News

18 October 202120:51

Foreign Ministry Spokeswoman Maria Zakharova’s comment on the death of Colin Powell

2108-18-10-2021

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

The late Colin Powell, a prominent government, military and political leader who occupied high positions in the administrations of Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton and George W. Bush, will be remembered as a patriot who defended his country’s interests in the way he considered right.

As US Secretary of State from 2001 to 2005, Mr Powell was compelled to carry out dubious instructions that helped precipitate the war in Iraq, for which he later expressed sincere regret. However, he will be remembered in American history primarily as a talented professional who rose from the ranks to the highest military and political positions in the country. Many Americans associated his name with hopes for a better future, seeing in his difficult journey the embodiment of the American dream.

His political realism and ability to listen to the other side are sorely needed in the current crisis in Russian-US relations created by Washington. Many representatives of the current US political elite obviously lack these features.

We join in expressing our deepest condolences to his family and friends, and all those who knew and respected this distinguished man.

 

General Information

  • Flag
  • Arms
  • Anthem
  • Bilateral
    relations

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

18.10.2120:51

Комментарий официального представителя МИД России М.В.Захаровой в связи с кончиной К.Пауэлла

2108-18-10-2021

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Ушедший из жизни видный государственный деятель США, военный и политик, занимавший руководящие посты в администрациях Р.Рейгана, Дж.Буша-старшего, Б.Клинтона и Дж.Буша-младшего, Колин Пауэлл запомнится как патриот своей страны, защищавший ее интересы так, как он считал правильным.

Будучи Госсекретарем США в 2001-2005 гг., К.Пауэлл оказался вынужден выполнять сомнительные указания, которые привели, в частности, к войне в Ираке, о чем впоследствии искренне сожалел. Но в историю Америки он вошел, прежде всего, как талантливый профессионал, поднявшийся из низов до высоких военных и политических должностей. С его именем многие американцы связывали надежды на перемены к лучшему, видя в пройденном им непростом пути воплощение американской мечты.

В нынешней кризисной ситуации, сложившейся в российско-американских отношениях по вине Вашингтона, особенно востребованы политический реализм, умение слушать и слышать другую сторону, что было присуще К.Пауэллу, но явно недостает многим представителям современной политической элиты США.

Мы искренне скорбим вместе с его родными и близкими, всеми, кто знал и уважал этого заслуженного человека.

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+1 202 332-07-37
+1 202 365-21-24
+1 202 298-57-00
+1 202 298-57-01
+1 202 298-57-04
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж