9 December 202020:25

Comment by the Foreign Ministry’s Spokeswoman Maria Zakharova on the signing of the Memorandum of Understanding with the UN’s World Food Programme school nutrition programmes in Cuba and Nicaragua

2164-09-12-2020

  • ru-RU1 en-GB1 es-ES1

 

On December 8, Viktor Vasiliev, Russia’s Permanent Representative to the FAO and Other UN Agencies in Rome, signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the UN World Food Programme on the procedure for transferring and spending the Russian Federation’s $10 million donation on the development of sustainable school nutrition systems in Cuba and Nicaragua in 2020-2023.

The parties are implementing this project under the April 2019 Strategic Partnership Agreement between the Government of the Russian Federation and the World Food Programme. The project will make it possible to provide children from the neediest families in Cuba and Nicaragua with healthy and free lunches at schools. This is particularly important during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and will help reduce child disease and mortality rates, as well as the scale of child labour.

The Russian Federation will continue to actively cooperate with the World Food Programme in providing emergency food assistance to the population of the neediest countries. These priorities include Central Asian countries, Syria, Yemen and African states.

Considering UN forecasts, as regards an aggravated humanitarian situation in 2021, Russia, as a responsible member of the international community, will continue to strengthen cooperation with the World Food Programme, which was awarded the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize for its outstanding contribution to the fight against famine during crises.

x
x
Advanced settings

9.12.2020:25

Комментарий официального представителя МИД России М.В.Захаровой в связи с подписанием Меморандума о взаимопонимании с Всемирной продовольственной программой ООН (ВПП) относительно поддержки программ школьного питания на Кубе и в Никарагуа

2164-09-12-2020

  • ru-RU1 en-GB1 es-ES1

8 декабря в режиме видеоконференции Постоянный представитель России при ФАО и других международных организациях в Риме В.Л.Васильев подписал Меморандум о взаимопонимании с ВПП о порядке перечисления и расходования целевого добровольного взноса Российской Федерации в размере 10 млн долл. США на развитие систем устойчивого школьного питания на Кубе и в Никарагуа в период 2020-2023 гг.

Данный проект реализуется в рамках Соглашения о стратегическом партнерстве между Правительством Российской Федерации и ВПП, заключенного в апреле 2019 г. Он позволит обеспечить детей из наиболее нуждающихся семей на Кубе и в Никарагуа полноценным бесплатным питанием в школах. Это особенно важно в условиях продолжающейся пандемии COVID-19 и будет способствовать снижению уровня детской заболеваемости и смертности, а также сокращению масштабов детского труда.

Российская Федерация продолжит активно взаимодействовать с ВПП в вопросах оказания срочной продовольственной помощи населению наиболее нуждающихся стран. В ряду таких приоритетов – страны Центральной Азии, Сирия, Йемен, африканские государства.

Учитывая прогнозы ООН в отношении усугубления глобальной гуманитарной ситуации в 2021 г. Россия как ответственный участник международного сообщества продолжит укреплять взаимодействие с ВПП, удостоившейся в этом году Нобелевской премии мира за выдающийся вклад в борьбу с голодом в условиях кризисов.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска