18 April 201618:13

Comment by the Information and Press Department on the visit of Chairperson of the African Union Commission Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

765-18-04-2016

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On April 19-21, Chairperson of the African Union Commission Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma will be in Moscow on a working visit at the invitation of Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov.

During their talks on April 20, the two officials will exchange opinions on a wide range of issues related to Russia-African Union cooperation, as well as on current regional and international issues of mutual interest.

Sergey Lavrov and Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma will also discuss the situation in African hot spots, primarily Mali, Sub-Saharan Africa, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Great Lakes region, Somalia and South Sudan. They will focus on fighting the radical Takfiri movements, international terrorism and transnational crime.

Another major issue on their agenda will be possible forms of Russian assistance to Africa, including in settling conflict situations and creating African peacekeeping potential. They will also discuss ways to invigorate Russia-Africa trade,  economic and investment cooperation and attract Russian businesses to major infrastructure projects, primarily in the framework of Agenda 2063 and the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD). Mr Lavrov and Ms Dlamini-Zuma will also talk about cultural cooperation, including broader access to Russia’s potential in the field of higher education, advanced training and development of research and technological partnership in medicine and healthcare.

Relations between Russia and the African Union have been developing consistently. In September 2014, Sergey Lavrov and Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma met in Addis Ababa to sign a memorandum of understanding between the Russian Foreign Ministry and the African Union Commission, which includes a mechanism for political consultations. In keeping with this memorandum, Russian Deputy Foreign Minister and Special Presidential Envoy for the Middle East and Africa Mikhail Bogdanov attended the 24th (January 2015), 25th (June 2015) and 26th (January 2016) sessions of the African Union Assembly of Heads of State and Government, on the sidelines of which he met with the Chairperson of the AU Commission and the AU Commissioner for Peace and Security.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

18.04.1618:13

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с визитом в Россию Председателя Комиссии Африканского союза Н.Дламини-Зумы

765-18-04-2016

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

По приглашению Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова 19-21 апреля Председатель Комиссии Африканского союза (КАС) Нкосазана Дламини-Зума посетит Москву с рабочим визитом.

В ходе переговоров 20 апреля состоится обмен мнениями по широкому кругу вопросов взаимодействия в формате Россия - Афросоюз, а также по актуальным международным и региональным проблемам, представляющим взаимный интерес.

С.В.Лавров и Н.Дламини-Зума обсудят ситуацию в «горячих точках» Африканского континента, в первую очередь в Мали и Сахаро-Сахельском регионе, ДР Конго и Районе Великих Озер, в Сомали, Южном Судане. Одной из ключевых тем переговоров станет противодействие радикальным такфиристским течениям, борьба с международным терроризмом, трансграничной преступностью.

Важный сюжет - возможные направления дальнейшего российского содействия Африке, оказание поддержки в урегулировании конфликтных ситуаций, в том числе в формировании собственного миротворческого потенциала государств континента. В повестку дня включена тематика поиска путей активизации российско-африканского торгово-экономического и инвестиционного сотрудничества, подключения российских бизнec- структур к реализации крупных инфраструктурных проектов, в частности в рамках программ «Повестка дня - 2063» и «Новое партнерство для развития Африки». Внимание будет уделено также гуманитарным аспектам, включая более широкое использование потенциала России для получения африканцами высшего образования, повышения квалификации, развития научно-технологического партнерства в области медицины и здравоохранения.

Отношения между Россией и Африканским союзом поступательно развиваются. В сентябре 2014 г. в Аддис-Абебе С.В.Лавров и Н.Дламини-Зума подписали Меморандум о взаимопонимании между МИД России и КАС, включая механизм проведения политических консультаций. В рамках реализации этого Меморандума в январе и июне 2015 г., а также в январе 2016 г. специальный представитель Президента Российской Федерации по Ближнему Востоку и странам Африки, заместитель Министра иностранных дел России М.Л.Богданов принял участие в работе 24-й, 25-й и 26-й сессий Ассамблеи глав государств и правительств Афросоюза, «на полях» которых провел, в частности, встречи с Председателем КАС и Комиссаром Африканского союза по вопросам мира и безопасности.

 

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска