News

17 July 202019:55

Russian Ambassador to Indonesia Lyudmila Vorobyova’s interview with International Information Agency Rossiya Segodnya, July 17, 2020

1100-17-07-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

Question: What, in your view, is the current stage in Russia-Indonesia relations characterised with? How close are the two countries to a strategic partnership?

Lyudmila Vorobyova: Earlier on this year, we marked the 70th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Russia and Indonesia. We have approached this milestone with a lot of achievements to our credit. President Vladimir Putin and President Joko Widodo had numerous meetings, specifically in Sochi in 2016 and in Singapore in 2018. On April 13 of this year, the two leaders held a telephone conversation focused on how to fight the COVID-19 pandemic.  The political dialogue is developing actively at all levels, as is cooperation in such fields as security, antiterrorism, international information security, military-technical cooperation, education and culture. We have also established close collaboration internationally.  On the whole, we can say that Russian-Indonesian relations are currently growing. I am confident that in the future our joint efforts will be likewise aimed at strengthening the mutually beneficial ties between Russia and Indonesia for the good of our two nations and in the interests of promoting peace and stability in the Asia Pacific region and globally.

Our accumulated bilateral potential, our trust-based relations and closeness of views on processes in the world are factors that create a strong basis for a strategic partnership. Regrettably, COVID-19 has somewhat postponed the signing of a relevant declaration by the presidents of Russia and Indonesia. However, I have no doubt that this event will take place at the earliest possible opportunity.

Question: Indonesia is one of the main trade partners for Russia in Southeast Asia. What trade and economic cooperation sectors have achieved the greatest success? What are the priority development sectors?

Lyudmila Vorobyova: In 2019, Russian-Indonesian trade topped $2 billion. This is not enough, of course, given the two countries’ considerable resources and an interest in expanding cooperation.  The Russian-Indonesian Joint Commission for Trade, Economic and Technological Cooperation co-chaired by Minister of Trade and Industry Denis Manturov of Russia and Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs Airlangga Hartarto of Indonesia, as well as its several working groups are exploring promising spheres of collaboration.

A number of joint investment projects are being implemented in Indonesia. Notably, Rosneft is building an oil refinery in East Java. There are good opportunities for cooperation in the context of President Widodo’s plans to relocate the national capital city to East Kalimantan.

Apart from this, energy, aircraft-making, shipbuilding, industrial cooperation, hi-tech and some others sectors are also promising cooperation fields.

Question: Russia-Indonesia military-technical cooperation is many decades old. What is the state of relations in this field today?  

Lyudmila Vorobyova: A high level of mutual trust creates a favourable atmosphere for progress of collaboration in the military and military-technical sphere.  Indonesian Defence Minister Prabowo Subianto has paid two visits to Russia since the start of 2020.  In June, at the invitation of Russian Defence Minister Sergey Shoigu, he attended the military parade on Red Square dedicated to the 75th anniversary of Victory in the Great Patriotic War. There are regular meetings of top military command personnel; Russian military participate in multilateral exercises in Indonesia.

In October 2019, the sides drafted a plan of Russian-Indonesian military cooperation for 2020, which provides for calls by Russian naval ships at Indonesian ports, staff exercises, talks between representatives of armed forces services, and other things. We hope that it will be implemented despite the pandemic.

Russian arms and military equipment supplies remain an important component of bilateral defence collaboration. As is common knowledge, Indonesia signed a purchase contract, in 2018, for 11 multi-role Sukhoi Su-35 fighter jets. Talks on the contract are still in progress.  

The generally good quality of Russian equipment and its competitive price tag motivate high interest in it on the part of Indonesian partners.   In this connection, Russia is still one of the principal suppliers of weapons to Indonesia.

Question: Bilateral cultural contacts existed long before the establishment of diplomatic relations. How is our cooperation in the field of cultural exchanges, education and sports developing today?

Lyudmila Vorobyova: I am particularly pleased to note the progress made in humanitarian ties. In October 2018, the Rossiya airline established a direct air link, Moscow-Denpasar-Moscow, between Russia and Indonesia, something that doubled the number of Russian tourists visiting Indonesia to 160,000 in 2019.  

Cultural exchanges are being intensified as well. For example, the National Gallery in Jakarta marked the 70th anniversary of diplomatic relations by holding a Russian exhibition of paintings titled “The Necklace of Equator,” which was visited by 5,000 people.  In turn, Moscow hosts the annual Festival of Indonesia that people in Moscow and visitors are invariably keen to attend.  

There is much potential in the education sphere. The Government of the Russian Federation provides over 160 student grants for Indonesians to study at Russian universities, but the number of those eager to enroll is far in excess of this quota. As of today, Russian universities have more than 600 Indonesian students.

I am glad that increasingly more Indonesians show an interest and are paying attention to Russia, its history and culture, they also visit this country, familiarise themselves with its customs and traditions, and form an opinion of their own about it.   

Question: How are Russian citizens and Russian compatriots living in Indonesia coping with challenges created by COVID-19 and the restrictions imposed on account of the pandemic?

Lyudmila Vorobyova: The Indonesian authorities took measures to prevent the disease from spreading in the country as soon as the first patients were recorded in Jakarta in March. Various restrictions were introduced stage by stage, including on the public transit system. 

There were almost 6,000 Russians, many with expired visas, in Indonesia, primarily on Bali, when Russia suspended all international air flights. Thanks to the Embassy’s efforts, the local immigration services reached out to the Russians, who got stuck in the country, cancelling fines for their visa violations.  During these months, Russian airlines performed 14 evacuation flights that brought most of them home. Many hard-pressed tourists received financial aid. Luckily, none of the Russians in Indonesia contracted coronavirus.

General Information

  • Flag
  • Arms
  • Anthem
  • Bilateral
    relations
  • About the country

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

17.07.2019:55

Интервью Посла России в Индонезии Л.Г.Воробьевой МИА «Россия Сегодня», 17 июля 2020 года

1100-17-07-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Вопрос: Чем, на Ваш взгляд, характеризуется нынешний этап отношений России и Индонезии? Насколько близки наши страны к установлению отношений стратегического партнерства?

Ответ: К этому юбилею (в этом году исполнилось 70 лет со дня установления дипломатических отношений между Россией и Индонезией) мы подошли с солидным багажом достижений. Неоднократно встречались президенты наших стран В.В.Путин и Дж.Видодо - в частности, в Сочи в 2016 году и в Сингапуре в 2018 году. 13 апреля нынешнего года между двумя лидерами состоялся телефонный разговор, главной темой которого стали совместные шаги в борьбе против пандемии коронавируса. Активно развивается политический диалог на всех уровнях, сотрудничество в области безопасности, антитеррора, международной информационной безопасности, ВТС, образования и культуры, налажено тесное взаимодействие в международных делах. В целом можно сказать, что российско-индонезийские отношения в настоящее время находятся на подъеме. Убеждена, что и в дальнейшем наши совместные усилия будут нацелены на укрепление взаимовыгодных связей между Россией и Индонезией на благо наших народов, в интересах укрепления мира и стабильности в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе и в глобальном масштабе.

Накопленный потенциал двусторонних отношений, их доверительный характер, близость взглядов на происходящие в мире процессы создает хорошую основу для вывода взаимодействия на уровень стратегического партнерства. К сожалению, пандемия COVID-19 несколько отсрочила планы подписания президентами России и Индонезии соответствующей декларации, однако не сомневаюсь, что данное событие произойдет, как только для этого появится возможность.

Вопрос: Индонезия – один из главных торговых партнеров России в Юго-Восточной Азии. В каких секторах торгово-экономического сотрудничества достигнуты наибольшие успехи? Развитие каких секторов является сейчас наиболее приоритетным?

Ответ: По итогам 2019 года российско-индонезийский торговый оборот превысил два млрд долларов США. Конечно же, этого недостаточно, особенно с учетом имеющихся у обеих стран значительных ресурсов и заинтересованности в расширении сотрудничества. Работа по поиску перспективных направлений развития взаимодействия ведется в рамках Российско-индонезийской совместной комиссии по торгово-экономическому и техническому сотрудничеству под руководством сопредседателей Министра торговли и промышленности России Д.Мантурова и Министра-координатора по вопросам экономики Индонезии А.Хартарто и функционирующих под ее эгидой нескольких рабочих групп.

На территории Индонезии реализуется ряд совместных инвестиционных проектов. Самый известный из них – строительство НПЗ в провинции Восточная Ява по линии ПАО "НК "Роснефть". Открываются хорошие возможности для сотрудничества в контексте анонсированных Президентом Индонезии Видодо планов по переносу столицы в провинцию Восточный Калимантан.

Кроме того, к числу перспективных областей сотрудничества можно отнести энергетику, авиа и судостроение, промышленную кооперацию, сферу высоких технологий и другое.

Вопрос: Военно-техническое сотрудничество России и Индонезии осуществляется многие десятилетия. Каково сейчас состояние отношений в этой сфере?

Ответ: Высокий уровень взаимного доверия создает благоприятную атмосферу для продвижения взаимодействия в военной и военно-технической областях. Министр обороны Индонезии П.Субианто уже дважды с начала текущего года побывал в России. В июне по приглашению Министра обороны России С.Шойгу он присутствовал на военном параде на Красной площади, посвященном празднованию 75-летия Победы в Великой Отечественной войне. Регулярно проводятся встречи высшего командного состава, российские военнослужащие участвуют в многосторонних учениях в Индонезии.

В октябре 2019 года был разработан план российско-индонезийского военного сотрудничества на 2020 год, который, в частности, предполагает осуществление заходов кораблей ВМФ России в порты Индонезии, проведение штабных учений, переговоры представителей видов вооруженных сил. Надеемся, что в сложившейся из-за пандемии коронавирусной инфекции ситуации его все же удастся реализовать.

Важной составляющей оборонного взаимодействия остаются поставки российского вооружения и военной техники. Как известно, в 2018 году Индонезия подписала контракт на приобретение 11 многоцелевых истребителей Су-35, переговоры по которому в настоящее время продолжаются.

В целом хорошее качество российской техники и ее конкурентоспособная стоимость обеспечивают высокий интерес к ней со стороны наших индонезийских партнеров. В этой связи Россия по-прежнему является одним из главных поставщиков вооружений в Индонезию.

Вопрос: Культурные связи между нашими странами существовали задолго до установления дипломатических отношений. Как развивается сейчас сотрудничество двух стран в области культурного обмена, образования, спорта?

Ответ: С особым удовлетворением хотела бы отметить развитие гуманитарных связей. В октябре 2018 года был дан старт регулярным прямым авиарейсам по маршруту Москва-Денпасар-Москва, которые выполняет компания "Россия". В частности, благодаря этому за последние годы количество российских туристов, посещающих Индонезию, возросло в два раза, составив в прошлом году 160 тыс человек.

Активизируются культурные обмены. Так, 70-летие установления дипломатических отношений было ознаменовано проведением в Национальной галерее в Джакарте выставки произведений российских художников "Ожерелье экватора", которую осмотрели более 5 тыс человек. В свою очередь, в Москве ежегодно проходит "Фестиваль Индонезии", вызывающий неизменный интерес у москвичей и гостей столицы.

Большой потенциал существует в сфере образования. Правительство Российской Федерации предоставляет более 160 стипендий для обучения индонезийских студентов в российских вузах, однако число заинтересованных в получении образования в нашей стране значительно превышает эту квоту. Сегодня в университетах России проходят обучение более 600 граждан Индонезии.

Рада тому, что все большее число индонезийцев с интересом и вниманием относятся к России, ее истории и культуре, активно посещают нашу страну, знакомятся с ее обычаями и традициями, формируют собственное мнение о ней.

Вопрос: Как граждане России и соотечественники, проживающие в Индонезии, справляются с вызовами, связанными с пандемией COVID-19 и ограничительными мерами, действующими из-за пандемии?

Ответ: Со времени появления первых инфицированных в Джакарте в марте индонезийские власти незамедлительно начали принимать меры по предотвращению дальнейшего распространения коронавирусной инфекции в стране. Поэтапно вводились различные ограничения, в том числе на транспорте.

На момент прекращения Россией международного авиасообщения в Индонезии, прежде всего на острове Бали, находились около шести тысяч наших соотечественников, у многих из которых оказались просроченными визы. Благодаря в том числе усилиям посольства, местные иммиграционные службы пошли навстречу застрявшим здесь россиянам, отменив штрафы за нарушение визового режима. За эти месяцы российскими авиакомпаниями было осуществлено 14 вывозных рейсов, что позволило большей части сограждан вернуться на родину. Многим из тех, кто оказался в трудном положении, была оказана материальная помощь. К счастью, ни у кого из россиян, находящихся в Индонезии, коронавирусной инфекции выявлено не было.

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+62 21 522-29-12
+62 21 522-29-14
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж