25 August 200820:34

Outcome of the Third Meeting of the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia

1239-25-08-2008

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

PRESS RELEASE

A Meeting of the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia (CICA) took place in Almaty on August 25. Representatives of the foreign affairs agencies of Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, China, Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palestine, Russia, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey and Uzbekistan took part. Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Alexei Borodavkin headed the Russian delegation.

President Nursultan Nazarbayev of Kazakhstan addressed the participants. The "CICA process" had been launched in 1992 at his initiative.

The Russian delegation drew the participants' attention to the recent tragic events in Transcaucasia. Georgia's actions against South Ossetia were described as an act of military aggression that had entailed numerous casualties, among them Russian citizens and peacekeepers. It was noted that only thanks to the intervention of Russia, which had forced Georgia to peace, had it been possible to stop the criminal war unleashed by Tbilisi, a war aimed at the physical destruction of the South Ossetians. Gratitude was expressed to the CICA member states that rendered support to Russia and are providing humanitarian aid to South Ossetia.

The final Declaration of the meeting sets out the concerted approaches of member states toward the formation of a contemporary multipolar world pattern on the basis of the supremacy of international law, with the UN playing a central role. It emphasizes the inadmissibility of attempts to ensure one's own security at the expense of the security of other member states. Special attention was paid to the practical realization of the previously elaborated CICA confidence-building measures between member states and to stepping up joint efforts in the struggle against the threats of terrorism and drug trafficking emanating from the territory of Afghanistan. The Conference's positive contribution to the creation of favorable conditions for the development of many-sided cooperation on the Asian continent was noted.

The ministers spoke out in favor of expanding cooperation in the economic, humanitarian and environmental fields. They stressed the role of Russia as the CICA coordinator for assistance to small and medium-sized businesses.

A confirmation of our active support of the CICA process was the decision of the Russian Federation announced in Almaty to allocate a voluntary lump-sum contribution of 100,000 US dollars to the Conference Secretariat budget in 2009.

Following debate, a Convention on the Legal Capacity, Privileges and Immunities of the CICA Secretariat and Its Staff and a Protocol amending the Agreement on the Secretariat were approved, along with a report on the results of work done and on further practical steps to build up interaction in the framework of the Conference.

The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, and the United Arab Emirates became new members of the Conference. Qatar joined the CICA as observer.

There were adopted a number of decisions on organizational matters relating to the Secretariat's work.

August 25, 2008

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

25.08.0820:34

Об итогах III встречи министров иностранных дел государств-членов Совещания по взаимодействию и мерам доверия в Азии

1239-25-08-2008

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

25 августа в Алма-Ате состоялась встреча министров иностранных дел государств-членов Совещания по взаимодействию и мерам доверия в Азии (СВМДА). В ней приняли участие представители внешнеполитических ведомств Азербайджана, Афганистана, Египта, Израиля, Индии, Ирана, Казахстана, Киргизии, Китая, Монголии, Пакистана, Палестины, России, Таджикистана, Таиланда, Турции и Узбекистана. Российскую делегацию возглавлял заместитель Министра иностранных дел А.Н.Бородавкин.

К участникам обратился Президент Казахстана Н.А.Назарбаев, по инициативе которого в 1992 году был запущен «процесс СВМДА».

Российская делегация привлекла внимание участников заседания к недавним трагическим событиям в Закавказье. Действия Грузии против Южной Осетии были охарактеризованы как военная агрессия, повлекшая за собой многочисленные жертвы, среди которых были российские граждане и миротворцы. Отмечено, что лишь благодаря вмешательству России, принудившей Грузию к миру, удалось остановить эту развязанную Тбилиси преступную войну, целью которой было физическое уничтожение югоосетин. Была высказана признательность государствам-членам СВМДА, оказавшим поддержку России и предоставляющим Южной Осетии гуманитарную помощь.

В итоговой Декларации встречи зафиксированы согласованные подходы государств-членов к вопросам формирования современного многополярного мироустройства на основе верховенства международного права при центральной роли ООН. Подчеркнута недопустимость попыток обеспечения собственной безопасности за счет безопасности других государств-членов. Особое внимание было уделено практической реализации наработанных ранее в рамках СВМДА мер доверия между государствами-членами, наращиванию совместных усилий по борьбе с угрозами терроризма и наркотрафика, исходящими с территории Афганистана. Отмечен позитивный вклад Совещания в создание благоприятных условий для развития разностороннего взаимодействия на азиатском континенте.

Министры высказались в пользу расширения сотрудничества в экономической, гуманитарной, экологической областях. Подчеркнута роль России как координатора СВМДА по содействию малому и среднему предпринимательству.

Подтверждением нашей активной поддержки процесса СВМДА стало объявленное в Алма-Ате решение Российской Федерации о выделении в бюджет Секретариата Совещания в 2009 году единовременного добровольного взноса в размере 100 тыс.долл.США.

По итогам обсуждения одобрены Конвенция о правоспособности, привилегиях и иммунитетах Секретариата СВМДА и его персонала, Протокол о внесении изменений в Соглашение о Секретариате, а также отчет о результатах проделанной работы и дальнейших практических шагах по наращиванию взаимодействия в рамках Совещания.

Новыми членами Совещания стали Иорданское Хашимитское Королевство и Объединенные Арабские Эмираты. Катар подключился к работе СВМДА в качестве наблюдателя.

Принят ряд решений по организационным вопросам работы Секретариата.

25 августа 2008 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска