Asset Publisher

12 April 201610:51

Comment by the Information and Press Department on the entry into force of the Amendment to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material

696-12-04-2016

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Russia welcomes the upcoming entry into force of the 2005 Amendment to the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM). Thanks to the consolidated efforts of many IAEA member states, including Russia, considerable progress has been achieved in strengthening this key international legal mechanism in the sphere of physical nuclear safety. We consider it to be of exceptional importance that nearly all the main countries that are developing peaceful nuclear energy and are involved in international cooperation in this sphere have ratified the Amendment.

The Amendment will enter into force 30 days after the completion of all the established procedures. Russia accepted the Amendment on September 19, 2008, and has successfully implemented the instruments stipulated in it. We are willing to share our experience with all countries interested in this process.

The upcoming entry of the Amendment into force will considerably expand the sphere of application of the convention and makes it legally binding for all states that are party to the CPPNM to ensure safe protection of nuclear facilities and materials, used for peaceful purposes, during their operation, storage and transportation within national borders. We proceed from the assumption that the amended and strengthened convention will become even more effective in fighting nuclear terrorism and illicit trafficking in nuclear materials.

The implementation of the amended convention will set new goals for the member states, primarily at the national level, in providing safe physical protection of nuclear material. They must also continue to maintain the convention’s integrity and the all-embracing commitments ensuing from it. We urge all states that are party to the convention that have not yet done so to ratify the amendment as soon as possible in order to facilitate the effective and comprehensive implementation of the amended convention.

Calendar

x
x

Archive

Advanced settings

Публикатор

12.04.1610:51

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с предстоящим вступлением в силу Поправки к Конвенции о физической защите ядерного материала

696-12-04-2016

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Россия приветствует предстоящее вступление в силу принятой в 2005 г. Поправки к Конвенции о физической защите ядерного материала. Благодаря консолидированным усилиям многих государств-членов МАГАТЭ, включая нашу страну, достигнут ощутимый прогресс в деле укрепления ключевого международно-правового механизма в сфере физической ядерной безопасности. Считаем исключительно важным, что за последнее время к Поправке смогли присоединиться почти все основные страны, активно развивающие мирный атом и участвующие в международном сотрудничестве на этом направлении.

Поправка должна вступить в силу спустя тридцать дней после завершения всех установленных для этого процедур. Россия присоединилась к этому документу 19 сентября 2008 года. Предусмотренные Поправкой механизмы у нас введены в действие и успешно функционируют. Готовы поделиться соответствующим опытом с любыми заинтересованными странами.

Предстоящее вступление Поправки в силу значительно расширяет сферу применения Конвенции и делает юридически обязательным для государств-членов обеспечение защиты ядерных установок и материалов, применяемых в мирных целях, при их использовании, хранении и перевозке внутри государств. Исходим из того, что обновленная и усиленная дополнительными элементами Конвенция станет еще более эффективным инструментом в противодействии ядерному терроризму и борьбе с незаконным оборотом ядерных материалов.

Запуск механизма осуществления обновленной Конвенции ставит перед государствами-участниками новые задачи, прежде всего на национальном уровне, по обеспечению и поддержанию надежной физической защиты ядерного материала. При этом требуются дальнейшие настойчивые усилия для обеспечения целостности Конвенции и универсальности вытекающих из нее обязательств. Призываем все государства-участники Конвенции, которые этого еще пока не сделали, как можно скорее ратифицировать Поправку к ней с тем, чтобы гарантировать эффективное и полноценное осуществление обновленной Конвенции.

Календарь

x
x

Архив

Дополнительные инструменты поиска