Asset Publisher

14 September 201615:08

Comment by Konstantin Dolgov, Foreign Ministry Commissioner for Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law, on continuing violations of the rights and legitimate interests of Russian children adopted by US citizens

1607-14-98-2016

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

We are seriously concerned by the fact that, as we know from information coming from the United States, violations of the rights and legitimate interests of Russian children adopted by US citizens continue unabated.

Unfortunately, many of the requests filed by Russian law enforcement agencies through the General Prosecutor's Office of the Russian Federation and the Investigative Committee of the Russian Federation remain unanswered, which runs counter to the international obligations assumed by the US government, in particular, those set forth in the bilateral Treaty on Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters of 1999.

So far, neither the US State Department nor the US Department of Justice have provided any information on the progress or results of the investigation into trading in underage Russian citizens through online exchanges.

In accordance with the vicious US judicial practice, foster parents often get away with token sentences or avoid punishment altogether for felonies, such as murder, grievous bodily harm, or cruel and inhuman treatment.

In a recent egregious case, the O'Brien couple were sentenced to a ludicrous 12 months in jail with a probationary period of three years for inflicting grievous bodily harm and cruel treatment on four adopted Russian children.

As is known, Washington continues to shy away from holding bilateral consultations for substantive discussion of a backlog of problems that have piled up through the fault of the United States in the adoption segment of our bilateral relations. In July 2016, the State Department and the US Department of Justice, under a false pretext, again refused to hold special meetings with the Russian interagency delegation.

All these matters were again raised by Russia during the Russian-US consultations on bilateral relations held in Moscow on September 14. Unfortunately, no clear answers were provided.

Despite the extremely unconstructive position of Washington on this pressing humanitarian issue, Russia is willing to cooperate and calls on the US authorities to establish cooperation between the competent authorities based on the 1999 Treaty.

We hope that the United States will finally take specific practical steps to investigate violations of the rights of adopted Russian children, hold the perpetrators accountable and promptly and fully inform Russia about the results of investigations.

We will continue to keep a close eye on this issue.

x
x
Advanced settings

14.09.1615:08

Комментарий Уполномоченного МИД России по вопросам прав человека, демократии и верховенства права К.К.Долгова в связи с продолжающимися фактами нарушений прав и законных интересов российских детей, усыновленных гражданами США

1607-14-98-2016

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Серьезно обеспокоены тем, что по поступающей из США информации продолжают множиться факты нарушений прав и законных интересов российских детей, усыновленных гражданами США.

К сожалению, многие запросы российских правоохранительных органов по линии Генеральной прокуратуры Российской Федерации и Следственного комитета Российской Федерации остаются без ответа, что идет вразрез со взятыми на себя американскими властями международными обязательствами, в частности, прописанными в двустороннем Договоре о взаимной правовой помощи по уголовным делам от 1999 года.

До сих пор отсутствует какая-либо информация со стороны Госдепартамента и Минюста США о ходе и результатах расследования фактов «торговли» несовершеннолетними россиянами через интернет-биржи.

Приемные родители, по порочной американской судебной практике, зачастую отделываются символическими сроками или вовсе избегают наказания за такие тяжкие преступления, как убийство, причинение тяжкого вреда здоровью, жестокое и бесчеловечное обращение.

Один из последних вопиющих случаев, когда за нанесение тяжкого вреда здоровью и жестокое обращение с четырьмя российскими усыновленными детьми супружеской паре О'Брайен было назначено смехотворное наказание в виде всего лишь одного года тюрьмы с испытательным сроком в 3 года.

Как известно, в Вашингтоне продолжают уклоняться от проведения профильных двусторонних консультаций для предметного обсуждения массива накопившихся по американской вине проблем в «усыновленческом» сегменте двусторонних отношений. В июле 2016 г. в Государственном департаменте и Министерстве юстиции США под надуманным предлогом вновь отказались от проведения специальных встреч российской межведомственной делегации.

Все эти вопросы в очередной раз были поставлены российской стороной в ходе российско-американских консультаций по проблематике двусторонних отношений в Москве 14 сентября. К сожалению, внятных ответов вновь получено не было.

Несмотря на крайне неконструктивную позицию Вашингтона по этой острой гуманитарной проблематике, российская сторона готова к взаимодействию и призывает американские власти наладить нормальное сотрудничество между компетентными органами на основе Договора от 1999 года.

Рассчитываем на то, что в США предпримут, наконец, конкретные практические шаги по расследованию нарушений прав усыновленных российских детей, привлечению виновных к реальной ответственности и будут максимально оперативно и полно информировать Россию об итогах дознания.

Продолжим держать данный вопрос на особом контроле.

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска