соответствующих председательств.

(после выступлений СГБМ (Дания), СМСС (Швеция) и АС (Норвегия)

От российского председательства в СБЕР выступит посол по особым поручениям Антон Всеволодович Васильев (текст выступления размещается на сайте МИД России отдельно).

* * *

Уважаемые коллеги,

Очевидно, что имеются большие возможности для дальнейшего развития диалога и улучшения координации между «Северным измерением» и региональными советами. Стоило бы, возможно, подумать о подготовке исследования с анализом порою совпадающих областей их деятельности и выходом на рекомендации о наиболее рациональном разделении труда с целью экономии ресурсов и достижения синергетического эффекта.

После краткого перерыва перейдем к основной части нашей встречи. (после выступлений министров иностранных дел Эстонии, Финляндии, Швеции на конференции было продолжено рассмотрение других пунктов ее повестки дня, в том числе касающихся Природоохранного партнерства, Партнерства в области здравоохранения и социального благополучия, Партнерства в области транспорта и логистики)

 

29 октября 2008 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска