12 September 201214:03

Comment and answers of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia S.V. Lavrov to the questions of mass-media following the results of the participation in the meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the member states of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia, Astana, September, 12th, 2012

1676-12-09-2012

  • ru-RU1 en-GB1 es-ES1

Dear colleagues,

The 20th anniversary session of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia has taken place in Astana. This structure was created at the initiative of the President of Kazakhstan N.A. Nazarbaev in 1992. During these years the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia has proved to be a very useful dialogue platform for the discussion of problems which the countries of the Asian continent are experiencing, and also for the search of the possibilities of their solution.

The problems are mainly connected with the threats of terrorism, drug traffic, organised crime, proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. These challenges are common for all the countries of region. Moreover, many states located in Asia experience the consequences of various conflicts and crisis situations. It concerns the situation around the Iranian nuclear programme, the nuclear problem of the Korean peninsula, Afghanistan and everything that happens around it, as well as the Middle East, the Arab Spring, Syria, Middle Eastern settlement, and the Palestinian problem. The list of these unsettled conflict situations is quite long. If any situation enters into a "hot" phase (and many of them are already on the verge), the consequences will be felt far beyond the borders of the corresponding country – all states of the region will experience them, and the region will be under the threat of serious destabilization.

Therefore today we have drawn attention to the necessity to make sure that the CICA made its contribution to the efforts of other multilateral structures (and there are a lot of them in the Asian-Pacific region).

In particular, we have drawn attention to the initiative that was introduced in 2010 by Russia and China. It assumes collective building of the common security architecture based on the principles of equity in rights, non-derogation of security of any of the participants of this system and indivisibility of security with participation of all multilateral forums. Some countries are interested by this initiative. Due to obvious reasons we are not expecting that people will sit down for negotiations and will start to prepare specific conceptual documents at once. However, we are building the critical mass in order to promote the understanding that only such collective, equal security system being above all blocks can provide the reliable "safety net" for the future.

Within the frames of the Conference I have met the President of Kazakhstan N.A. Nazarbaev, have handed him the congratulatory message of the President of Russia V.V. Putin on the occasion of 20th anniversary of the Conference on Interaction and Confidence Building Measures in Asia, and have also conducted negotiations with the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan E.H. Kazykhanov. We have discussed a variety of issues of bilateral cooperation, including the forthcoming contacts at the highest level, and our interaction in the international organisations. Special attention has been given to the forthcoming session of the United Nations General Assembly, and the coordination meeting of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Collective Security Treaty Organization member states that will take place the day before the General Assembly meeting in New York. We will consider the course of accomplishment of the collective instructions given one year ago to the permanent representatives of the CSTO member states at the international organisations in New York, Vienna, Geneva and in other points, where there are multilateral structures. We will also update these collective instructions taking into account the changes which have occurred on the corresponding directions of global policy, and we will coordinate our actions on the various issues of the agenda of the United Nations.

Question: The information has appeared in foreign press that the Western partners have allegedly convinced Russia to occupy a stricter position in relation to Iran at session of the General Assembly of the United Nations. What are your comments on this issue?

S.V. Lavrov: The Iranian problem will not be discussed at the session of the General Assembly of the United Nations, because it is not included into the agenda. Now Vienna is holding the session of the International Atomic Energy Agency Board of Governors, on which our Western partners wanted to adopt a project of a very strict resolution that implied some sanctions. The delegations of Russia and China have opposed against such approaches that have an obviously unilateral deviation to the resort to force. These projects do not take the necessity to create the conditions for the renewal of negotiations into consideration. Together with the Chinese party we have offered the "six" to adopt the statement that would describe our vision of the ways which will allow achieving the settlement of the situation through negotiations.

Our statement was based on the principles that were pledged in the resolution approved by the consensus of the Board of Governors of the IAEA one year ago. This resolution aims both Iran, and the IAEA at the search of possibilities of settlement of remaining questions. Finally, our Western partners have adopted all the conceptual approaches and phrasings stipulated in the Russian-Chinese statement. We have found it reasonable to transform the statement into a resolution containing the same phrasings which are aimed at the solution of the problem through negotiations instead of the use of force. Then we have brought the draft of this resolution on the approval of the session of the Board of Governors of the IAEA.

I am sure that the document will be adopted by a consensus. Thus, I can draw a conclusion that the Western countries have finally managed to admit that at the given stage their compulsory ideas are unreasonable and counterproductive.

Question: We have just received the message that the UN Security Council has made the decision not to support the initiative of Russia and not to condemn the acts of terrorism in Syria. What are your comments on this decision?

S.V. Lavrov: Certainly, it is regrettable. Till now the UN Security Council invariably responded with strict condemnation to any acts of terrorism, underlined an invariable position that the terrorism is unacceptable irregardless of any excuses. There is no justification for terrorism. The first time when our Western partners deviated from this position was when the act of terrorism in the building of the Security Service of Syrian Arab Republic in Damascus took place. It resulted in deaths of the heads of some Syrian law-enforcement structures. At that time the explanation of the Western position was that it was not quite an act of terrorism because its victims were the heads of the armed security agencies, who were participating in armed confrontation with the militants. Honestly speaking, it shocked me. Terrorism is terrorism. Paraphrasing a proverb, it is possible to state: if it looks like an act of terrorism, is planned like an act of terrorism and is executed like an act of terrorism, then it is an act of terrorism.

As far as the recent episodes are concerned, we have suggested to condemn not only the acts of terrorism in Aleppo, where 27 persons were killed and around 100 were wounded, but also a series of the acts of terrorism which took place at the same day in the various parts of Iraq, when more than 100 persons were killed, and hundreds were wounded. Our Western partners have taken a break - probably, they were consulting with capitals. And, as a result, they have abstained from any response, which conveys the suggestion about the principal change of the position of some Western countries. It appears that now it assumes that the acts of terrorism are acceptable, when the issues of political expediency from the point of view of the West are concerned. I will be very glad if our partners refute this suspicion of mine, but right now I have no choice but to preserve it.

Additional materials

Video

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

12.09.1214:03

Комментарий и ответы Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова на вопросы СМИ по итогам участия во встрече министров иностранных дел стран-участниц Совещания по взаимодействию и мерам доверия в Азии, Астана, 12 сентября 2012 года

1676-12-09-2012

  • ru-RU1 en-GB1 es-ES1

 

 

Уважаемые коллеги,

В Астане состоялось 20-ое юбилейное заседание Совещания по взаимодействию и мерам доверия в Азии. Эта структура была сформирована по инициативе Президента Казахстана Н.А.Назарбаева в 1992 г. За эти годы Совещание утвердилось в качестве очень полезной диалоговой площадки для обсуждения проблем, которые испытывают страны азиатского континента, а также поиска возможностей их решения.

Проблемы, прежде всего, связаны с угрозами терроризма, наркотрафика, организованной преступности, распространения оружия массового уничтожения. Эти вызовы - общие для всех стран региона. Более того, многие государства, расположенные в Азии, испытывают на себе последствия различных конфликтных и кризисных ситуаций. Это касается положения вокруг иранской ядерной программы, ядерной проблемы Корейского полуострова, Афганистана и всего, что происходит вокруг него, а также Ближнего Востока, «арабской весны», Сирии, ближневосточного урегулирования, палестинской проблемы. Перечень этих неурегулированных конфликтных ситуаций достаточно обширен. Если любая из них перейдет в «горячую» фазу (а многие уже находятся на грани), то последствия будут ощущаться далеко за пределами соответствующей страны – все государства региона их ощутят, а регион подвергнется угрозе серьезной дестабилизации.

Поэтому сегодня мы привлекли внимание к необходимости обеспечить, чтобы СВМДА вносило свой вклад в усилия других многосторонних структур, а их немало в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе.

Мы, в частности, привлекли внимание к выдвинутой в 2010 г. Россией и Китаем инициативе о коллективном, с участием всех многосторонних форумов, формировании архитектуры общей безопасности, основанной на принципах равноправия, неущемления безопасности любого из участников этой системы и неделимости безопасности. Интерес к инициативе есть. По понятным причинам не сразу можно рассчитывать, что люди сядут за переговоры и начнут готовить конкретные концептуальные документы. Но мы все же наращиваем критическую массу в пользу осознания того, что только такая коллективная, равная, внеблоковая система безопасности сможет обеспечить надежную «страховочную сетку» на будущее.

В рамках Совещания я встретился с Президентом Казахстана Н.А.Назарбаевым, передал ему поздравительное послание Президента России В.В.Путина по случаю 20-летия СВМДА, а также провел переговоры с Министром иностранных дел Казахстана Е.Х.Казыхановым. Мы обсудили целый ряд вопросов двустороннего сотрудничества, включая предстоящие контакты на высшем уровне, наше взаимодействие в международных организациях. Особое внимание уделили предстоящей сессии ГА ООН, накануне которой в Нью-Йорке пройдет координационная встреча министров иностранных дел стран-членов ОДКБ. Мы рассмотрим ход выполнения одобренных год назад коллективных указаний постоянным представителям стран ОДКБ при международных организациях в Нью-Йорке, Вене, Женеве и в других точках, где есть многосторонние структуры. Мы также обновим эти коллективные указания с учетом изменений, которые произошли на соответствующих направлениях международной политики, и будем координировать наши шаги по различным вопросам повестки дня ООН.

Вопрос: В зарубежной прессе появилась информация о том, что западные партнеры якобы убедили Россию занять более жесткую позицию по отношению к Ирану на сессии ГА ООН. Как Вы можете это прокомментировать?

С.В.Лавров: Иранская проблема не будет обсуждаться на сессии ГА ООН, ее нет в повестке дня. Сейчас в Вене проходит сессия Совета управляющих МАГАТЭ, на которой наши западные партнеры хотели принять проект очень жесткой резолюции санкционной заряженности. Делегации России и Китая выступили против подобных подходов, имеющих явно односторонний уклон в принудительную сторону и не учитывающих необходимость создать условия для возобновления переговоров. Мы вместе с китайской стороной предложили, чтобы «шестерка» приняла заявление с изложением нашего видения путей, которые позволят прийти к урегулированию ситуации через переговоры.

Наше заявление было основано на принципах, заложенных в резолюции, одобренной Советом управляющих МАГАТЭ консенсусом год назад. Эта резолюция нацеливает как Иран, так и МАГАТЭ на поиск возможностей урегулирования остающихся вопросов. В конечном итоге наши западные партнеры приняли все концептуальные подходы и формулировки, заложенные в российско-китайском заявлении. Мы сочли целесообразным превратить его в резолюцию в тех же самых формулировках, которые нацелены на переговорное, а не силовое решение проблемы, и внесли проект этой резолюции на одобрение сессии СУ МАГАТЭ.

Уверен, что документ будет принят консенсусом. Таким образом, могу отметить, что западные страны нашли в себе силы признать, что на данном этапе их принудительные идеи нецелесообразны и контрпродуктивны.

Вопрос: Только что появилась информация, что Совет Безопасности ООН принял решение не поддерживать инициативу России и не осуждать теракты в Сирии. Как бы Вы могли это прокомментировать?

С.В.Лавров: Конечно, это прискорбно. До сих пор СБ ООН неизменно реагировал на любые теракты жестким осуждением, подчеркивал неизменную позицию, что терроризм неприемлем, какими бы причинами он ни оправдывался. Терроризму нет оправдания. Впервые наши западные партнеры отклонились от этой позиции, когда состоялся теракт в здании Службы безопасности САР в Дамаске, в результате которого погибли руководители ряда правоохранительных структур Сирии. Тогда объяснение западной позиции свелось к тому, что это не совсем теракт, т.к. от него пострадали руководители вооруженных силовых структур, которые ведут борьбу с повстанцами. Если честно, оно вызвало у меня оторопь. Теракт есть теракт. Перефразируя пословицу, можно сказать: если он выглядит как теракт, замышляется как теракт и реализуется как теракт, то это теракт.

Что касается последних эпизодов, мы предложили осудить теракты не только в Алеппо, где погибли 27 человек и около 100 были ранены, но и серию терактов, произошедших в тот же день в самых разных частях Ирака, когда более 100 человек погибли и сотни были ранены. Наши западные партнеры взяли паузу, видимо, советуясь со столицами, а в итоге отказались от какой-либо реакции, что наводит на мысль о принципиальном изменении позиции некоторых западных стран. Судя по всему, теперь она заключается в том, что, когда с точки зрения Запада речь заходит о политической целесообразности, террористические акты для них приемлемы. Буду очень рад, если наши партнеры опровергнут это мое подозрение, но пока не остается ничего иного, как сохранять его.

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска