11 March 202116:11

ASEM Northeast and South Asia Subgroup Meeting

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1


On February 26, 2021 Russia chaired the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) Northeast and South Asia Subgroup1 Senior Officials' Coordination Session via video conference.

The discussion evolved around the preparations and agenda of the ASEM13 Summit to be held in autumn 2021 marking the 25th anniversary of ASEM established in 1996.

The Russian side shared its views on the further development of ASEM practical activities in various dimensions with the special focus on strengthening connectivity across Eurasia. Russia called on its partners to consolidate ASEM efforts in implementing the ASEM Ministerial Statement on COVID-19 adopted in September 2020 to come up with tangible positive results in socio-economic recovery.

1 The Subgroup has 11 members: Russia (current Coordinator), Australia, Bangladesh, China, India, Japan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Republic of Korea.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

Advanced settings