26 May 202013:23

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s opening remarks at a meeting of the CSTO Council of Foreign Ministers, Moscow, May 26, 2020

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

Colleagues,

I am delighted to see you all. First, I would just like to say a few words as the person chairing this meeting before we go over to the items on our agenda.

It was a very busy month when it comes to contacts. This May we have held fruitful discussions in the format of the CIS Council of Foreign Ministers and have met with some of our colleagues within the framework of the SCO Council of Foreign Ministers.

It is the very first time that we are holding such a meeting of the CSTO Council of Ministers via videoconference. Of course, this format is a poor substitute for face-to-face communication, but this will not stop us from working in a consolidated manner and efficiently, as we always do.

The coronavirus infection is a serious challenge that has affected the entire system of international relations and every individual state and interstate organisation.  Today we will be analysing the conclusions we must draw from this experience for our organisation. It is quite clear that the CSTO potential can and should be used for responding to such threats in the interests of our citizens’ health and prosperity. This is why we proposed to discuss today the priority measures needed to strengthen our cooperation in the field of biological safety.

The CSTO is playing a key role in maintaining security not only in the zone of its responsibility but also in Eurasia as a whole.

Today we will be discussing the situation in our region and the rest of the world. Our focus is still on military and political tension in Afghanistan.

When it comes to antiterrorism cooperation, the CSTO should continue to work energetically to identify foreign terrorist fighters, especially those who come from the CIS countries. We can provide a reliable barrier against this threat by completing our work in the joint list of designated terrorist organisations.

Another serious threat comes from illicit drug trafficking, primarily the Afghan drug industry, the revenues from which are used to finance terrorism. A major role in combating drugs belongs to the CSTO anti-drug operation Channel. We believe that the geography of this operation should be further expanded and new participants attracted to it.  This year we will review the results of the CSTO Anti-Drug Programme for 2015-2020.

It would be advisable to coordinate the CSTO’s anti-terrorism programmes with the related CIS and SCO projects so as to consolidate their potential in this area.  We are planning to discuss this topic today. We welcome the heads of the CIS and SCO secretariats.

We believe that a regular dialogue should be maintained within the CSTO on the entire range of topics related to Euro-Atlantic security in order to coordinate our approaches with our allies.

Special attention should be given to the task of expanding CSTO peacekeeping potential. Today we will continue to discuss solutions to organisational matters and the improvement of our legal framework. I hope that this will allow CSTO units to take part in UN-led peacekeeping operations.

This is the year of the 75th anniversary of Victory in the 1941-1945 Great Patriotic War. It is gratifying that this date has been widely celebrated in our countries despite the coronavirus, even if in different forms.

I would like to thank our partners for helping to organise a joint virtual exhibition of archival documents and photographs commemorating this date within the CSTO framework. Today we plan to adopt a statement on the occasion of the 75th anniversary of Victory. I am deeply grateful to all of you for your contribution to this project.

I hope that you will continue to support our committed joint efforts to implement the priorities of Russia’s chairmanship of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation which were proposed by President of Russia Vladimir Putin and approved by your countries’ leadership.

I hope our work today will be fruitful.

Calendar

x
x

Archive

Advanced settings

Выступления Министра

26.05.2013:23

Вступительное слово Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова в ходе заседания СМИД ОДКБ, Москва, 26 мая 2020 года

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1
Скачать файл

Смотреть это видео на Youtube

Уважаемые коллеги,

Рад всех вас видеть. Хотел бы в качестве председательствующего сказать несколько слов перед тем, как мы начнем обсуждение повестки дня.

Месяц выдался весьма насыщенным с точки зрения контактов. В мае мы уже провели продуктивные дискуссии в формате СМИД СНГ. Встречались с некоторыми коллегами и в рамках СМИД ШОС.

Сегодня мы впервые в истории проводим министерское заседание ОДКБ в формате видеоконференции. Конечно, такая форма не может заменить живого общения, но это, наверняка, не помешает нам сегодня поработать как всегда дружно и эффективно.

Коронавирусная инфекция стала серьезным испытанием, оказывающим влияние на всю систему международных отношений, стала вызовом для каждого государства и межгосударственных структур. И нам предстоит сегодня внимательно проанализировать, какие выводы необходимо сделать применительно к деятельности нашей Организации. Понятно, что востребован потенциал ОДКБ для реагирования на такого рода угрозы в интересах обеспечения здоровья и благополучия граждан наших стран. Поэтому мы предложили рассмотреть сегодня первоочередные меры по развитию сотрудничества в области биологический безопасности.

ОДКБ играет ключевую роль в поддержании безопасности не только в зоне своей ответственности, но и на всем евразийском пространстве.

Сегодня мы обсудим общее положение дел в нашем регионе и в мире в целом. В фокусе дискуссий остается напряженная военно-политическая обстановка в Афганистане.

В контексте антитеррористического сотрудничества ОДКБ должна продолжать уделять самое пристальное внимание выявлению иностранных террористов-боевиков, особенно выходцев из стран СНГ. Созданию надежного заслона способствовало бы завершение работы над формированием Единого списка организаций, которые страны ОДКБ признают террористическими.

Серьезную угрозу представляет незаконный оборот наркотиков, прежде всего афганского происхождения, доходы от которого используются для финансирования террористической деятельности. Важную роль в его сдерживании играет антинаркотическая операция ОДКБ «Канал». Выступаем за то, чтобы «Канал» и далее расширял свою географию и привлекал новых участников. В этом году нам предстоит подвести итоги реализации Антинаркотической программы ОДКБ на 2015-2020 гг.

Было бы полезно синхронизировать антитеррористические программы ОДКБ с соответствующими проектами СНГ и ШОС, обеспечить максимальную консолидацию потенциалов организаций в этой сфере. Планируем сегодня обсудить этот вопрос. Приветствуем руководителей Секретариатов СНГ и ШОС.

Считаем важным поддержание в формате ОДКБ регулярного диалога по всему спектру вопросов безопасности в Евро-Атлантике и в интересах координации подходов союзников.

Особого внимания требуют задачи наращивания миротворческого потенциала ОДКБ. Продолжим сегодня обсуждать пути решения организационных вопросов и совершенствование правовой базы. Рассчитываю, что это позволит подразделениям ОДКБ участвовать в миротворческих операциях под эгидой ООН.

Нынешний год особенный – это год 75-летия Победы в Великой Отечественной войне. Отрадно, что, несмотря на коронавирус, в наших странах в разных формах эта священная дата широко отмечалась.

Хотел бы поблагодарить партнеров за содействие в создании  в рамках ОДКБ совместной виртуальной выставки архивных и фотодокументов к этому юбилею. Сегодня планируется принять заявление по случаю 75-й годовщины Победы. Признателен вам за содержательный вклад в работу над этим проектом.

Рассчитываю на вашу дальнейшую поддержку и совместную заинтересованную работу по реализации приоритетов российского председательства, которые были предложены Президентом Российской Федерации В.В.Путиным и одобрены руководителями ваших стран.

Желаю нам всем плодотворной работы.

Календарь

x
x

Архив

Дополнительные инструменты поиска

Последние добавленные

Последние добавленные