10 November 200222:13

STATEMENT BY RUSSIA'S MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS CONCERNING UN SECURITY COUNCIL'S ADOPTION OF RESOLUTION ON IRAQ

2297-08-11-2002

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Unofficial translation from Russian

STATEMENT BY RUSSIA'S MINISTRY OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS

Concerning UN Security Council's Adoption of Resolution on Iraq

On November 8, the United Nations Security Council unanimously adopted Resolution 1441 on the resumption of UN inspection activity in Iraq with a view to implementing the previous UNSC decisions on the liquidation and non-reproduction of the weapons of mass destruction and their delivery vehicles potential of Iraq.

The resolution's adoption was preceded by protracted and intense consultations, held with the most active participation of Russia.

As is known, after Iraq's unconditional consent to the resumption of international inspections without any conditions Russia favored the immediate deployment in Iraq of the work of the United Nations Inspection Commission (UNMOVIC) and IAEA, proceeding from the assumption that all the necessary legal basis for their activity was already provided by previous UNSC resolutions. Yet, mindful of the disposition of most Council members as well as of the leaders of UNMOVIC AND IAEA, we agreed to join in the work on the new draft resolution. In so doing Russia firmly outlined its basic approaches. The new resolution must contain no provisions allowing for an automatic unilateral use of force, nor any obviously unfeasible demands on Iraq. It must fit in with the searches for a comprehensive settlement of the Iraq problem and not lead to an undermining of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of this state.

As a result of the intensive work by Russia, France and China, with the support from other UN Security Council members, it had been possible to achieve a substantial alteration of the original draft and to exclude from it unacceptable formulations for us.

In the adopted resolution there is no automatism in the sanctioning of the use of force. It envisages that should problems arise the UN Security Council will convene to examine the situation that has evolved and to work out further actions. Thus, a final decision remains to be made by this principal body in the sphere of international peace and security. This is of fundamental importance for the strengthening of the present-day world order on the basis of the Charter of the United Nations. It is equally important that the resolution affirms the commitment of all UN member countries to observe the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Iraq and all states of the region, and clearly records the necessity of completely implementing Resolution 1382, in which the Security Council members undertook to seek a comprehensive settlement of the Iraq problem, which presupposes the lifting of sanctions as well.

The procedures of inspection, approved by the resolution, generally comply with UN standards, and are necessary solely for speedily achieving the aims of the non-resumption of Iraqi WMD programs.

The formulations of the resolution were the product of the most complicated work in the UN Security Council and reflect the compromise achieved. The most important thing is that the resolution wards off the real threat of war and opens up the way for further work in the interest of a politico-diplomatic settlement of the situation around Iraq. Russia has made a principled choice in its support, guided by its special responsibility as a Security Council permanent member for the maintenance of peace and security.

We are convinced that implementing this resolution will require of all the participants in the Iraqi settlement process the will and readiness to concentrate on advancing the common aims. Russia, for its part, will contribute to this in every way possible.

November 8, 2002

x
x
Advanced settings

10.11.0222:13

ЗАЯВЛЕНИЕ МИНИСТЕРСТВА ИНОСТРАННЫХ ДЕЛ РОССИИ О ПРИНЯТИИ РЕЗОЛЮЦИИ СБ ООН ПО ИРАКУ

2297-08-11-2002

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

8 ноября 2002 года Совет Безопасности ООН единогласно принял резолюцию 1441 о возобновлении инспекционной деятельности ООН в Ираке в целях выполнения предыдущих решений СБ ООН по вопросам ликвидации и невоспроизводства иракского потенциала оружия массового уничтожения и средств его доставки.

Принятию резолюции предшествовали продолжительные и напряжённые консультации, проходившие при самом активном участии России.

Как известно, после безоговорочного согласия Ирака на возобновление международных инспекций без каких-либо условий Россия выступала за немедленное развертывание в Ираке работы Комиссии ООН по инспекциям (ЮНМОВИК) и МАГАТЭ, исходя из того, что вся необходимая правовая база для их деятельности уже создана предыдущими решениями СБ ООН. Вместе с тем, учитывая настрой большинства членов Совета, а также руководителей ЮНМОВИК и МАГАТЭ, мы согласились включиться в работу над новым проектом резолюции. При этом Россия твёрдо обозначила свои принципиальные подходы. Новая резолюция не должна содержать положений, допускающих автоматическое одностороннее применение силы, и заведомо невыполнимые требования к Ираку. Она должна вписываться в поиски всеобъемлющего урегулирования иракской проблемы и не вести к подрыву суверенитета и территориальной целостности этого государства.

В результате интенсивной работы России, Франции, Китая при поддержке других членов СБ ООН удалось добиться существенного видоизменения первоначального проекта, исключить из него неприемлемые для нас формулировки.

В принятой резолюции нет автоматизма в санкционировании использования силы. Предусматривается, что в случае возникновения проблем Совет Безопасности ООН соберётся для рассмотрения сложившейся ситуации и выработки дальнейших действий. Таким образом, окончательное решение остаётся за этим главным органом в сфере международного мира и безопасности. Это имеет принципиальное значение для укрепления современного миропорядка на основе Устава ООН. Важно также, что в резолюции подтверждена приверженность всех стран - членов ООН соблюдению суверенитета и территориальной целостности Ирака и всех государств региона, чётко зафиксирована необходимость полного выполнения резолюции 1382, в которой члены СБ обязались добиваться всеобъемлющего урегулирования иракской проблемы, что предполагает и снятие санкций.

Утверждённые резолюцией процедуры инспекций в целом соответствуют ооновским стандартам и необходимы исключительно для скорейшего достижения целей невозобновления иракских программ ОМУ.

Формулировки резолюции явились результатом сложнейшей работы в СБ ООН и отражают достигнутый компромисс. Главное, что резолюция отводит реальную угрозу существования войны и открывает путь для дальнейшей работы в интересах политико-дипломатического урегулирования ситуации вокруг Ирака. Россия сделала принципиальный выбор в её поддержку, руководствуясь своей особой ответственностью как постоянного члена СБ за поддержание мира и безопасности.

Мы убеждены, что осуществление данной резолюции потребует от всех участников процесса иракского урегулирования воли и готовности сосредоточиться на продвижении общих целей. Россия, со своей стороны, будет этому всемерно содействовать.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска