28 March 201711:57

Press release on Deputy Foreign Minister Mikhail Bogdanov’s meeting with Secretary-General of the Arab League Ahmed Aboul Gheit

600-28-03-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

 

On March 27, Deputy Foreign Minister and Special Presidential Representative for the Middle East and Africa Mikhail Bogdanov met with Secretary-General of the Arab League Ahmed Aboul Gheit. The meeting took place on the Dead Sea (Jordan) ahead of the Arab League summit.

The two diplomats discussed the developments in the Middle East and North Africa with regard to the need to consolidate international efforts in order to overcome military and political crises in the region’s countries. Mr Bogdanov and Mr Gheit emphasised the need to effectively counteract terrorism and extremism in accordance with the UN Charter and international law principles.

The meeting participants also discussed prospects for the Palestine-Israel settlement based on the documents of the Arab Peace Initiative and the relevant UN resolutions.

The officials also emphasised the need to strengthen the mechanisms of interaction between Russia and the Arab League on the current regional and global agenda, as well as to boost the efforts to expand multifaceted Russian-Arab cooperation.

Additional materials

Photos

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

28.03.1711:57

О встрече спецпредставителя Президента Российской Федерации по Ближнему Востоку и странам Африки, заместителя Министра иностранных дел России М.Л.Богданова с Генеральным секретарем Лиги арабских государств А.Абуль-Гейтом

600-28-03-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

 

27 марта на Мертвом море (Иордания) накануне очередного саммита Лиги арабских государств состоялась встреча специального представителя Президента Российской Федерации по Ближнему Востоку и странам Африки, заместителя Министра иностранных дел России М.Л.Богданова с Генеральным секретарем ЛАГ А.Абуль-Гейтом.

В ходе беседы была обсуждена складывающаяся ситуация на Ближнем Востоке и в Северной Африке с упором на задачу консолидации международных усилий в целях содействия преодолению военно-политических кризисов в странах региона. При этом отмечена необходимость эффективной борьбы с терроризмом и экстремизмом на базе Устава ООН и принципов международного права.

Обсуждались также перспективы палестино-израильского урегулирования на основе положений Арабской мирной инициативы и соответствующих резолюций ООН.

Отмечена важность укрепления механизмов взаимодействия между Российской Федерацией и ЛАГ по актуальной региональной и глобальной проблематике, а также наращивания совместной работы в интересах дальнейшего расширения многопланового российско-арабского сотрудничества.

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска