15 August 201917:19

Publications on Afghanistan’s presidential election of September 28, 2019

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Recently, a number of media outlets have reported that Russia is backing former National Security Advisor to the President of Afghanistan Haneef Atmar as presidential candidate in the election scheduled for September 28 and allegedly has directed about $60 million to his campaign.

The authors and the publications they work for do not bother to present evidence to support their claims, but rely instead entirely on rumour and speculation. And they are open about it in their reporting. The position taken by the journalists is surprising, and their motives are hard to understand, because there is no truth to the claims. We see these articles as an attempt to turn certain political forces in Afghanistan against Russia.

It can be stated with certainty that Russia has not and will not support any candidates in the upcoming presidential election in Afghanistan, as it is a purely domestic affair. However, we are closely following developments in the country and hope that political processes unfolding there will ultimately lead to lasting peace and national accord.

 

http://www.ng.ru/world/2019-08-01/100_afganistan010819.htm

Additional materials

Photos

15.08.1917:19

О публикациях вокруг предстоящих 28 сентября 2019 г. президентских выборов в Афганистане

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

В последнее время в некоторых СМИ затрагивалась тема поддержки Россией кандидатуры бывшего советника Президента Афганистана по национальной безопасности Х.Атмара на предстоящих 28 сентября с.г. президентских выборах в этой стране и даже якобы выделения около 60 млн долл. США на цели его предвыборной кампании.

Обращает на себя внимание, что публикующие подобную информацию авторы и издания не утруждают себя приведением доказательств, подтверждающих ее достоверность, а ориентируются исключительно на слухи и домыслы. Причем об этом пишут открыто. Позиция таких авторов вызывает удивление, а их мотивы – непонимание, поскольку все это не соответствует действительности. Усматриваем в этих публикациях попытку поссорить определенные политические силы афганского общества с нашей страной.

Со всей ответственностью заявляем, что российская сторона не поддерживала и не поддерживает кого-либо из кандидатов на предстоящих президентских выборах в Афганистане, считая эти выборы сугубо внутренним делом афганцев. При этом мы внимательно следим за развитием событий в этой стране и рассчитываем, что происходящие в ней политические процессы в конечном счете приведут к установлению прочного мира и национального согласия.

 

http://www.ng.ru/world/2019-08-01/100_afganistan010819.html

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии