8 August 201817:23

Greek newspaper Kontra News’ article on Moscow’s alleged role in planning riots in Thessaloniki

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On July 23, the Greek newspaper Kontra News published an article entitled “Plot to disrupt the international fair in Thessaloniki: Riots planned by black front nationalists and forces linked with Moscow; illegal quasi-government structures are being mobilised.”

Citing an anonymous source in the Greek intelligence community, the newspaper claims that Greek street gangs “financed from Putin’s slush funds” (!!!) are planning protests during the annual Thessaloniki International Fair in September of this year. Apparently, the author of the article has a vivid imagination.  

The article goes on to state that, in close cooperation with local radical groups and professional militants, Greece's National Front is planning major incidents during visits to the fair by Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras, prime ministers of Balkan countries and the US Vice President. Needless to say, “protests in Thessaloniki are being organised with funding from Russian agents of influence in Greece apart from ‘Putin’s slush funds’.”

But this is not all. Apparently the plan to disrupt the fair with a view to discrediting the Tsipras-Zaev agreement on Macedonia's name change is supported by some metropolitans of the Orthodox Church of Greece and business people “who have become agents on behalf of Moscow’s interests.” So, now Russia is also being accused of sinister plans to subvert the fair.

There is not a shred of truth in the Kontra News article. Greek pseudo-journalists should focus on the important news stories in bilateral relations that actually exist.

For example, this year will mark 25 years since the signing of the Treaty on Friendship and Cooperation between Russia and Greece. This is a fundamental document defining key areas of bilateral cooperation. Reflecting the close friendly ties between our countries and peoples, the treaty ensures their continuity and immunity from opportunistic considerations and their orientation to the future. It reaffirms the striving of the two states to actively and consistently promote mutual confidence and develop relations in all areas on the basis of the principles of respect for political independence, sovereign equality, territorial integrity, non-interference in internal affairs, and mutual benefit. We are guided by these principles in our efforts to further enhance and expand our cooperation.   

This year we will also celebrate the 190th anniversary of Russia-Greece diplomatic relations. Our countries are tied by centuries-long links and common values, inter-religious cooperation and a common history. Importantly, Russia has never encroached on the sovereignty, public order or national security of Greece. Why would our country plan to disrupt events in Greece?

Such hostile and frankly stupid anti-Russian insinuations are a stain on Greek journalism. The allegations of Kontra News are absurd given our warm feelings and respect for Athens as an equal partner. We will add this article to the list of tabloid fakes about Russia.

https://www.kontranews.gr/sites/default/files/protoselida/230718%20%20kontranews%20sel%2001.jpg

Additional materials

Photos

8.08.1817:23

О публикации греческой газеты Kontra News о якобы готовящихся при участии Москвы беспорядках в Салониках

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

23 июля с.г. в греческой газете Kontra News вышла статья под заголовком «Кто разрабатывает план срыва международной выставки-ярмарки в Салониках: беспорядки готовят представители черного фронта националистов и связанные с Москвой силы; мобилизуются нелегальные квазигосударственные структуры».

Ссылаясь на анонимный источник в спецслужбах Греции, издание утверждает, что некие греческие банды уличных хулиганов, «финансируемые из черных касс Путина» (!!!), ведут подготовку к протестным акциям в Салониках во время открытия там в сентябре с.г. ежегодной Международной межотраслевой выставки-ярмарки. Видно, что с фантазией у автора этого материала явно всё хорошо. 

Далее – еще интереснее! Оказывается, греческий «Националистический фронт» при тесном сотрудничестве с местными радикальными группировками, а также профессиональными боевиками планирует масштабные инциденты в ходе посещения выставки главой греческого правительства А.Ципраса, премьер-министрами балканских стран и вице-президентом США. Ну и естественно, что «подготовку протестных митингов в Салониках помимо «черных касс Путина» финансируют и российские агенты влияния непосредственно в Греции».

Но это ещё не всё. Издание информирует, что план срыва выставки с целью компрометации соглашения А.Ципрас-З.Заев по госнаименованию Македонии поддерживается некоторыми митрополитами Элладской православной церкви и бизнесменами, «превратившимися в агентов продвижения интересов Москвы».  То есть теперь Россию решили обвинить еще и в зловещих планах по саботажу выставки-ярмарки.

 В материале греческой газеты Kontra News нет ни слова правды. Напомним греческим псевдо-журналистам о существовании действительно стоящих внимания информационных поводов из области двусторонних отношений.

Так, в нынешнем году исполняется 25 лет подписанию Договора о дружбе и сотрудничестве между Россией и Грецией. Это базовый документ, определяющий ключевые векторы двустороннего взаимодействия. Отражая специфику тесных дружественных связей между нашими странами и народами, Договор обеспечивает их преемственность, неподверженность конъюнктурным изменениям и обращенность в будущее. В нем подтверждается решимость и стремление двух государств активно и последовательно укреплять взаимное доверие и развивать отношения во всех областях на основе принципов уважения политической независимости, суверенного равенства, территориальной целостности, невмешательства во внутренние дела и взаимной выгоды. Этими установками мы и руководствуемся в работе по дальнейшему наращиванию и расширению сотрудничества.

В текущем году также отмечается 190-летие с момента установления российско-греческих дипломатических отношений. Наши страны связывают многовековые узы и единые ценности, межрелигиозное взаимодействие, общая история. При этом Россия никогда не посягала на суверенитет, общественный порядок или государственную безопасность Греции. Зачем нашей стране заниматься срывом мероприятий  в Греции?

Такие недружественные и, откровенно говоря, глупые выпады в адрес России позорят греческую журналистику. Домыслы Kontra News звучат  абсурдно на фоне нашего теплого и уважительного отношения к Афинам как к равноправному партнеру. Записываем эту статью в нашу коллекцию  «бульварных фальшивок» о России.

https://www.kontranews.gr/sites/default/files/protoselida/230718%20%20kontranews%20sel%2001.jpg

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии