News

1 September 202110:00

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s article titled “Russia-Uzbekistan relations in the modern period” for a special issue of the Budget magazine dedicated to the 30th anniversary of independence of the Republic of Uzbekistan, September 1, 2021

1699-01-09-2021

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

This year Uzbekistan marks the 30th anniversary of independence. Hard and productive work helped the republic achieve noticeable progress in state building and socioeconomic development.

I state with satisfaction that over the past three decades, through joint efforts, Moscow and Tashkent have managed to establish comprehensive cooperation and to strengthen age-old bonds of friendship and neighbourliness.

Russian-Uzbek interaction is based on a strong legal framework that includes about 350 international agreements and interagency documents, of which the Treaty on the Foundations of Interstate Relations, Friendship and Cooperation (May 30, 1992), the Strategic Partnership Treaty (June 16, 2004) and the Treaty on Allied Relations (November 14, 2005) are of fundamental importance.

A particularly trust-based political dialogue at the highest and high levels boosts the efforts to further deepen our strategic partnership and alliance. Large-scale agreements on joint projects worth tens of billions of US dollars have been signed following the summit meetings and are now being implemented. For example, during President Putin’s state visit to Tashkent in October 2018, a package of agreements and contracts worth over $27 billion was signed. Preparations for the Uzbekistan leader’s state visit to Russia are underway.

Intergovernmental and interagency contacts are being promoted. The dialogue between parliaments and regions is expanding. I would like to note the activities of the Joint Commission at the level of the heads of government of Russia and Uzbekistan, which is designed to coordinate joint efforts aimed at expanding bilateral cooperation in its entirety. Its second meeting, which added dynamism to our practical cooperation, was held in Moscow in June.

Growing trade remains a vivid evidence of the success of our joint work. As of the end of 2020, it reached $5.9 billion and exceeded the previous year’s volume by 15.6 percent. Russia - with its share of 15.5 percent - ranks second among Tashkent’s key foreign trade partners. We plan to bring mutual trade to $10 billion in the mid-term perspective.

The Intergovernmental Commission on Economic Cooperation is working productively. Its 21st meeting was held in Bukhara in October 2020. The intergovernmental Programme for Economic Cooperation to 2024 is being implemented as is the Action Plan for its realisation, which includes over 100 promising projects in a broad range of industries, transport, energy and agriculture, as well as finance and banking, taxation and digital spheres. More than 2,000 Russian companies and joint ventures are operating effectively in the republic, with Russian investment in the local economy amounting to about $10 billion. In turn, over 600 companies with the participation of Uzbekistan residents are incorporated in our country.

Cooperation in the social and labour sphere is expanding. More than 2 million Uzbekistan nationals work in Russia. By late 2020, they had transferred home over $4.3 billion.

Scientific and technical cooperation covering the use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is in the process of becoming a flagship area of cooperation. The construction of a Russian-designed nuclear power plant in Uzbekistan, the first one in Central Asia, is being worked through. I am confident that the successful completion of this project will help the republic make a technological breakthrough.

Ties in healthcare, education and culture are gaining momentum. Twelve branches of Russian universities are operating in Uzbekistan, including Moscow State University and MGIMO, and several more will open soon.

I would like to highlight our constructive cooperation in fighting the coronavirus infection, including the fast-track registration of the Russian Sputnik V vaccine in Uzbekistan. Over 200,000 two-component vaccine doses have been delivered under the existing agreement. The launch of joint production of the vaccines in Uzbekistan in August was an important step forward. I am sure this will improve the epidemiological situation in that country.

Russia and Uzbekistan have been productively cooperating in the international arena and closely coordinating their efforts at the UN, including on matters of ensuring security and stability in Central Asia and combating international terrorism, extremism and organised crime.

Acting through the Russia-UNDP Trust Fund, we support projects to promote employment and improve the sustainability of agriculture and to combat climate change in Fergana Valley. A number of regional initiatives targeting aquatic environment are underway.

We prioritise further disclosure of the advantages of our countries' participation in multilateral associations, primarily, the CIS and the SCO. The Eurasian Economic Union market offers an impressive potential for building up mutual trade and expanding its nomenclature. In this regard, we welcome the fact that Uzbekistan obtained the status of an observer state with the EAEU.

Clearly, going beyond what has already been achieved is in our common interests. Today, we are faced with an ambitious goal to bring bilateral relations to new heights for the benefit of the citizens of Russia and Uzbekistan and in the name of strengthening regional security and stability. We stand ready to work on effectively achieving this goal in conjunction with our friends from Uzbekistan.

 

 

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

1.09.2110:00

Статья Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова для специального выпуска журнала «Бюджет» к 30-летию независимости Республики Узбекистан «Российско-узбекистанские отношения на современном этапе», 1 сентября 2021 года

1699-01-09-2021

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

В этом году Узбекистан отмечает 30-ю годовщину установления независимости. Благодаря напряженной созидательной работе Республика добилась заметных успехов в деле государственного строительства, социально-экономического развития.

С удовлетворением констатирую, что за прошедшие три десятилетия совместными усилиями Москве и Ташкенту удалось наладить всестороннее сотрудничество, укрепить связывающие наши народы вековые узы дружбы и добрососедства.

Российско-узбекистанское взаимодействие опирается на солидную договорно-правовую базу. Это – около 350 международных соглашений и межведомственных документов. Стержневыми из них являются Договор об основах межгосударственных отношений, дружбе и сотрудничестве (от 30 мая 1992 г.), Договор о стратегическом партнерстве (от 16 июня 2004 г.) и Договор о союзнических отношениях (от 14 ноября 2005 г.).

Необходимый импульс дальнейшему углублению стратегического партнерства и союзничества придает особо доверительный политический диалог на высшем и высоком уровнях. По итогам встреч в верхах достигнуты и реализуются масштабные договоренности об осуществлении совместных проектов на десятки миллиардов долларов. Например, в ходе государственного визита Президента Российской Федерации В.В.Путина в Ташкент в октябре 2018 г. был подписан пакет соглашений и контрактов на общую сумму более 27 млрд долл. Сейчас на повестке дня – подготовка государственного визита в Россию узбекистанского лидера. 

Продвигаются межправительственные, межведомственные контакты. Расширяется диалог по линии парламентов и регионов. Отмечу деятельность Совместной комиссии на уровне глав правительств России и Узбекистана, которая призвана координировать совместные усилия по наращиванию всего комплекса двустороннего сотрудничества. В июне с.г. в Москве прошло ее 2-е заседание, придавшее дополнительную динамику нашей практической кооперации.

Ярким свидетельством успешной совместной работы остается рост товарооборота. По итогам 2020 г. его объем достиг 5,9 млрд долл., превысив данные предыдущего года на 15,6%. Россия – с долей 15,5% – занимает второе место среди ключевых внешнеторговых партнеров Ташкента. В среднесрочной перспективе рассчитываем довести показатели взаимной торговли до 10 млрд долл.

Плодотворно работает Межправительственная комиссия по экономическому сотрудничеству, 21-е заседание которой состоялось в октябре 2020 г. в Бухаре. Претворяется в жизнь межправительственная Программа экономического сотрудничества до 2024 г. и План мероприятий по ее реализации, который включает более 100 перспективных проектов в широком спектре отраслей промышленности, транспорта, энергетики, сельского хозяйства, финансово-банковской, налоговой, цифровой сферах. В Республике успешно функционируют более 2 тыс. отечественных и совместных предприятий, а российские инвестиции в местную экономику составляют порядка 10 млрд долл. В свою очередь в нашей стране зарегистрировано свыше 600 компаний с участием резидентов Узбекистана.

Расширяется сотрудничество в социально-трудовой сфере. В России трудятся свыше 2 млн узбекистанцев, которые по итогам 2020 г. осуществили денежных переводов на свою Родину на сумму более 4,3 млрд долларов.

В качестве «флагманского» направления утверждается научно-техническое сотрудничество по использованию атомной энергии в мирных целях. Прорабатывается вопрос строительства АЭС российского дизайна в Узбекистане – первой в регионе Центральной Азии. Уверен: успешное осуществление данного проекта позволит Республике совершить технологический рывок.

Набирают обороты связи в области здравоохранения, образования и культуры. В Узбекистане действуют уже 12 филиалов российских вузов, в том числе МГУ и МГИМО, в ближайшее время откроются еще несколько.

Особо отмечу наше конструктивное взаимодействие в борьбе с коронавирусной инфекцией, включая ускоренную регистрацию российской вакцины «Спутник V» в Узбекистане. В рамках действующей договоренности в Республику уже направлено более 200 тыс. двухкомпонентных доз вакцины. Важным этапом стал запуск в августе с.г. совместного производства вакцины на узбекистанской территории. Уверен, что это позитивно повлияет на эпидемиологическую обстановку в стране.

Россия и Узбекистан плодотворно сотрудничают на мировой арене, тесно координируют усилия в ООН, в том числе по вопросам обеспечения безопасности и стабильности в Центральной Азии, борьбы с международным терроризмом, экстремизмом, организованной преступностью.

Посредством Трастового фонда Россия-ПРООН поддерживаем осуществление проектов по содействию занятости и повышению устойчивости сельского хозяйства, изменению климата в Ферганской долине. Реализуется ряд специализированных региональных инициатив в водно-экологической сфере.

Приоритетное внимание уделяем дальнейшему раскрытию преимуществ участия наших стран в многосторонних структурах, прежде всего в СНГ и ШОС. Налицо внушительный потенциал рынка Евразийского экономического союза с точки зрения наращивания объемов и расширения номенклатуры взаимной торговли. В этой связи приветствуем получение Узбекистаном статуса государства-наблюдателя при ЕАЭС.

Очевидно, что в общих интересах – не останавливаться на достигнутом. Сегодня перед нами стоят масштабные задачи по выводу двусторонних отношений на новые рубежи на благо граждан России и Узбекистана, во имя упрочения региональной безопасности и стабильности. Вместе с узбекистанскими друзьями готовы работать над их эффективным решением.

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+998 90 904-59-95
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж