Asset Publisher

22 June 202020:13

Comment by Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Maria Zakharova on the role and responsibility of Britain, Germany and France in preserving the nuclear deal with Iran

963-22-06-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On June 19, the foreign ministers of Britain, Germany and France published a statement on their assessment of the current status and prospects of implementing the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) on the Iranian nuclear programme. Some provisions of this statement are bound to evoke questions about the intentions of our European colleagues in this area.

Russia has always appreciated the meaningful efforts and specific contribution of the two EU countries and Britain regarding our common efforts to preserve and steadily implement the JCPOA. All complications and failures in carrying out a nuclear deal with Iran have been created by the subversive activities of the US that has unilaterally walked out from the JCPOA and continues to systematically violate the requirements of UN Security Council Resolution 2231. Apparently, this is understood in the European capitals as well since they deemed it necessary to reiterate their regrets and concerns on this score.

At the same time, the assurances of our British, German and French colleagues in their commitment to the JCPOA and a search for solutions that can alleviate the negative impact of US sanctions against Iran, are not consistent with their attempts to fuel tensions around Iran’s nuclear programme in the IAEA and their discourse on launching “the dispute resolution mechanism” envisaged by paragraph 36 of the JCPOA.

We understand that Berlin, London and Paris are disappointed by the absence of consensus on their anti-Iranian resolution in the IAEA Board of Governors. We and our Chinese colleagues warned the authors in advance that their initiative is counterproductive because it opens the way for relaunching the Iranian file in the IAEA and creating subsequent tensions in the UN Security Council. We tried to convince them that the resolution will do no good, that it will harm our common efforts to stabilise the situation around the JCPOA. We repeatedly urged the two EU countries and Britain not to play up to the advocates of the policy of exerting maximum pressure on Iran, a policy which has completely discredited itself both politically and practically.

The adoption of the resolution by the IAEA Board of Governors was not prompted by the real state of affairs in the use of safeguards in the IRI. We are convinced that all questions arising, including agreement on access to the facilities that are of interest to the IAEA, may be resolved during routine cooperation between the states concerned and the IAEA Secretariat. It is no accident that the resolution failed to receive support from the states representing more than half of the world’s population, including two permanent UN Security Council members.

As for another round of discourse of the two EU states and Britain on “the dispute resolution mechanism,” let’s recall that our European colleagues tried to initiate it without success last January. However, it was not launched due to numerous procedural failures. The joint commission did not hold any meetings in this regard. No decisions on launching this mechanism were adopted and no ways of overcoming this deadlock suggested.

We hope Berlin, London and Paris will give priority to the urgent tasks of preserving the JCPOA and returning its implementation into the initially agreed upon channel. We consider it important for all current participants to reaffirm their commitment to the challenging targets of the JCPOA. The approach of the JCPOA’s fifth anniversary seems to offer a good opportunity for this. We urge the European participants in the comprehensive agreements to use this opportunity to return to the unifying agenda and continue fighting for the common cause.

 

 

 

Calendar

x
x

Archive

Advanced settings

Публикатор

22.06.2020:13

Комментарий официального представителя МИД России М.В.Захаровой о роли и ответственности Великобритании, Германии и Франции за сохранение «ядерной сделки» с Ираном

963-22-06-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

19 июня министры иностранных дел Великобритании, Германии и Франции опубликовали заявление, в котором представили свою оценку состояния дел и перспектив реализации Совместного всеобъемлющего плана действий по урегулированию вокруг иранской программы (СВПД). Некоторые положения этого заявления не могут не вызывать вопросы в отношении дальнейших намерений европейских коллег на этом направлении.

Российская сторона всегда отдавала должное содержательным усилиям и конкретному вкладу «евродвойки» и Великобритании в решение стоящих перед нами всеми задач по сохранению и бесперебойной реализации СВПД. Первопричиной всех сложностей и сбоев в процессе осуществления «ядерной сделки» с Ираном были и остаются подрывные действия США, которые в одностороннем порядке вышли из СВПД и по сей день продолжают систематически нарушать требования резолюции СБ ООН 2231. Видимо, это понимают и в европейских столицах, поскольку сочли необходимым напомнить о своих сожалениях и озабоченностях на этот счёт.

Вместе с тем уверения британских, германских и французских коллег в приверженности СВПД и поиску развязок, позволяющих снизить негативное воздействие американских санкций против Ирана, не вяжутся с их действиями по нагнетанию напряжённости вокруг иранской ядерной программы в МАГАТЭ, а также спекуляциями на тему запуска предусмотренного параграфом 36 СВПД «механизма разрешения споров» (to initiate dispute resolution mechanism).

Понимаем, что в Берлине, Лондоне и Париже разочарованы отсутствием консенсуса по предложенной ими антииранской резолюции Совета управляющих (СУ) МАГАТЭ. Мы вместе с китайскими партнёрами заранее предупреждали авторов о контрпродуктивности этой затеи, которая открывает дорогу к перезапуску «иранского досье» в Агентстве с последующей эскалацией в СБ ООН. Убеждали, что резолюция пойдёт только во вред, в том числе для наших общих с Ираном усилий по стабилизации вокруг СВПД. Неоднократно призывали «евродвойку» и Великобританию не подыгрывать сторонникам политики максимального давления на Иран, которая полностью себя дискредитировала как политически, так и в практическом плане.

Принятие резолюции СУ МАГАТЭ по Ирану не было продиктовано реальным состоянием дел в области применения гарантий в ИРИ. Уверены, что все возникающие вопросы, включая согласование режима доступа на интересующие Агентство объекты, могут быть разрешены в рамках стандартных процедур взаимодействия между государствами и Секретариатом МАГАТЭ. Не случайно в итоге резолюция не была поддержана государствами, представляющими более половины населения мира, включая двух постоянных членов СБ ООН.

Что касается очередных рассуждений «евродвойки» и Великобритании о «механизме разрешения споров», то напомним, что европейские коллеги безуспешно пытались активизировать его в январе нынешнего года. Однако «часы» так и не были включены из-за обнаружившихся многочисленных процедурных пробелов. Совместная комиссия по этому поводу не собиралась. Никаких решений о запуске в итоге принять не получилось, и выход из этого процедурного тупика не просматривается.

Надеемся, что во главе линии Берлина, Лондона и Парижа будут актуальные задачи сохранения СВПД и возвращения процесса его реализации в изначально согласованные рамки. Считаем важным, чтобы все нынешние участники подтвердили неизменную приверженность поставленным в СВПД высоким целям. Хорошим поводом для этого видится предстоящее 14 июля пятилетие с момента заключения СВПД. Призываем европейских участников всеобъемлющих договорённостей использовать эту возможность, чтобы вернуться к объединительной повестке дня и продолжить борьбу за общее дело.

Календарь

x
x

Архив

Дополнительные инструменты поиска