3 June 202116:45

More criticism of Sputnik V vaccine

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

The international success of the anti-coronavirus Sputnik V vaccine, that has been recognised by the scientific community, allows no peace for a number of politically motivated media outlets that continue to politicise the promotion of the Russian vaccine. The worse things get with the vaccines in Europe the more fiercely they lash out at Sputnik V.

On May 11, 2021, Het Parool (the Netherlands) carried yet another article with a provocative headline, paraphrasing Shakespeare’s Hamlet, “To go for the Russian vaccine or not to go?” The writer claimed that Russia was pursuing a mercenary line in promoting its vaccine in Europe and beyond.

The string of insinuations that appear in one issue of Het Parool after another are nothing new: choosing the Russian medication is a political choice; if you sympathise with Russia, you are open to Sputnik V; Russia is conducting a hybrid war through Russia Today and Sputnik news agencies, and is smearing its competitors’ products to undermining trust in Western vaccines, European institutions and Western European vaccination strategies. As usual, there are no specific references to these allegedly denigrating actions.

Instead, the authors quote anti-Russia clichés from Lithuanian authorities and a statement by President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, who claimed that vaccination rates in Russia were lagging considerably behind European rates. The fact that vaccination centres are open throughout Russia and that mobile Russian medical teams are currently vaccinating people in remote areas, is quietly ignored.

The Dutch journalists explain the European Medicines Agency’s (EMA) lack of approval for the Russian vaccine by saying Russia has failed to present additional information and proof of the vaccine’s effectiveness. This is perplexing because The Lancet, a prestigious international medical journal, has published scientific articles on the results of three phases of the vaccine’s clinical trials. Meanwhile, Russia submitted all of the requested information to the EMA in March. In other words, it is delaying the approval of the Russian vaccine based on some vague pretense. We believe this is being done for political reasons. We would like to know if the pharmaceutical giants that received EMA approval submitted this additional information or if it was only required for Sputnik V.

In addition, accusing Russia of politicising its vaccine, the journalists ignore a number of proposals by Russian leaders either for lack of knowledge or deliberately. These proposals suggest forgetting about politics when human health is at stake. Thus, President of Russia Vladimir Putin supported the idea of suspending patent protection for COVID-19 vaccines. It would be good if the authors of the article mentioned this.

In any case, the authors cannot deny the success of the Russian vaccine. They reluctantly admit that over 60 countries have approved it and 28 states are using it in their vaccination programmes. Maybe, it is time for the Het Parool journalists to seriously ponder what was said by former Slovakian Prime Minister Igor Matovic who was strongly criticised for his decision to order the Russian vaccine: “Health and life are the only rules in a pandemic.” Common sense suggests a confident “yes” to the question in the Shakespearean headline.

 

www.parool.nl/wereld/vaccineren-met-het-spoetnik-v-vaccin-of-niet-verwarring-in-europa~b0fbf2e0/?referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F

Additional materials

Photos

3.06.2116:45

Об очередном критическом опусе о вакцине «Спутник V»

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Очевидный международный успех вакцины от коронавируса «Спутник V», признанный научным сообществом, не дает покоя ряду ангажированных СМИ, продолжающих политизировать тему продвижения российского препарата. И чем хуже обстоит дело с вакцинами в Европе, тем ожесточённее ведётся критика в адрес «Спутник V».

11 мая 2021 г. в издании «Het Parool» (Нидерланды) опубликован очередной опус под броским заголовком с очевидной отсылкой к шекспировскому Гамлету – «Вакцинироваться российской вакциной или нет?». В ней авторы рассуждают о якобы корыстных целях России, продвигающей свою вакцину в Европе и за ее пределами.

Набор тезисов, которые кочуют из одной подобной «Het Parool» публикации в другую, оригинальностью не отличается: «Выбор в пользу российского препарата является политическим», «Если вы симпатизируете России, то вы открыты для «Спутник V», Россия-де ведёт «гибридную войну» с помощью Russia Today и агентства Спутник и очерняет продукцию конкурентов с целью «подрыва доверия к западным вакцинам, европейским институтам и западноевропейским стратегиям вакцинации». Причём конкретных ссылок на диффамационные акции со стороны российских агентств, как всегда, не приводится.

Вместо этого цитируются антироссийские клише литовских властей и оторванное от реальности заявление Председателя Европейской комиссии У.фон дер Ляйен, которая утверждает, что темпы вакцинации в России «значительно отстают от европейских». Тот факт, что в нашей стране повсюду открыты центры вакцинации, активно работают выездные бригады медиков, вакцинирующих россиян, проживающих вдали от районных центров и т.д., стыдливо умалчивается.

Недоумение вызывает утверждение журналистов, что отсутствие одобрения российской вакцины со стороны Европейского агентства по лекарственным (EMA) средствам связано с тем, что Россия якобы «не предоставляет дополнительные данные и доказательства эффективности «Спутник V». И это при том, что научные статьи по результатам фазы I-II и III клинических исследований вакцины были опубликованы в одном из авторитетных международных медицинских журналов The Lancet. Все необходимые данные были переданы в ЕМА еще в марте, т.е. решение по одобрению российской вакцины искусственно задерживается. Как представляется, по политическим мотивам. Со своей стороны хотелось бы поинтересоваться, а предоставляют ли другие фармгиганты, получившие одобрение ЕМА, дополнительные данные или это требование распространяется лишь на российский препарат?

Кроме того голландские журналисты, рассуждающие о политизации Россией своей вакцины, то ли по недомыслию, то ли намеренно  упускают из вида ряд предложений российского руководства, как раз свидетельствующих о том, что всем необходимо забыть о политике, когда речь идет о здоровье людей. Хотелось бы, чтобы авторы статьи обратили внимание на высказанную Президентом России В.В.Путиным поддержку идеи снятия патентной защиты с вакцин против COVID-19.

Тем не менее, авторы статьи не могут отрицать достигнутых российской вакциной результатов: скрепя сердце признается, что свыше 60 стран мира её одобрили, а в 28 она уже используется в прививочных кампаниях. Так не пора ли журналистам «Het Parool» всерьёз задуматься над высказываниями отчаянно критикуемого за решение заказать российскую вакцину бывшего премьер-министра Словакии И.Матовича: «единственные правила пандемии – это здоровье и жизнь»? И при ответе на вынесенный в заголовок своей статьи вопрос «Прививаться ли российской вакциной или нет?», смело сказать: «Конечно, да!».

 

https://www.parool.nl/wereld/vaccineren-met-het-spoetnik-v-vaccin-of-niet-verwarring-in-europa~b0fbf2e0/?referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии