1 February 201510:15

Press release on Deputy Foreign Minister Mikhail Bogdanov’s participation in the African Union Summit

166-01-02-2015

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1
 
On January 30-31, Addis Ababa hosted the 24th session of the Assembly of the African Union (AU). Special presidential representative for the Middle East and Africa Mikhail Bogdanov attended the event to deliver the welcome address by President Vladimir Putin to the participating heads of state and government of the AU.

On the sidelines of the forum, Mikhail Bogdanov held meetings and conversations with President of the Republic of the Congo Denis Sassou Nguesso, President of Mauritania Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz, President of Madagascar Hery Rajaonarimampianina, President of Equatorial Guinea Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, President of Gabon Ali Bongo Ondimba, Vice President of Angola Manuel Vicente, Foreign Minister of Mozambique Oldemiro Baloi, Deputy Foreign Minister of the Islamic Republic of Iran Amir Abdullahian and First Deputy Secretary General of the League of Arab States Ahmed Bin Helli. During these meetings, topical issues on the bilateral and regional agenda were discussed, along with initiatives aimed at further enhancing cooperation between Russia and Africa, including with the continent's sub-regional organisations.

Mikhail Bogdanov was received by Prime Minister of Ethiopia Hailemariam Desalegn, and held consultations with Foreign Minister Tedros Adhanom, focusing on specific issues related to stepping up mutually beneficial cooperation between Russian and Ethiopia, strengthening political dialogue and coordinating approaches within various international frameworks, including the UN.

During his meetings, Mikhail Bogdanov paid special attention to the settlement of the internal conflict in South Sudan. In this respect, he held meetings with the leaders of the conflicting parties of South Sudan, President of the Republic of South Sudan Salva Kiir and former Vice President Riek Machar, and attended a multilateral meeting on South Sudan along with representatives of the US, the EU, Great Britain and Norway. Russia believes that there is no alternative to a negotiated solution, which should guarantee early peace in South Sudan and promote stability in the sub-region in general.

Mikhail Bogdanov also held meetings with AU Commission Chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma and AU Commissioner for Peace and Security Smail Chergui, during which the issues related to streamlining cooperation between Russia and the AU, including coordinating efforts to settle crisis situations in Africa, were subject to a thorough examination.

February 1, 2015
 

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

1.02.1510:15

Об участии спецпредставителя Президента Российской Федерации по Ближнему Востоку и странам Африки, заместителя Министра иностранных дел России М.Л.Богданова в работе саммита Африканского союза

166-01-02-2015

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

30-31 января в Аддис-Абебе состоялась 24-я сессия Ассамблеи Африканского союза (АС). В ее работе принял участие спецпредставитель Президента Российской Федерации по Ближнему Востоку и странам Африки М.Л.Богданов, который передал приветственное послание Президента Российской Федерации В.В.Путина в адрес глав государств и правительств стран АС - участников саммита.

«На полях» форума состоялись встречи и беседы М.Л.Богданова с Президентом Республики Конго Д.Сассу-Нгессо, Президентом Мавритании М.Абдель Азизом, Президентом Мадагаскара Э.Радзаунаримампианиной, Президентом Экваториальной Гвинеи Т.О.Нгема Мбасого, Президентом Габона А.Бонго, Вице-президентом Анголы М.Висенте, Министром иностранных дел Мозамбика О.Балоем, заместителем Министра иностранных дел ИРИ Х.А.Абдоллахияном, первым заместителем Генсекретаря ЛАГ А.Бен Хилли. Обсуждены актуальные вопросы двусторонней и региональной повестки дня, задачи дальнейшего укрепления многопланового сотрудничества России с Африкой, в том числе с субрегиональными организациями континента.

М.Л.Богданов был принят Премьер-министром Эфиопии Хайлемариамом Десаленем, провел консультации с мининдел Тедросом Адханомом. Были обсуждены конкретные вопросы наращивания российско-эфиопского взаимовыгодного сотрудничества, углубления политического диалога и координации подходов на различных международных площадках, в т.ч. в ООН.

Заостренное внимание в контактах М.Л.Богданова было уделено проблематике урегулирования внутреннего конфликта в Южном Судане. В этом контексте состоялись беседы с лидерами противоборствующих южносуданских сторон - Президентом РЮС С.Кииром и бывшим вице-президентом Р.Мачаром, а также многосторонняя встреча с участием спецпредставителей США, ЕС, Великобритании и Норвегии по Южному Судану. С российской стороны подчеркивалась безальтернативность переговорного решения, гарантирующего скорейшее установление мира в РЮС и стабилизацию обстановки в субрегионе в целом.

В беседах М.Л.Богданова с Председателем Комиссии АС Н.Дламини-Зумой и комиссаром АС по вопросам мира и безопасности С.Шерги были предметно рассмотрены вопросы совершенствования взаимодействия России и Афросоюза, включая координацию усилий в целях урегулирования кризисных ситуаций и Африке.

 

1 февраля 2015 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска