20 October 202017:55

Foreign Ministry Spokeswoman Maria Zakharova’s comment on the criminal charges brought against Russian citizens by the American authorities

1776-20-10-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

The US administration has once again made news with another anti-Russia attack, accusing our government agencies of malicious activities in the field of information and communications technology.

First, Assistant Attorney General for National Security at the US Department of Justice John Demers announced the filing of criminal charges against six Russian nationals allegedly employed by the Russian special services, with Secretary of State Mike Pompeo seconding that statement.

As usual, no evidence has been presented, except for the hackneyed phrases about Russia’s “implication” in a wide range of destructive activities in the information landscape.

We categorically reject this kind of speculation. Russian state agencies have nothing to do with any malicious activity on the internet, as Washington is trying to portray. It is obvious that there are opportunistic political considerations behind this move, the US Russophobic forces’ interest in keeping the “Russian threat” theme afloat in the midst of the US presidential election campaign.

Our position on building interaction in cyber affairs has been repeatedly announced, including at the highest level. In particular, it is spelled out in the statement by the President of Russia of September 25, 2020 on a comprehensive programme of measures to restore Russian-American cooperation in international information security.

We can only regret that, judging by the US high-ranking officials’ rhetoric, our approaches are not shared; our partners are not ready for cooperation on an equal and mutually respectful basis.

We would like to emphasise that the statements by the representative of the US Department of Justice, who referred to the aforementioned statement by Russian President Vladimir Putin as “cynical propaganda,” were, in fact, Washington’s first public response to our call for cooperation. It is indicative that the Americans chose to respond to the Russian leader’s proposal at the level of a deputy head of a federal department, not even a specialised one.

x
x
Advanced settings

20.10.2017:55

Комментарий официального представителя МИД России М.В.Захаровой в связи с выдвижением американскими властями уголовных обвинений в отношении российских граждан

1776-20-10-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Администрация США в очередной раз отметилась антироссийским выпадом, обвинив наши правительственные структуры в злонамеренной деятельности в области информационно-коммуникационных технологий.

Сначала замминистра юстиции США Дж.Демерс, а вслед за ним Госсекретарь М.Помпео объявили о выдвижении уголовных обвинений в отношении шести российских граждан, являющихся якобы сотрудниками российских спецслужб.

Как обычно, никаких доказательств не представлено. Растиражированы избитые тезисы о «причастности» нашей страны к широкому спектру деструктивных действий в информационном пространстве.

Категорически отвергаем подобного рода домыслы. Российские государственные структуры не имеют никакого отношения к вредоносной деятельности в Интернете, как это пытаются представить в Вашингтоне. Очевидно, что за этим стоят соображения конъюнктурного политического характера, стремление русофобских сил в США «поддерживать на плаву» тему «российской угрозы» в самый разгар предвыборной президентской кампании.

Наша позиция к выстраиванию взаимодействия в киберделах неоднократно озвучивалась, в том числе на высшем уровне. В частности, она сформулирована в заявлении Президента Российской Федерации от 25 сентября 2020 г. о комплексной программе мер по восстановлению российско-американского сотрудничества в области международной информационной безопасности.

Остается только сожалеть, что, судя по риторике высокопоставленных чиновников Администрации, там наши подходы не разделяют и не готовы к сотрудничеству на равноправной и взаимоуважительной основе.

Особо хотели бы подчеркнуть, что высказывания представителя Минюста США, который охарактеризовал упомянутое заявление Президента России В.В.Путина как «циничную пропаганду», стали, по сути, первой публичной реакцией Вашингтона на наш призыв к взаимодействию. Показательно, что американцы предпочли отреагировать на предложение российского лидера на уровне замглавы федерального ведомства, причем не профильного.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска