12 April 202118:41

Press release on the signing of a joint statement of the Russian Federation and the Republic of Seychelles on No First Placement of Weapons in Outer Space


  • en-GB1 ru-RU1


Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Tourism of the Republic of Seychelles Sylvestre Radegonde signed a joint statement on No First Placement of Weapons in Outer Space (NFP).

The document was the latest step towards globalising the international initiative on this issue, and confirmed the resolve of these states to work together on the Prevention of an Arms Race in Outer Space (PAROS).

In their joint statement, Russia and Seychelles reaffirm the need to sign an international treaty banning the placement and use of weapons in outer space and urge the countries that are not involved in the NFP initiative to consider the possibility of joining it. 

As a measure of transparency and trust intended within PAROS, the NFP initiative in recent years has made a tangible political contribution to the causes of strengthening international peace, providing indivisible security for all, and enhancing the predictability and sustainability of the peaceful exploration and use of outer space by individual states.

The consistent efforts to make the NFP initiative universal are aimed at preventing an arms race in outer space and preserving it for peaceful purposes. It is designed to stabilise the situation pending the elaboration of a legally binding multilateral document on PAROS, which would ban the placement of any weapons, as well as the use of force or its threat, from space or with respect to it.

The fundamental element of the NFP initiative is a mutual commitment not to be the first to deploy any types of weapons in outer space. As such, securing the participation of all UN members, including all space powers of any significance, would be tantamount to the adoption of this political commitment on a global scale, thereby making it inexpedient to develop space-based offensive systems.

This political commitment is the most effective, practicable and truly functional initiative, with more and more states expressing support. Russia put forward this initiative in 2004. Since then it has been fully joined by 30 states: Argentina, Armenia, Belarus, Bolivia, Brazil, Burundi, Venezuela, Vietnam, Guatemala, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Cambodia, Kyrgyzstan, Cuba, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Pakistan, the Republic of the Congo, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Seychelles, Syria, Surinam, Sierra Leone, Tajikistan, Togo, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Uruguay, Sri Lanka and Ecuador.

Advanced settings