25 June 202012:31

Remarks by Russian Permanent Representative to UN Vasily Nebenzya on behalf of Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov at the UN Security Council’s open videoconference on the Middle East situation, including the Palestinian issue

976-25-06-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Mr Chairperson,

First of all, I would like to say that we join the condolences that were offered earlier today to Permanent Representative Djani, Minister Marsudi and all the Indonesian people over the tragic death of an Indonesian peacekeeper.  

Mr Chairperson,

We welcome the high representatives, who are taking part in today’s UN Security Council videoconference regarding the situation in the Middle East. We would like to thank the UN Secretary-General, Special Coordinator Nickolay Mladenov, and Secretary-General of the Arab League Ahmed Aboul Gheit for their briefings.   

Mr Chairperson,

Today, I am honoured to read out the remarks made by Foreign Minister of Russia Sergey Lavrov, who was unable to attend this session in person.  As is common knowledge, Russia is celebrating the 75th anniversary of the end of the Great Patriotic War and Mr Lavrov is taking part in the festive events.

“Mr Chairperson,

During these difficult times, when the world is desperately looking for ways to cope with the COVID-19 pandemic and overcoming its consequences, the international community must not forget about a problem that, despite decades of efforts, is still awaiting a fair solution. The Palestinian-Israeli settlement is a key to addressing many other Middle East problems and to establishing a lasting, just, long-term and comprehensive peace in this region. The Palestinian issue, which is practically a coeval of the United Nations, is requiring our special and urgent attention.

We are on the threshold, literally within a few days, of a decision that may undermine the efforts to achieve a just and stable Middle East settlement. On July 1, the Israeli Parliament can launch the process of annexation of the occupied Palestinian territories on the West bank of the Jordan River. This is likely to be one of the most serious challenges to the Palestinian cause and the region as a whole.

As a permanent member of the UN Security Council and a member of the Quartet of international intermediaries, Russia has been in favour of renouncing any unilateral actions or plans, which, as is evident from history, are unable to bring peace to the Middle East and predetermine the final settlement. This awareness is shared by the overwhelming majority of the world community.

Implementing the said unilateral plans may undermine the prospects for the two-state principle for the Middle East settlement. We do not see any alternative to this principle. Neither do we see an alternative to two states – Palestine and Israel – coexisting in peace and security. But the matter of statehood is not the only issue. The other aspects of the final status – Jerusalem, refugees, borders, water, and settlements – are also awaiting their solution, but the annexation can definitively block the way to their settlement and a direct dialogue between the Palestinians and Israelis.   

Implementing the annexation plans will entail negative and even dangerous consequences for the entire Middle East region. This will directly affect Syria, Lebanon, and Jordan, the neighbours of Israel and Palestine. This will affect the fate of Palestinian refugees all over the world.

Given the importance of Jerusalem for the three world monotheistic religions, the entire Muslim Ummah and millions of other believers will end up involved in the problem. Irreparable damage will be inflicted on any prospects for the normalisation of relations between states in the region.

Mr Chairperson,

It is not enough to enumerate the problems that we may face. They must be foreseen, forestalled and solved. Today, international cooperation and joint steps to promote a Middle East settlement are needed as never before. Russia is ready to make every possible effort within the framework of the Quartet of international intermediaries to launch direct Palestinian-Israeli talks in the interests of achieving a settlement on the internationally recognised basis – UN resolutions, the Madrid Principles, the Arab Peace Initiative – which provides for the establishment of an independent, sovereign and territorially continuous Palestinian state within the 1967 borders, with its capital in East Jerusalem. We are also ready to have a dialogue with the key regional players in other formats and to encourage them to join the efforts of the Quartet. In this connection, we are in constant contact with the Middle East states and the Arab League.

It is extremely important to restore the Palestinian unity based on the PLO platform. For our part, we are maintaining contacts with the Palestinian representatives and giving support to our Egyptian friends in this area.  

An important factor in creating an atmosphere of trust at the Palestinian-Israeli talks is to put an end to any aggressive rhetoric, the settlement activity on the occupied Palestinian territories, the destruction of Palestinian property, armed clashes, and acts of terrorism.  

On June 23, Jordan and Sweden organised a videoconference in support of UNRWA. We would like to thank the organisers for their initiative. The number of participants and statements made at the conference have reaffirmed the Agency’s usefulness and stabilising role.

Mr Chairperson,

In conclusion, I would like to once again emphasise the importance of renouncing the annexation steps and launching, as soon as possible, a Palestinian-Israeli negotiating process to achieve a just and stable Middle East settlement and peace in the region.”

Thank you.

 

x
x
Advanced settings

25.06.2012:31

Выступление Постоянного представителя России при ООН В.А.Небензи от имени Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова в ходе открытой видеоконференции членов СБ ООН по ситуации на Ближнем Востоке, включая Палестинский вопрос

976-25-06-2020

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Г-н Председатель,

Прежде всего, хотел бы сказать, что мы присоединяемся к прозвучавшим сегодня словам соболезнования в адрес Постоянного представителя Джани, Министра Марсуди и всего индонезийского народа в связи с трагической смертью индонезийского миротворца.

Г-н Председатель,

Приветствуем высоких представителей, которые принимают участие в сегодняшней видеоконференции СБ ООН, посвященной ситуации на Ближнем Востоке. Благодарим Генерального секретаря ООН, Спецкоординатора Н.Младенова и Генерального секретаря Лиги арабских государств А.Абуль-Гейта за брифинги.

Г-н Председатель,

Сегодня я имею честь зачитать выступление Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова, который не смог сам присутствовать на этой сессии. Как известно, сегодня в России проходят праздничные мероприятия в связи с 75-й годовщиной окончания Великой Отечественной Войны, в которых Министр сейчас лично принимает участие.

«Г-н Председатель,

В это непростое время, когда мир отчаянно ищет пути противодействия и преодоления последствий пандемии коронавируса, международному сообществу нельзя забывать о проблеме, которая до сих пор, несмотря на десятилетия усилий, все еще ожидает справедливого решения. Палестино-израильское урегулирование – это ключ к решению многих других проблем Ближнего Востока, к установлению прочного, справедливого, долгосрочного и всеобъемлющего мира в этом регионе. Палестинский вопрос, который является практически ровесником ООН, сегодня требует нашего особого и неотложного внимания.

Мы находимся на пороге, буквально в нескольких днях от решения, которое может подорвать усилия по достижению справедливого и устойчивого ближневосточного урегулирования. С 1 июля израильским парламентом может быть запущен процесс аннексии оккупированных палестинских территорий на Западном берегу р.Иордан. Это, возможно, один из самых серьезных вызовов для палестинского дела и всего региона.

Россия, как постоянный член СБ ООН, участник «квартета» международных посредников, всегда выступала и выступает за отказ от односторонних действий или планов, которые, как показывает история, не способны принести мир на Ближний Восток и предрешают окончательное урегулирование. Это понимание разделяется подавляющим большинством международного сообщества.

Реализация упомянутых односторонних планов может перечеркнуть перспективы двугосударственного принципа БВУ. Мы не видим альтернативы этому принципу. Мы не видим альтернативы двум государствам – Палестине и Израилю, сосуществующим в мире и безопасности. Но вопрос государственности – не единственный. Другие аспекты окончательного статуса – Иерусалим, беженцы, границы, вода, поселения – также ожидают своего решения, однако аннексия может навсегда закрыть путь к их урегулированию и к прямому диалогу между палестинцами и израильтянами.

Реализация планов по аннексии повлечет негативные и даже опасные последствия для всего ближневосточного региона. Она прямо затронет соседей Израиля и Палестины – Сирию, Ливан, Иорданию. Это коснется судеб палестинских беженцев по всему миру.

С учетом значимости Иерусалима для трех мировых монотеистических религий, вовлечённой в проблему окажется вся мусульманская умма, а также миллионы других верующих. Будет нанесен непоправимый ущерб перспективам нормализации отношений между государствами региона.

Г-н Председатель,

Перечислить проблемы, с которыми мы можем столкнуться, недостаточно. Необходимо их предвидеть, упредить и решить. Сегодня как никогда востребованы международное сотрудничество и совместные шаги по продвижению ближневосточного урегулирования. В рамках «квартета» международных посредников Россия готова приложить все усилия для запуска прямых палестино-израильских переговоров в интересах достижения урегулирования на международно признанной основе – резолюциях ООН, Мадридских принципах, Арабской мирной инициативе, – которая предусматривает создание независимого, суверенного и территориально непрерывного палестинского государства в границах 1967 года со столицей в Восточном Иерусалиме. Мы также готовы к диалогу в других форматах с ключевыми региональными игроками и подключению их к усилиям «четверки». В этой связи находимся в постоянном контакте с государствами Ближнего Востока, Лигой арабских государств.

Крайне актуальной является задача восстановления палестинского единства на основе платформы ООП. Со своей стороны продолжаем контакты с палестинскими представителями, оказывая поддержку усилиям наших египетских друзей на этом направлении.

Важным фактором для создания атмосферы доверия в палестино-израильских переговорах является прекращение агрессивной риторики, поселенческой активности на оккупированных палестинских территориях, разрушения палестинской собственности, вооруженных столкновений, а также недопущение террористических проявлений.

23 июня состоялась международная видеоконференция в поддержку БАПОР, организованная Иорданией и Швецией. Признательны организаторам за эту инициативу. Количество участников и прозвучавшие на ней заявления в очередной раз подтвердили востребованность Агентства и его стабилизирующую роль.

Г-н Председатель,

В заключение хотел бы вновь подчеркнуть необходимость отказа от шагов по аннексии и скорейшего запуска палестино-израильского переговорного процесса с целью достижения справедливого

и устойчивого ближневосточного урегулирования и мира в регионе».

Благодарю Вас.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска