12 May 201714:15

Press release on Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s participation in the Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council in Fairbanks, USA


  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On May 10-11, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov attended the Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council in Fairbanks, USA. The Fairbanks Declaration adopted following this meeting reaffirmed the commitment to maintain peace, stability and constructive cooperation and outlined the main areas for promoting international cooperation to foster sustainable development in the Arctic. The document highlights the goals of protecting the Arctic environment, enhancing the resilience and adaptation of the region to climate change and implementing concrete cooperation projects.

In his statement at the meeting, Sergey Lavrov said that Russia’s Arctic policy is aimed at fostering international partnership in addressing the region’s current problems. He also reaffirmed Russia’s invariable support for the activities of the Arctic Council.

Under the Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation signed at the Fairbanks meeting, the Arctic states are to facilitate access to scientific information and to national civilian research infrastructure and facilities, entry to and exit from their territories, as well as to ensure adequate and effective protection and fair allocation of intellectual property rights.

Sergey Lavrov held talks with the foreign ministers of several Arctic states on the sidelines of the ministerial meeting in Fairbanks.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

Advanced settings