30 September 201509:44

Press release on Sergey Lavrov’s meeting with the Quartet of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC)


  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

On September 29, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov met with foreign ministers of the Quartet of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) – Ricardo Armando Patino Aroca of the Republic of Ecuador, Andres Navarro Garcia of the Dominican Republic, Manuel Gonzalez Sanz of the Republic of Costa Rica, and Maxine McClean of Barbados – on the sidelines of the 70th Session of the UN General Assembly in New York.

As a follow-up to regular meetings between foreign ministers of Russia and CELAC coordinating Quartet countries, the foreign ministers exchanged views on important issues on the international agenda that are being discussed at the current session of the UN General Assembly.

Following the meeting, the participants adopted a joint statement on creating a standing mechanism for political dialogue and cooperation between Russia and CELAC. This mechanism is designed to promote multi-dimensional cooperation between Russia and the Latin American and Caribbean nations as part of the unfolding of the integration processes in the region and practical implementation of the cooperation agreements in areas of mutual interest.


September 30, 2015

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

Advanced settings