22 January 202115:27

A “sensational” report by Indian newspaper ThePrint

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On December 23, 2020, the Indian newspaper The Print published an article titled “India-Russia annual summit postponed for 1st time in two decades amid Moscow’s unease with Quad.” Quad, the Quadrilateral Security Council, is a format of interaction between Australia, India, the United States and Japan.

The people behind the publication were quite comfortable with the fact that just two days earlier, during a briefing with the participation of Russian Ambassador to India Nikolay Kudashev, comprehensive assessments of the current state and prospects for Russia-India relations in bilateral and multilateral formats were provided. It was, in particular, emphasised that even though the COVID-19 pandemic had changed the schedule of contacts and delayed the annual summit, it had not become an obstacle to the strengthening of friendly ties between our countries.

During the event, members of the media were informed about the well-known position of Moscow: Russia welcomes the commitment of its Indian partners to the promotion of inclusive formats of regional cooperation as opposed to the division that a number of other countries are trying to impose, as they build their policies in the spirit of containment.

Notably, our colleagues in the Indian Foreign Ministry also drew attention to The Print’s “sensational” material, emphasising that in 2020, the summit, with the mutual agreement of the parties, had not taken place due to the pandemic, and insinuations of any other kind were invalid. The Indian Foreign Ministry noted separately that the spread of false information about important bilateral relations was “particularly irresponsible.”

The Print’s attempt to create a sensation from nothing failed and looked even more ludicrous and helpless amid dozens of other articles published following the briefing which described various aspects of Russian-Indian relations in a constructive and correct manner. We hope that ThePrint editors will draw the necessary conclusions and will from now on focus on facts, rather than flashy headlines aimed at attracting attention.

 

https://theprint.in/diplomacy/india-russia-annual-summit-postponed-for-1st-time-in-two-decades-amid-moscows-unease-with-quad/572160/

Additional materials

Photos

22.01.2115:27

О «сенсационной» публикации в индийском издании The Print

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

23 декабря 2020 года в индийском издании The Print вышел материал под заголовком «Индийско-российский ежегодный саммит впервые за два десятилетия перенесен из-за негативного отношения Москвы к QUAD» – четырехстороннему формату взаимодействия Австралии, Индии, США и Японии.

Авторов публикации не смутил тот факт, что буквально двумя днями ранее в ходе брифинга с участием Посла России в Индии Н.Р.Кудашева были даны исчерпывающие оценки состояния и перспектив развития российско-индийских отношений в двустороннем и многосторонних форматах. Было, в частности, акцентировано, что пандемия COVID-19, хотя и внесла изменения в график контактов и стала причиной переноса ежегодного саммита, не превратилась в препятствие на пути укрепления дружественных связей между нашими странами.

В ходе мероприятия до представителей СМИ была доведена известная позиция Москвы: российская сторона приветствует нацеленность индийских партнеров на продвижение инклюзивных форматов регионального сотрудничества – в противовес разделительным линиям, которые пытается навязать ряд других стран, выстраивающих политику в духе сдерживания.

Примечательно, что на «сенсационный» материал The Print обратили внимание и наши коллеги в индийском внешнеполитическом ведомстве, которые подчеркнули, что в 2020 году саммит не состоялся по обоюдному согласию сторон из-за пандемии, а инсинуации любого иного содержания недостоверны. В МИД Индии отдельно отметили, что распространение ложной информации на тему важных двусторонних отношений является «особенно безответственным».

Попытка The Print создать сенсацию на пустом месте потерпела неудачу и выглядела еще более нелепо и беспомощно на фоне того, что опубликованные по итогам брифинга несколько десятков других статей раскрывали различные аспекты российско-индийских отношений в конструктивном и корректном ключе. Надеемся, что в редакции The Print сделают необходимые выводы и в будущем сосредоточатся на поиске фактов, а не громких заголовков ради привлечения внимания.

 

https://theprint.in/diplomacy/india-russia-annual-summit-postponed-for-1st-time-in-two-decades-amid-moscows-unease-with-quad/572160/

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии