14 October 201919:30

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s interview with Russia 24 Channel for Interview with Maria Bondareva programme, Moscow, October 14, 2019

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

Question: We are living in a time of “fake news” and “information plants” and there are instances of wiretapping, hacking of mailboxes, etc. What should a 21st century diplomat be aware of? Do they teach this sort of thing at MGIMO?

Sergey Lavrov: I do not think a diplomat needs to be aware of the technical or technological methods of hacking, wiretapping or anything like that. A diplomat should be prepared to see the information space flooded by fake and false news. Amateurs, including hackers, and states are doing this as well. Our Government and relevant services have repeatedly provided statistics on the number of hacking attempts at the websites of our government agencies, including the security services, intelligence, the Foreign Ministry, the Central Bank and Sberbank. Clearly, we will have to live with that for a long time. The genie is out of the bottle. Technical progress has come that far. One can probably only hope that the next stage of the technological revolution will be less painful for normal interaction between states and governments.

However, without getting into the technicalities, MGIMO students should be aware that they will have to deal with the aftermath of these events and phenomena. When a lie is thrown out there, it goes straight to the front pages of newspapers, television prime time and it clogs the social media. Later, after the situation gets digested and the sources of these allegations are identified, the facts that debunk the lie come to the surface, but nobody is interested in a debunked lie. At best, a nondescript footnote will mention a slight inaccuracy in a previous publication. In order to fight and overcome this, you need to be extremely knowledgeable and be prepared for a debate. This has become a major requirement for the diplomats. Not only those who work at the UN, the OSCE, the Council of Europe or other public forums, but also the diplomats who work at our Embassies. Communication with the press never ends, and we constantly have to respond to all kinds of information plants. This must be done quickly, convincingly and, most importantly, be based on the facts.

Question: What rules are still applicable in diplomacy if we go back to the time you studied at MGIMO? We know from one interview, for example, that talks should be held on a “one-on-one” basis.

Sergey Lavrov: No. This is probably an important, but by far not the only form of diplomacy. If I am invited to talks, I fully rely on the arrangements provided by our hosts. If the hosts suggest starting with a one-on-one conversation, and continue with  an expanded format, we are fine with that. If it is the other way round, we are ready to go along with that as well. Talking one-on-one is always better if you want to understand a person, unlike when they are in front of a camera and have to give formal statements and do what is expected of them. But you can see now what, for instance, Washington thinks about one-on-one talks. They are trying to make them a mortal sin. Many questions arise in this regard. What are we supposed to do with free access to information then?

If we absolutise this principle, which is what the Democrats are trying to do on Capitol Hill, then it is necessary to drop all charges against Edward Snowden, release Julian Assange and stop using torture, which he, in all likelihood, is subjected to in a British pre-trial detention centre.

Anyway, I think one-on-one conversations provide an opportunity to look a person in the eye and see if they are willing to be open. I have much respect for those who can be open without causing any damage to their country’s position, which they must uphold. On the one hand, this sounds rather paradoxical. An unlikely combination, but I assure you, it works. I do not remember that any one of my colleagues who spoke openly with me caused any damage to the policy of their country.

Question: What can you tell today’s MGIMO students or those who want to go study there? Of course, all of them see you as an example. How does a person become a foreign minister?

Sergey Lavrov: Do not think about it, but try to do your job honestly. I will say this openly, without false modesty: I did not ask to be promoted to any of my positions. If what I did was considered correct and good for the country, I can only feel a sense of deep satisfaction, as we used to say.

I am sure MGIMO students will be better than us. Several generations of students that came after us have been studying in a different environment. In addition to the classical MGIMO school, which has been famous since the Soviet times, there are excellent professors, brilliant language specialists and historians specialising in a variety of subjects ranging from the history of ancient Rome to the history of modern diplomacy. We had amazing educational opportunities. But current MGIMO students, like students at our other universities, have, on top of this, an opportunity to communicate with their peers and universities from around the world. MGIMO is involved in the Bologna Process and has partnerships with numerous universities. Of course, this is mutual enrichment, and a glimpse into the practices of other advanced universities. I hope our students will take full advantage of these great and unique opportunities.

Question: We talked with Minister of Culture Vladimir Medinsky, also a graduate of MGIMO. He said he had learned to make glue with flour at the university. They put a student newspaper up on the wall, he said. He claims this was the best glue he has ever made. Do you have any student memories like this?

Sergey Lavrov: I did not put newspapers on the wall. The Mezhdunarodnik newspaper, which continues to be published, was then handwritten and illustrated with our drawings. It was made of several large Whatman sheets that were glued together and laid out on a stairwell in the old building. After classes, four or five students, as much as could fit on that stairwell, agreed on the design, and each went into his own corner and wrote, drew and designed the newspaper.

Question: So you made your own newspaper?

Sergey Lavrov: It was a university paper. I participated in several issues. I do not remember exactly what I did. I wrote articles or did something else. In our student construction brigades, we also did some cooking, but we cooked concrete. I worked at construction sites for four consecutive years after Ostankino Tower. We went to Tuva, Khakassia, Yakutia, and near Vladivostok. All the work we did was also related to cooking, but we cooked up concrete.

 

 

 

 

Calendar

x
x

Archive

Advanced settings

Выступления Министра

14.10.1919:30

Интервью Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова телеканалу «Россия 24» для программы «Интервью с Марией Бондаревой», Москва, 14 октября 2019 года

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1
Скачать файл

Смотреть это видео на Youtube

Вопрос: Сейчас время, когда существует понятие «фейк ньюз», «информационные вбросы», существуют прецеденты прослушек, взломов почтовых ящиков и так далее. Что должен знать дипломат XXI века? Учат ли сейчас этому в МГИМО?

С.В.Лавров: Я не думаю, что дипломат должен знать какие-то технические и технологические способы хакерства, взломов, прослушек и прочего. Дипломат должен быть готов к тому, что фейковые и лживые новости сегодня просто заполонили информационное пространство. Занимаются этим и любители – те же самые хакеры, и государства. Наше Правительство и соответствующие службы неоднократно приводили статистику того, какое количество раз ресурсы наших государственных учреждений, включая службу безопасности, разведки, Министерство иностранных дел, Центральный Банк, Сбербанк, подвергаются попыткам взлома. Это, видимо, с нами теперь надолго. Джинн из бутылки выпущен. Технический прогресс вышел на этот уровень. Надо, наверное, только надеяться, что следующий этап технологической революции будет менее болезненным для ведения нормальных дел между государствами и правительствами.

Но студенты МГИМО, не вникая в то, как это делается, должны понимать, что им придется сталкиваться с последствиями этих событий и явлений. Когда вбрасывается ложь, она сразу занимает первые полосы газет, прайм-тайм на телевидении, забивает все социальные сети. Потом, уже переварив эту ситуацию и постаравшись понять, откуда берутся эти утверждения, находятся факты, которые опровергают эту ложь, никого не интересует опровержение. В лучшем случае где-то в сноске скажут, что была допущена небольшая неточность. Для того, чтобы с этим бороться и уметь с этим совладать, нужно быть предельно эрудированным и подготовленным к полемике. Сейчас это очень серьезное требование к дипломатам. Не только к тем, кто работает в ООН, ОБСЕ, Совете Европы и других публичных форумах, но и к дипломатам, которые работают по двусторонней линии в наших Посольствах. Постоянно проходит общение с прессой, постоянно приходится отвечать на всякие вбросы. Делать это надо быстро, убедительно и, самое главное, на основе фактов.

Вопрос: Какие правила работают в дипломатии до сих пор со времен Вашей учебы в МГИМО? В одном интервью говорилось, например, что переговоры должны обязательно вестись «с глазу на глаз».

С.В.Лавров: Нет. Наверное, это важная, но далеко не единственная форма дипломатии. Если я еду куда-нибудь по приглашению на переговоры, то мы целиком и полностью полагаемся на ту организацию, которую предлагают хозяева. Если хозяева предлагают начать с беседы «тет-а-тет», а потом перейти в расширенный формат, то мы готовы. Если наоборот – мы тоже готовы. Общение «один на один» всегда позволяет понять человека лучше, когда он не перед камерами и ему не надо делать формальные заявления, отрабатывать обязательную программу. Но Вы видите, как сейчас относятся к беседам «один на один» в том же Вашингтоне. Пытаются делать из этого несусветные грехи. Но возникает много вопросов. Как тогда быть со свободой доступа к информации? Если этот принцип возводить в абсолют, как это пытаются делать демократы на Капитолийском холме, тогда надо отменять обвинения в адрес Э.Сноудена, освобождать Дж.Ассанжа и перестать применять к нему пытки, которым он, судя по всему, подвергается в британском СИЗО.

В любом случае, я считаю, беседы один на один – это когда можно заглянуть человеку в глаза и понять, насколько он готов быть откровенным. Я всегда уважаю тех, кто эту откровенность излагает без какого-либо ущерба для позиций своего государства, которые он обязан отстаивать. С одной стороны, это звучит достаточно парадоксально. Непростое сочетание, но уверяю Вас, оно работает. Не припомню, чтобы кто-то из моих коллег, которые шли со мной на откровенные беседы, хоть в чем-то наносили ущерб политике своего государства.

Вопрос: Что Вы можете сказать нынешним студентам МГИМО или тем, кто хочет туда поступить? У всех, естественно, Ваша фигура стоит перед глазами. Как стать Министром иностранных дел?

С.В.Лавров: Не думать об этом, а стараться честно делать свою работу. Скажу искренне, без ложной скромности: ни на один из своих постов, ни на одну из должностей, на которые меня назначали, я не просился. Если то, что я делал, было сочтено правильным, полезным для страны, мне остается только испытывать чувство глубокого удовлетворения, как у нас было принято говорить.

Студенты МГИМО, уверен, будут лучше нас. Несколько поколений после того, как мы окончили институт, уже учатся в другой атмосфере. Помимо классической, известной с советских времен, знаменитой школы МГИМО, здесь есть великолепные преподаватели, блестящие языковые специалисты, историки самых разных направлений, начиная с истории Древнего Рима и заканчивая историей современной дипломатии. У нас были потрясающие возможности получать образование. Но у нынешних студентов МГИМО, как и у студентов других наших высших учебных заведений, есть еще возможность общаться со своими сверстниками и университетами со всего мира. МГИМО участвует в Болонском процессе и имеет партнерские связи со многими университетами. Конечно, это взаимное обогащение, прикосновение к практикам других передовых вузов. Надеюсь, наши студенты в полной мере воспользуются этими великолепными, уникальными возможностями.

Вопрос: Мы общались с Министром культуры Российской Федерации В.Р.Мединским, тоже выпускником МГИМО. Он рассказывал из воспоминаний про университет о том, что он учился делать клей из муки. Расклеивали газету, как он рассказывал. Утверждает, что это самый лучший клей, который он когда-либо делал в жизни.  У Вас есть какие-то такие студенческие воспоминания?  

С.В.Лавров: Я газет не расклеивал. Газета «Международник», которая продолжает издаваться, была тогда рукописной и рисованной. Это было несколько огромных ватманских листов – их склеивали, раскладывали на одной из лестничных клеток в старом здании, и, когда оканчивались занятия, 4-5 человек, сколько могло поместиться, договаривались о дизайне, каждый полз в свой уголок, писал, рисовал, оформлял.

Вопрос: То есть вы делали свою газету?

С.В.Лавров: Это была институтская газета. Я участвовал в некоторых выпусках. Не помню уже, писал какую-то заметку или что-то еще. В стройотрядах мы тоже варили соответствующие вещества – бетон. Я работал на стройках четыре года подряд уже после Останкинской башни – в Туве, Хакасии, Якутии и под Владивостоком. Все работы, которые мы делали, тоже касались варки, но варки бетона.

Календарь

x
x

Архив

Дополнительные инструменты поиска

Последние добавленные

Последние добавленные