News

9 October 202021:48

STATEMENT BY MR. VLADIMIR YERMAK, DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT FOR NON-PROLIFERATION AND ARMS CONTROL, MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS OF THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION, AT THE CLOSING SESSION OF THE FOURTH REVIEW CONFERENCE ON THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE TREATY ON OPEN SKIES (9 October 2020)

1690-09-10-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Mr. Chairperson,

 First of all, we should like to express our gratitude to the Belgian Chairmanship for the excellent organization of the Review Conference.

 Discussions have taken place on practically the entire range of Treaty implementation problems over the past difficult five-year period. Overall, they provide decent food for thought, although not all the Conference participants succeeded in speaking in a constructive, considered and reasonable manner.

 Let us briefly summarize our impressions.

 We agree with the assessment by many States Parties that practical co-operation within the framework of the Treaty has developed quite successfully in recent years. This is demonstrated by the significant number of observation flights, the majority of which took place in a friendly atmosphere that was free of conflict. The call “Let’s go digital”, which came incidentally from our US colleagues, was heeded. Through our joint efforts, we began to overcome the restrictions imposed on the implementation of the Treaty on Open Skies by the COVID-19 pandemic.

 However, the situation deteriorated rapidly once individual States Parties started to politicize problems connected with the Treaty, making it a hostage to their demands in the form of ultimatums, which at times were not in any way related to the Open Skies topic. We recall, for example, the disruptions to the work of the Open Skies Consultative Commission (OSCC) during the period from 2010 to 2013 and the year 2018, in which no flights were conducted at all. Now comes the inevitable reduction in the Treaty’s membership. Let us ask ourselves a question: have these events strengthened the viability of the Treaty on Open Skies and European security? The answer is obviously “no”. The security of those of our partners whose actions have produced this result has not been strengthened either.

 Unfortunately, many of our colleagues, especially those belonging to various alliances, have developed an indifferent and passive attitude towards the fate of the Treaty on Open Skies, which has also manifested itself at this Conference. It seems to them that in any case the “major players” will resolve all the problems and will save the Treaty. As a result, one of these “major players” began making inappropriate decisions without even looking at the interests of its allies (incidentally, this does not by any means apply only to the Treaty on Open Skies).

 I would hope that the current situation will encourage every State remaining in the Treaty to realize its interests and its responsibility for the future of the Open Skies regime. Otherwise, we all risk no longer meeting in this format in five years’ time – a scenario that is quite likely if the current destructive trends continue and we fail to confront them together.

Mr. Chairperson,

 The Russian Federation regards the Treaty as an important legally binding agreement intended to ensure openness and transparency among the States Parties in the Euro-Atlantic area. Russia is implementing in full the Treaty provisions and also the OSCC decisions. The more than 500 observation flights accepted are evidence of this. I emphasize that none of the notifications regarding the intention to conduct these flights over the territory of the Republic of Belarus and the Russian Federation group of States Parties have been rejected by us.

 In contrast to our full implementation of the Treaty, some States Parties close, entirely or partially, their inland or overseas territories to observation flights by the Russian Federation, cancel overnight rest stops for Russian crews at refuelling airfields, establish restrictions on the flight altitude of observation aircraft that are not provided for in the Treaty on Open Skies and run contrary to the recommendations of the International Civil Aviation Organization, and unduly drag out the issuing of visas to Russian designated personnel in relation to the time-frames established by the Treaty. These are blatant violations of key Treaty provisions. Unfortunately, they are not receiving an objective assessment on the part of the Open Skies community. The Russian Federation calls on the States Parties that are permitting such violations to implement the Treaty properly and in full. In that context, we support the position of the final document that the Treaty on Open Skies continues to function and remains useful “when its provisions are fully respected”.

 The collective repetition of the “mantra” that Russia should fulfil the provisions of the Treaty on Open Skies only as they are interpreted by some States Parties is pointless and futile. If our partners really want the existing problems to be resolved, then they should recognize the need for steps on their part to accommodate Russian concerns.

 It is definite that the United States of America will cease to participate in the Treaty on 22 November. In these circumstances, it is essential that all the States that are allies of the United States reaffirm their commitment to adhere strictly to the provisions of the Treaty, including confining information to the Parties to the Treaty on Open Skies and not communicating it to States outside the legal Treaty framework. In the event that Russia’s rights as a State Party to the Treaty are infringed, we will be forced to take measures in response.

 Ultimately, Russia needs the Treaty on Open Skies to exactly the same degree that our partners do. Expecting this to be otherwise could be seriously detrimental to them, as has already happened before (for example, with the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe). We will develop our policy regarding the Treaty on the basis of the national interests of Russia and our allies and subject to the continuous monitoring of the statements and actions of the other Parties to the Treaty. At the same time, we will keep our options open as to further steps.

 On the whole, the outcome of the Conference has confirmed that difficult times lie ahead of the Open Skies community. Nevertheless, I would hope that the common sense and spirit of co-operation underpinning the Treaty will prevail and will make it possible to maintain fruitful dialogue and, ultimately, to address mutual concerns and ensure the viability of the Treaty. The general acknowledgement of the importance of the Treaty and the commitment of the States Parties to uphold and strengthen it, both of which were apparent during the Conference, offer some hope to that end.

 Thank you, Mr. Chairperson. I request that this statement be attached to the journal of the Conference.

General Information

  • Flag
  • Arms
  • Anthem
  • Bilateral
    relations

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

9.10.2021:48

Выступление Директора Департамента по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями МИД России В.И.Ермакова при закрытии Четвёртой Конференции по рассмотрению выполнения Договора по открытому небу (ДОН), 9 октября 2020 года

1690-09-10-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Господин Председатель,

Прежде всего выражаем признательность бельгийскому председательству за превосходную организацию Обзорной конференции.

Дискуссии прошли практически по всему спектру проблем имплементации Договора за прошедший непростой пятилетний период. В целом они дают неплохую пищу для размышлений, хотя не всем участникам Конференции удалось выступить конструктивно, взвешенно и аргументированно.

Кратко подытожим наши впечатления.

Согласны с высказанной многими государствами-участниками оценкой, что в прошедшие годы практическое сотрудничество в рамках Договора развивалось достаточно успешно. Об этом свидетельствует значительное количество наблюдательных полётов, большинство которых прошло в бесконфликтной, дружественной атмосфере. Был воплощён в жизнь призыв «Давайте перейдём на цифру!» («Let’s go digital!») – кстати, его авторами были американские коллеги. Совместными усилиями мы начали преодолевать ограничения, наложенные на выполнение ДОН пандемией COVID-19.

Однако ситуация стремительно ухудшалась, как только отдельные государства-участники начинали политизировать проблемы, связанные с Договором, делая его заложником своих ультимативных требований, порой никоим образом не связанных с тематикой открытого неба. Вспомним, например, перебои в работе Консультативной комиссии по открытому небу (ККОН) в 2010-2013 гг. и бесполётный 2018 год. Теперь в этом ряду уже предрешённое сокращение состава участников Договора. Зададимся вопросом: укрепили ли эти события жизнеспособность ДОН, европейскую безопасность? Отрицательный ответ очевиден. Не укрепилась и безопасность тех наших партнёров, действия которых привели к этим последствиям.

К сожалению, у многих коллег, особенно входящих в различного рода альянсы, развилось безучастно-пассивное отношение к судьбе ДОН, проявившееся и на нынешней конференции. Как им представляется, в любом случае «крупные игроки» за них всё решат и спасут Договор. В результате один из таких «крупных игроков» стал принимать неадекватные решения без оглядки даже на интересы своих союзников (кстати, это относится далеко не только к ДОН).

Хотелось бы надеяться, что нынешняя ситуация побудит каждое остающееся в Договоре государство осознать свои интересы и свою ответственность за будущее режима открытого неба. Иначе мы все рискуем уже не встретиться в этом формате через пять лет – продолжение нынешних разрушительных тенденций, если им не противостоять совместно, способно привести именно к этому.

Господин Председатель,

Российская Федерация рассматривает Договор как важное юридически обязывающее соглашение, призванное обеспечивать открытость и транспарентность государств-участников на евроатлантическом пространстве. Россия  полностью выполняет положения Договора, а также решения ККОН. Свидетельством этому являются более 500 принятых наблюдательных полетов. Подчеркиваю, ни по одному из уведомлений о намерении провести эти полёты над территорией группы государств Республика Беларусь/Российская Федерация отказов с нашей стороны не было.

В противовес нашему полному выполнению Договора некоторые Государства-участники целиком или частично закрывают свои материковые или заморские территории от наблюдательных полетов Российской Федерации, отменяют остановки для ночного отдыха российских экипажей на аэродромах дозаправки, устанавливают ограничения по высоте полёта самолёта наблюдения, не предусмотренные ДОН и противоречащие рекомендациям ИКАО, неправомерно затягивают выдачу виз российскому назначенному персоналу по сравнению с установленными Договором сроками. Это – явные нарушения ключевых положений Договора. К сожалению, они не находят принципиальной оценки со стороны сообщества открытого неба. Российская Федерация призывает Государства-участники, допускающие такие нарушения, к полному и правильному выполнению Договора. В этом контексте мы поддерживаем положение итогового документа о том, что ДОН продолжает функционировать и остаётся полезным «при выполнении его положений в полном объёме».

Хоровое повторение «мантры» о том, что Россия должна выполнять положения ДОН только так, как их толкуют некоторые государства-участники, бессмысленно и бесперспективно. Если наши партнёры действительно хотят, чтобы имеющиеся проблемы решались, то им следует признать необходимость своих шагов навстречу российским озабоченностям.

Нет сомнений, что 22 ноября Вашингтон перестанет участвовать в Договоре. В этих условиях принципиально важно, чтобы все государства-союзники США подтвердили приверженность неукоснительному следованию положений Договора, включая сохранение информации в кругу участников ДОН и запрет на её передачу государствам, не входящим в его правовое поле. В случае, если права России как государства-участника Договора будут ущемляться, мы будем вынуждены принимать ответные меры.

В конечном итоге ДОН нужен России ровно в той же мере, что и нашим партнёрам. Расчёт на то, что это не так, может привести к серьёзным для них потерям, как это уже бывало раньше (например, с ДОВСЕ). Мы будем выстраивать свою линию в отношении Договора на основе национальных интересов России и наших союзников и с учётом постоянного мониторинга заявлений и действий других его участников. При этом все варианты дальнейших шагов остаются для нас открытыми.

В целом по итогам конференции подтвердилось, что сообщество открытого неба ждут непростые времена. И всё же хотелось бы надеяться на то, что здравый смысл и дух сотрудничества, заложенные в основу Договора, возобладают и позволят сохранить плодотворный диалог, а в конечном итоге, снять взаимные озабоченности и обеспечить жизнеспособность Договора. Определённые надежды для этого дают проявившиеся в ходе Конференции общее признание значимости ДОН и настрой государств-участников на его сохранение и укрепление.

Благодарю Вас, господин Председатель, и прошу приложить текст данного выступления к Журналу Конференции.

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+1 202 332-07-37
+1 202 365-21-24
+1 202 298-57-00
+1 202 298-57-01
+1 202 298-57-04
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж