Asset Publisher

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s opening remarks at a meeting with Russian compatriot community activists residing in Austria, Vienna, August 25, 2021

1661-25-08-2021

Friends,

I’m delighted to see you. Thank you for accepting our invitation. Working with our compatriots is important to us. We are determined to provide you with equal rights in every possible way, including access to Russian culture and the Russian language, as well as maintaining ties with your historical homeland. Your suggestions are important to us. Today, we will discuss the state of affairs in your community, the questions you may have, and how we can help you.

A major event – elections to the State Duma – is fast approaching. We are doing our best to ensure that our foreign missions provide our compatriots with the opportunity to exercise their electoral rights. We are interested in having as many of our citizens living abroad as possible come to the polling stations and vote for the party that they see as best promoting their interests. We will be glad to see some of you as public observers of the voting process.

We will be hosting quite a large event in Moscow in mid-October. I mean the 7th World Congress of Compatriots, which will bring together 400 delegates from 102 countries representing country and regional coordination councils. In addition to plenary sessions, the Congress will have five panels, such as Protecting the Rights of Compatriots, The Role of the Russian Language in Consolidating the Community, Mass Media of Russians Abroad in the Era of Digitalisation and The Role of Compatriots in the Russian Regions’ Economic Cooperation with Foreign Countries.

It will be based on an all-encompassing approach. I hope the congress participants will be interested. Recommendations will be drafted following the plenary session and the five above-mentioned panels. We are committed to keeping the coordinating councils as our main partners.

I saw a recent discussion on social media to the effect that there are other bodies in the countries where our compatriots reside in addition to coordination councils. We do not see any controversy in them continuing their activities and establishing contacts with the coordination councils. It would be interesting to hear what you have to say about this.

I am pleased to note that our compatriots’ public work was not interrupted by the pandemic. The online format was effectively put to work. Face-to-face contacts continued. The next comprehensive plan of key actions for implementing Russia’s state policy in this area to 2023 will be approved at a meeting of the Government Commission on Compatriots Living Abroad scheduled for September.

The International Forum of Russian Compatriots held in Minsk and Brest in June and dedicated to the 80th anniversary of the beginning of the Great Patriotic War stands out among in-person events. Our ministry provided organisational and financial support to this event, which was attended by our compatriots from over 30 countries.

The work to preserve the historical truth in ongoing circumstances is of particular importance given the mounting attempts to rewrite history and the outcomes of World War II, which underlie the current international system.

I hope that after the World Congress we will be able to hold an in-person regional conference of the Russian compatriots’ organisations from European countries. There are plans to have it in Vienna, where you live. We are interested in working closely with you to ensure its success.

These events focus particularly on engagement with our young compatriots, which remains our priority. In September, the younger generation of our compatriots will get another opportunity to prove themselves at the Eurasia Global forum, which will be held in the Orenburg Region. The 6th World Youth Forum will take place in Sofia, and regional youth conferences in Bishkek and Lisbon.

Our plans are quite ambitious. Importantly, we want to hear your suggestions so as to be able to implement them as best we can.

 

 

 

Additional materials

Photos

x
x

Публикатор

Вступительное слово Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова на встрече с активом российских соотечественников, проживающих в Австрии, Вена, 25 августа 2021 года

1661-25-08-2021

Дорогие друзья,

Рад нашей встрече. Спасибо, что откликнулись на наше приглашение. Работа с нашими соотечественниками важна для нас. Настроены на то, чтобы всячески обеспечивать вам равные права: доступ к русской культуре, к русскому языку, сохранение связей с исторической Родиной. Все ваши пожелания для нас имеют важное значение. Сегодня мы обсудим, как обстоят дела в вашем кругу, какие вопросы высказываются, чем мы можем дополнительно быть полезны.

У нас предстоит крупное событие – выборы в Государственную Думу. Делаем всё, чтобы наши загранучреждения  предоставляли все необходимые возможности для реализации соотечественниками своего избирательного права. Заинтересованы в том, чтобы как можно больше наших граждан, проживающих заграницей, пришли на избирательные участки и отдали свой голос той партии, которую они видят как наиболее отражающую их интересы. Будем только рады, если из ваших рядов дополнительно будут общественные наблюдатели за ходом голосования.

У нас предстоят достаточно крупные мероприятия. Имею в виду намеченный на середину октября VII Всемирный Конгресс соотечественников в Москве. Мы ожидаем 400 делегатов из 102 стран, представителей страновых и региональных координационных советов. Помимо пленарных заседаний на Конгрессе будет работать пять секций: «Защита прав соотечественников», «Роль русского языка в консолидации общины», «СМИ Русского зарубежья в эпоху цифровизации» и «Роль соотечественников в экономическом сотрудничестве регионов России с зарубежными странами».

Такой всеохватывающий у нас подход. Надеюсь, он вызовет интерес у участников Конгресса. По итогам пленарного заседания и работы пяти упомянутых секций будут оформлены рекомендации. Настроены на то, чтобы координационные советы оставались нашими главными партнерами.

Видел недавно развернувшуюся в соцсетях дискуссию о том, что помимо координационных советов есть и другие структуры, образованные в странах, где проживают наши соотечественники. Не видим ничего противоречивого в том, чтобы они продолжали свою работу, налаживали контакты с координационными советами. Было бы интересно послушать ваше мнение на этот счет.

Хочу выразить удовлетворение тем, что, несмотря на пандемию новой коронавирусной инфекции, общественная работа наших соотечественников не останавливалась. Был эффективно освоен онлайн-формат. Продолжались очные контакты. На намеченном на сентябрь заседании Правительственной комиссии по делам соотечественников за рубежом будет утвержден очередной Комплексный план основных мероприятий по реализации государственной политики России в этой сфере до 2023 г.

Среди очных мероприятий выделю состоявшийся в июне этого года Международный форум российских соотечественников, посвященный 80-летию начала Великой Отечественной войны. Он проходил в Минске и Бресте. Наше Министерство активно поддерживало это мероприятие организационно и финансово. В нем приняли участие соотечественники из более 30 стран мира.

Работа по сохранению исторической правды в современных условиях приобретает особое значение, учитывая нарастающие попытки переписать историю, итоги Второй мировой войны, на которых зиждется нынешняя международная система.

Рассчитываю, что после Всемирного конгресса сможем в очном формате провести региональную конференцию организаций российских соотечественников стран Европы. Она запланирована в Вене, где вы проживаете. Заинтересованы тесно с вами сотрудничать по обеспечению ее успеха.

Особое внимание во всех этих мероприятиях уделяется работе с молодыми соотечественниками. Это направление остается одним из приоритетных в нашей работе. В сентябре будет очередная возможность для молодого поколения соотечественников проявить себя на форуме «Евразия Global», который пройдет в Оренбургской области. В Софии планируется шестой Всемирный молодежный форум, а в Бишкеке и Лиссабоне – молодежные региональные конференции .

У нас достаточно обширные планы. Будет важно услышать ваши пожелания с тем, чтобы они были максимально эффективно реализованы.

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Фотографии

x
x