6 July 201720:33

Euronews item covering the situation in Venezuela

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

We have taken note of the Euronews report aired on July 6 “Venezuela: Protesters storm National Assembly.” It says that a day earlier President Maduro’s supporters wielding sticks and pipe cutoffs stormed the National Assembly and physically attacked the opposition deputies. As a result, a number of legislators have been wounded, and some of them are in critical condition.

On the very day of the incident, President Maduro officially condemned the attack on the oppositional National Assembly and initiated an investigation. He said: “I launch an investigation to bring justice, I myself will never be an accomplice to violence.”

Apparently, the Euronews journalists opted to ignore the stand voiced by the head of state, and covered the incident from the point of view of only one side, the opposition. The professional media community classifies this as “deliberately biased, lopsided coverage of facts.” It is common knowledge that such tricks lead to a misinterpretation of the events described.

We urge the TV channel to give up its politically motivated approach in covering sensitive issues of domestic policy in other countries and go back to the standards of objective, responsible journalism.

http://ru.euronews.com/2017/07/06/venezuela-unrest

Additional materials

Photos

6.07.1720:33

О новостном сюжете «Евроньюс» о ситуации в Венесуэле

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Обратили внимание на новость на телеканале «Евроньюс» от 6 июля с.г. «Венесуэла: потасовка в парламенте». В ней подчеркивается, что накануне, 5 июля вооруженные обрезками труб и дубинками сторонники Президента Венесуэлы Н.Мадуро ворвались в здание парламента страны и устроили физическую расправу над оппозиционными депутатами. В итоге, среди законодателей имеются пострадавшие, в том числе тяжело раненые.

Непосредственно в день инцидента Президент Венесуэлы Н.Мадуро выступил с официальным осуждением совершенного нападения на оппозиционную Национальную ассамблею и назначил соответствующее расследование. Он заявил: «Назначаю расследование, чтобы свершилось правосудие, сам я никогда не стану соучастником насилия».

Журналисты «Евроньюс», очевидно, предпочли проигнорировать озвученную главой государства позицию и подробно осветили инцидент в парламенте с точки зрения только одной, оппозиционной стороны. В профессиональном медиа-сообществе такой прием характеризуется как «намеренно предвзятая, однобокая подача фактов». Общеизвестно, что подобные уловки ведут к искаженной интерпретации описываемых событий.

Призываем сотрудников телеканала отказаться от заангажированных подходов при освещении чувствительных сюжетов зарубежной внутриполитической жизни и вернуться к стандартам объективной, ответственной журналистики.

http://ru.euronews.com/2017/07/06/venezuela-unrest

 

 

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии