3 July 202017:30

Press release on Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s meeting with President of the Libyan House of Representatives Aguila Saleh Issa

1021-03-07-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On July 3, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov met with President of the Libyan House of Representatives Aguila Saleh Issa, who is in Moscow on a working visit at the invitation of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation. During the conversation the parties had an in-depth discussion of the military-political developments in Libya.  

The Russian Foreign Minister stressed the importance of a prompt cessation of hostilities and a launch of inclusive dialogue with all leading political forces and public movements in Libya. In this context, principled support was expressed for the Cairo Declaration of June 6, 2020, which lays the foundation for streamlining intra-Libyan talks under UN aegis in order to work out compromise solutions to the existing disagreements, establishing single executive bodies of state authority and achieving a comprehensive national reconciliation in the interests of securing the country’s territorial integrity and sovereignty. 

The officials also discussed the need to consolidate international efforts for advancing the Libyan settlement based on the decisions of the Berlin International Conference on Libya of January 19 and UNSC Resolution 2510. In this regard, a special urgency was stressed for appointing a new UN Secretary-General Representative for Libya.

While discussing a range of issues of Russian-Libyan relations, Sergey Lavrov said the Russian Embassy to Libya will resume operation while temporarily based in Tunisia, and reaffirmed the readiness of Russian economic operators to boost their activities in Libya as the situation normalises. 

 

 

 

x
x
Advanced settings

3.07.2017:30

О встрече Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова с Председателем Палаты депутатов Ливии Агилой Салехом

1021-03-07-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

 

3 июля Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров встретился с Председателем Палаты депутатов Ливии А.Салехом, находящимся в Москве с рабочим визитом по приглашению Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации. В ходе беседы состоялся углубленный обмен мнениями относительно развития военно-политической ситуации в Ливии.

При этом с российской стороны была акцентирована важность безотлагательного прекращения боевых действий и запуска инклюзивного диалога с участием всех ведущих ливийских политсил и общественных движений. В этом контексте была выражена принципиальная поддержка «Каирской декларации» от 6 июня с.г., создающей основу для налаживания под эгидой ООН межливийских переговоров с целью выработки компромиссных решений имеющихся разногласий, формирования в Ливии единых государственных органов власти и достижения всеобъемлющего национального примирения в интересах обеспечения территориальной целостности и суверенитета страны.

Были также обсуждены задачи консолидации международных усилий в поддержку ливийского урегулирования при опоре на решения Международной конференции по Ливии, состоявшейся в Берлине 19 января с.г., и резолюцию 2510 СБ ООН. В этой связи отмечалась особая актуальность назначения нового спецпредставителя Генсекретаря ООН по Ливии.

При рассмотрении комплекса вопросов россииско-ливийских отношений С.В.Лавров сообщил о возобновлении работы Посольства России в Ливии, которое будет временно базироваться в Тунисе, и подтвердил готовность российских экономоператоров активизировать свою деятельность в Ливии по мере нормализации обстановки.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска