10 April 201418:19

Comment by the Information and Press Department of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs regarding the implementation of the Montreux Convention by Turkey

824-10-04-2014

  • en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Recent statements by the representative of the Turkish Ministry of Foreign Affairs that the statements by the Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, regarding the non-implementation of several provisions of the Montreux Convention by Turkey "are not true at all" are extremely puzzling.

The Montreux Convention envisages a range of restrictions for sojourns of military ships of non-riparian states in the Black Sea. In particular, irrespective of the purpose of entry, according to Art. 18(2) of the Montreux Convention such ships cannot remain in the Black Sea for more than twenty-one days.

The facts are evidence that the USS Taylor frigate of the US Navy entered the Black Sea on the 5 February and left via the Mediterranean Sea on the 9 March, thus exceeding the maximum admissible deadline by 11 days and this, therefore, is a violation of the Convention. At the same time Turkey has not informed us about such a delay.

For our part, we reported our concerns to the United States and Turkey in the form of verbal notes.

We believe that Turkey, as well as other non-riparian states, will strictly observe their obligations under the Convention in future.

10 April 2014

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

10.04.1418:19

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России по вопросу о выполнении Турцией Конвенции Монтрё

824-10-04-2014

  • en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Недавнее высказывание представителя МИД Турции о том, что заявление Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации C.B.Лаврова о невыполнении турецкой стороной ряда положений Конвенции Монтрё «никоим образом не соответствуют действительности», вызывает крайнее недоумение.

Конвенция Монтрё предусматривает ряд ограничений на пребывание военных кораблей неприбрежных государств в Черном море. В частности, вне зависимости от цели захода в соответствии с п.2 ст.18 Конвенции Монтрё такие корабли не могут оставаться в Черном море более двадцати одного дня.

Факты говорят о том, что фрегат ВМС США «USS Taylor» вошел в Черное море 5 февраля, а убыл в Средиземное море 9 марта с.г., что на 11 суток превысило максимально допустимый срок и, соответственно, является нарушением Конвенции. При этом турецкая сторона своевременно не проинформировала нас о данной задержке.

Со своей стороны, довели наши озабоченности до сведения как американской, так и турецкой сторон в форме вербальных нот.

Исходим из того, что Турция, а также неприбрежные государства в дальнейшем будут строго выполнять свои обязательства по Конвенции.

10 апреля 2014 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска