News

25 August 202119:13

Answer by Foreign Ministry Spokeswoman Maria Zakharova to media questions about the impossibility of obtaining an entry visa to the United States

1660-25-08-2021

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

It is regrettable that the US Embassy in Russia has almost completely stopped issuing visas to Russian citizens citing “shortage of personnel” and deflecting criticism to the Russian authorities, who have banned the hiring of local personnel as consular assistants.

Such explanations are devious and misleading, to put it mildly. Russian consular offices in the United States, stripped of personnel after the US Department of State refused to issue visas to our new employees to replace those who have completed their service and returned to Russia, nevertheless continue visa processing in full. The remaining staff have to process visa applications, in addition to their other consular responsibilities, including assistance to our fellow citizens in trouble.

If we take any other course of action, Russian-American people-to-people contacts will stop altogether. This much would seem obvious. Meanwhile, our colleagues in Washington appear to be guided by a different logic. This leads to unacceptable situations where, for example, Russian Olympic champion Maria Lasitskene had to miss the Diamond League competition in the United States because she could not obtain a visa.

Hundreds, if not thousands of our compatriots are now facing similar treatment, while the American diplomatic mission in Moscow advises them to contact US consular offices in third countries, even in acute humanitarian situations.

The question is, where is the proverbial American “open society” and why has it now become closed to Russians by Washington’s visa stockade?

General Information

  • Flag
  • Arms
  • Anthem
  • Bilateral
    relations

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

25.08.2119:13

Ответ официального представителя МИД России М.В.Захаровой на вопросы СМИ о невозможности получить въездную визу в США

1660-25-08-2021

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Вызывает сожаление, что Посольство США в России, ссылаясь на «нехватку персонала», практически полностью прекратило выдачу виз российским гражданам. Стрелки переводятся на российские власти, запретившие нанимать в качестве помощников консульских работников местный персонал.

Подобные объяснения, мягко говоря, лукавые и вводящие в заблуждение. Российские консульские учреждения в США, которые кадрово обескровлены из-за отказов Госдепартамента США выдавать визы нашим новым сотрудникам на замену завершившим командировку и вернувшимся на Родину, продолжают, тем не менее, визовое оформление в полном объеме. Для этого приходится, помимо прочих консульских действий, включая помощь попавшим в беду нашим согражданам, дополнительно брать на себя обработку заявок на получение визы.

Если действовать иначе, вообще остановятся российско-американские контакты между людьми. Казалось бы, это очевидно. Между тем, коллеги в Вашингтоне руководствуются, видимо, другой логикой. Поэтому возникают нетерпимые ситуации, когда, к примеру, российская Олимпийская чемпионка Мария Ласицкене из-за невозможности получить визу оказалась вынуждена пропустить соревнования «Бриллиантовой лиги» в США.

В аналогичном положении сейчас находятся сотни, если не тысячи соотечественников, которым даже в острых гуманитарных ситуациях американская дипмиссия в Москве рекомендует обращаться в консульские учреждения США в третьих странах.

Вопрос: где это пресловутое американское «открытое общество» и почему оно теперь настолько закрыто для россиян вашингтонским «визовым частоколом»?

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+1 202 332-07-37
+1 202 365-21-24
+1 202 298-57-00
+1 202 298-57-01
+1 202 298-57-04
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж