11 May 201116:48

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov to Attend Arctic Council Meeting


  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1


Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov will attend the Seventh Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council in Nuuk, Greenland, on May 12. The Arctic Council is composed of Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States of America, and permanent participants representing the six associations of the Indigenous Peoples of the Arctic.

The activities of the Arctic Council contribute substantially to the expansion of multilateral cooperation and the reinforcement of trust in the Arctic region. The current AC session has on its agenda a number of major issues of practical collaboration, including scientific cooperation, and the problems of climate change, sea navigation, hydrocarbons exploration and production, socioeconomic development, public health, and protecting the interests of the Indigenous Peoples.

The first legally binding pan-Arctic document, a Cooperation Agreement on Sea and Air Search and Rescue in the Arctic, is slated to be signed and concrete ways to strengthen the Arctic Council itself are to be mapped out. There will be examined the major thematic areas and projects of joint working for the next two-year period when Chairmanship will pass on from Denmark to Sweden.

May 11, 2011

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

Web Content Display is temporarily unavailable.

European Union (EU)

Advanced settings