23 October 200411:46

TRANSCRIPT OF REMARKS BY MINISTER OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS OF THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION SERGEY LAVROV AT SESSION OF CICA MINISTERIAL MEETING (ALMATY, OCTOBER 22, 2004)

2279-23-10-2004

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Unofficial translation from Russian

Honorable ministers,

Esteemed participants of the session,

First of all, I would like to express my sincere appreciation to our Kazakhstan colleagues for the excellent organization of today's meeting. Kazakhstan's "engine" role and the personal contribution of President Nursultan Abishevich Nazarbayev to advancing the CICA process have largely facilitated its success.

We positively assess the path traveled by the Conference over ten years of its existence. We believe that its format approved by the first CICA summit as a dialogue forum best meets the political realities in the space uniting our countries, and here I fully agree with the Honorable Presiding Foreign Minister of Kazakhstan. We see the main purpose of the Conference in pooling the efforts of a wide circle of Asian states to actively participate in the establishment in Asia of a common space of security and trust. It is necessary to lead matters to the creation of a coherent, integral network of counteraction against new challenges and threats. This is all the more important as hotbeds of terrorism and seats of regional conflicts still remain here, with many border disputes unresolved and nuclear-missile proliferation and illegal drugs and arms trade being topical problems.

Russia wants to see the Asian continent a peaceful, prosperous, stable and integrated community of sovereign states. It is from this standpoint that we assess our participation in CICA.

It is important that this forum is moving from a formative stage to a stage of practical actions in unison with the increased activity of other multilateral associations in Asia - the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, ASEAN and its Regional Security Forum, ASEAN + 3 mechanisms, the APEC and Asia-Europe Forums. This tendency is evidence of the strengthening of cooperative, multilateral principles in the Asian space. In this connection I would like to draw attention to the recent Tashkent Initiative of the SCO for establishing a partner network of multilateral associations in the Asia-Pacific region. It appears that this idea is very relevant and, in addition, fits completely into the philosophy of CICA. We could all be actively participating in its realization.

Our meeting is dedicated to considering a number of important documents, aimed at the promotion of stability and security in Asia. It is hard to overestimate the importance of the CICA Catalogue of Confidence Building Measures, which we are today to approve. For the first time in the history of the Asian continent a major document has appeared which envisages the multilateral cooperation of member states on an extensive range of key stability and security issues.

The adoption of the Catalogue and, most importantly, its implementation can make a significant contribution to the cause of multilateral cooperation in the political, antiterrorist, economic, humanitarian and other fields. We have no remarks on the draft of this document. We feel that our senior officials and experts have prepared it very well, with an eye on practical matters. Perhaps, the next step ought to be the creation of a mechanism for implementing the confidence building measures, recorded in the Catalogue. It would already be possible to start working out the parameters and conditions for the exchange of information on components of armed forces.

Also of great importance is the adoption of the Rules of Procedure of the CICA, which provide a legal basis for its structure and current activities.

Our common vision of the situation in the world and in the Asian region, our uniform approach toward the settlement of unresolved problems, our concerns and the guidelines for further cooperation are reflected in the Declaration of the Ministerial Meeting, which we are to adopt today. I want to especially stress the importance of its antiterrorist provisions. In the conditions, when international terrorism is throwing down a challenge to all mankind and seeking to destabilize vast regions and set different peoples, confessions and cultures at loggerheads, when terrorists are trying to acquire nuclear, chemical and biological weapons, we are duty-bound to oppose to the new dimension of terrorist danger a qualitatively new level of antiterrorist partnership.

A priority task is the active participation of the CICA member states in the international reconstruction efforts in Afghanistan, and assistance to the creation of necessary conditions for that country to be a sovereign, democratic state which lives in peace and harmony with its neighbors and the rest of the international community. A state on whose territory there should never recur any more what happened, when the territory of the country was used by international terrorists for attacks on sovereign countries.

As far as resolving the situation in Iraq is concerned, we proceed from the positions presupposing strict compliance with UN Security Council Resolution 1546 and the political process timetable therein fixed. We consider it a priority the participation in this process of all the political forces of the country, including the opposition forces, the holding on this basis of a general democratic election, and the achievement of national reconciliation in Iraq. In our opinion, the holding of an international conference on Iraq with the participation of its neighbors, the members of the UN Security Council, the League of Arab States, and the Organization of the Islamic Conference would facilitate this and the upcoming ministerial meeting on Iraq to be held in Egypt at the end of November, in which Russia will be taking an active part, can start the process.

Important positive shifts are occurring in the South Asian region. We welcome the momentum-gathering political dialogue between New Delhi and Islamabad. Both sides have begun carrying out a broad spectrum of confidence building measures, they are fostering business contacts and discussing possibilities for expanding trade-and-economic cooperation. We hope that the political will on both sides will enable continuing this important process in the interests of promoting regional stability and security.

Russia is for the speediest possible unblocking of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict and resumption of negotiations in accordance with the Road Map, drawn up by the Quartet of international mediators and endorsed by UN Security Council Resolution 1515. The Road Map as a document accepted by both parties, with its logic of reciprocal steps offers an optimal path leading to achievement of an enduring peace in the region. The international legal basis of the peace process must be the relevant UN Security Council resolutions, the Madrid principles, the "land for peace" formula, the existing agreements and understandings as well as - I shall emphasize this particularly - the pan-Arab peace initiative.

Esteemed colleagues,

In CICA activities a critical period of practical steps is setting in, which must confirm its usefulness in the matter of assisting peace and security in our vast region. Russia together with all the Conference participants will be actively working in this important area of Asian politics.

I am certain that our further steps in filling the available agreements with specific content will increase the real contribution of CICA to the cause of strengthening regional and global stability, security and development.

October 22, 2004

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

23.10.0411:46

СТЕНОГРАММА ВЫСТУПЛЕНИЯ МИНИСТРА ИНОСТРАННЫХ ДЕЛ РОССИЙСКОЙ ФЕДЕРАЦИИ С.В.ЛАВРОВА НА ЗАСЕДАНИИ МИНИСТЕРСКОЙ ВСТРЕЧИ СВМДА (Г.АЛМА-АТА, 22 ОКТЯБРЯ 2004 ГОДА)

2279-23-10-2004

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1



Уважаемые министры,

Уважаемые участники заседания,

Прежде всего, хотел бы выразить искреннюю признательность нашим казахстанским коллегам за прекрасную организацию сегодняшней встречи. "Локомотивная" роль Казахстана и личный вклад Президента Нурсултана Абишевича Назарбаева в продвижение процесса СВМДА во многом способствовали его успеху.

Мы позитивно оцениваем путь, пройденный Совещанием за десять лет существования. Считаем, что утвержденный первым саммитом СВМДА его формат как диалогового форума наилучшим образом отвечает политическим реалиям на пространстве, объединяющем наши страны, и здесь я полностью согласен с уважаемым Председательствующим Министром иностранных дел Казахстана. Видим основное предназначение Совещания в том, чтобы объединять усилия широкого круга азиатских государств активно участвовать в формировании в Азии единого пространства безопасности и доверия. Надо вести дело к созданию целостной, органичной сети противодействия новым вызовам и угрозам. Это тем более важно, поскольку здесь сохраняются очаги терроризма и региональных конфликтов, не урегулированы многие пограничные споры, актуальны проблемы ракетно-ядерного распространения, нелегального оборота наркотиков и оружия.

Россия хочет видеть азиатский континент мирным, процветающим, стабильным, интегрированным сообществом суверенных государств. С этих позиций оцениваем и свое участие в СВМДА.

Важно, что этот форум переходит от стадии становления к этапу практических дел в унисон с активизацией других многосторонних объединений в Азии - Шанхайской организации сотрудничества, АСЕАН и ее Регионального форума по безопасности, механизмов АСЕАН+3, форумов АТЭС и "Азия-Европа". Эта тенденция свидетельствует об укреплении на азиатском пространстве кооперативных, многосторонних начал. В связи с этим хотел бы привлечь внимание к недавней Ташкентской инициативе ШОС о формировании партнерской сети многосторонних объединений в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Представляется, что эта идея весьма актуальна и, кроме того, полностью вписывается в философию СВМДА. Мы все могли бы активно участвовать в ее реализации.

Наша встреча посвящена рассмотрению ряда важных документов, направленных на укрепление стабильности и безопасности в Азии. Трудно переоценить значение Каталога мер доверия СВМДА, который мы сегодня утверждаем. Впервые в истории азиатского континента появился столь масштабный документ, предусматривающий многостороннее сотрудничество государств-членов по обширному спектру ключевых вопросов стабильности и безопасности.

Принятие Каталога и, главное, его реализация могут внести значительный вклад в дело многостороннего сотрудничества в политической, антитеррористической, экономической, гуманитарной и иных сферах. У нас нет замечаний по проекту этого документа. Считаем, что наши старшие должностные лица и эксперты подготовили его добротно, с прицелом на практические дела. Возможно, следующим шагом должно стать создание механизма реализации зафиксированных в Каталоге мер доверия. Уже сейчас можно было бы приступить к разработке параметров и условий обмена информацией о компонентах вооруженных сил.

Важное значение имеет также принятие Правил процедуры СВМДА, которые создают правовую основу для структуры и текущей деятельности Совещания.

Наше общее видение ситуации в мире и в азиатском регионе, единый подход к решению неурегулированных проблем, наши озабоченности и направления дальнейшего взаимодействия отражены в проекте Декларации Министерской встречи, которую нам предстоит сегодня принять. Хочу особо подчеркнуть важность ее антитеррористических положений. В условиях, когда международный терроризм бросает вызов всему человечеству, стремится дестабилизировать обширные регионы и столкнуть между собой различные народы, конфессии и культуры, когда террористы пытаются завладеть ядерным, химическим и биологическим оружием, мы обязаны противопоставить новому измерению террористической опасности качественно новый уровень антитеррористического партнерства.

Одной из приоритетных задач является активное участие государств-участников СВМДА в международных усилиях по восстановлению Афганистана, содействие созданию необходимых условий для становления этой страны в качестве суверенного, демократического государства, живущего в мире и согласии со своими соседями и остальным международным сообществом. Государство, на территории которого никогда больше не должно повториться то, что произошло, когда территория страны была использована международными террористами для атак на суверенные страны.

Что касается урегулирования ситуации в Ираке, то мы исходим из позиций, предполагающих неукоснительное выполнение резолюции 1546 Совета Безопасности ООН и зафиксированного в ней графика политического процесса. Считаем приоритетным обеспечить участие в этом процессе всех политических сил страны, включая оппозиционные, проведение на этой основе всеобщих демократических выборов, достижение в Ираке национального согласия. По нашему мнению, этому способствовало бы проведение международной конференции по Ираку с участием его соседей, членов Совета Безопасности ООН, Лиги арабских государств, Организации Исламская конференция. Старт этому процессу может дать предстоящая в конце ноября в Египте министерская встреча по Ираку, в которой Россия примет активное участие.

Важные позитивные подвижки происходят в южноазиатском регионе. Приветствуем набирающий силу политический диалог между Нью-Дели и Исламабадом. Обе стороны приступили к реализации широкого спектра мер доверия, налаживают деловые контакты, обсуждают возможности расширения торгово-экономического сотрудничества. Надеемся, что политическая воля с обеих сторон позволит продолжать этот важный процесс в интересах укрепления региональной стабильности и безопасности.

Россия выступает за скорейшее разблокирование палестино-израильского конфликта и возобновление переговоров в соответствии с "дорожной картой", разработанной "четверкой" международных посредников и одобренной СБ ООН резолюции 1515. "Дорожная карта" - как документ, принятый обеими сторонами, с его логикой встречных шагов предлагает оптимальный путь к достижению прочного мира в регионе. Международно-правовой основой мирного процесса должны являться резолюции Совета Безопасности ООН, мадридские принципы, формула "земля в обмен на мир", имеющиеся соглашения и договоренности, а также – подчеркну это особенно – общеарабская мирная инициатива.

Уважаемые коллеги!

В деятельности СВМДА наступает ответственный период практических шагов, которые должны подтвердить его полезность в деле содействия миру и безопасности в нашем обширном регионе. Россия вместе со всеми участниками Совещания будет активно работать на этом важном направлении азиатской политики.

Уверен, что наши дальнейшие шаги по наполнению имеющихся договоренностей конкретным содержанием будут повышать реальный вклад СВМДА в дело укрепления региональной и глобальной стабильности, безопасности и развития.

22 октября 2004 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска