News

5 May 201719:02

Press release on the presentation of a photo display, Syria: A Photo Chronicle of the War, in Vienna

921-05-05-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

On May 5, a photo display, Syria: A Photo Chronicle of the War, opened in Vienna, showing the works of photojournalists from VGTRK and Sputnik news agency and radio. The unique photographs portray a reliable picture of the barbarous crimes committed by the terrorists and the suffering of ordinary Syrians. Some of the photos are devoted to the work of the Russian Aerospace Forces, which are in Syria at the official request of the legitimate authorities and support the Syrian land forces in carrying out ground operations against terrorist groups.

The photo exhibition is held at the initiative of the State Duma Committee on International Affairs with the active assistance of Russia’s Permanent Missions to the OSCE and International Organisations in Vienna, as well as the Russian Embassy in Austria. The opening ceremony was attended by representatives of a number of OSCE member states, a large group of ambassadors accredited in Austria, especially from Arab countries, members of international organisations, and Russian and foreign journalists.

In his opening remarks, Russia’s Permanent Representative to the OSCE Alexander Lukashevich emphasised the importance of obtaining objective information about the situation in Syria, the fight against terrorists in that country, and Russian military and humanitarian assistance. He called for support of the efforts to resolve the Syrian crisis as soon as possible, in particular, for the implementation of the memorandum on the creation of de-escalation zones in Syria, signed in Astana on May 4.

Member of the State Duma Committee on Information Policy, Information Technologies and Communications Yevgeny Revenko spoke in detail about the preparation of the exhibition of Russian photojournalists who risked their lives to take these photographs. He stressed the importance of combining efforts in the fight against international terrorism and ending the information confrontation, citing as an example the unconfirmed information from self-appointed experts on the alleged use of chemical weapons in Khan Sheikhoun. This photo display is exactly what Europe needs to know the truth about what is happening in Syria, about “how an entire country almost became terrorists’ prey,” he said.

Russian journalists Dmitry Petrov, Viktor Prikhodko and Valery Melinkov shared their impressions of their work in Syria and the most memorable moments that they captured in the pictures displayed.

The exhibition greatly interested those present who noted the timeliness and importance of holding such events in numerous interviews, and the courage of Russian journalists who use their skill to show the real picture of what is going on in Syria.

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

5.05.1719:02

О презентации фотовыставки «Сирия. Фотохроника войны» в Вене

921-05-05-2017

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

 

5 мая в Вене прошла презентация фотовыставки «Сирия. Фотохроника войны», на которой были продемонстрированы снимки, выполненные корреспондентами ВГТРК, а также информационного агентства и радио «Sputnik». На уникальных фотографиях показана достоверная картина варварских преступлений террористов и страданий простых сирийцев. Ряд материалов посвящен работе российских ВКС, которые находятся в Сирии по официальной просьбе законных властей и оказывают поддержку сирийским сухопутным войскам при проведении наземных операций против террористических группировок.

Фотовыставка проводилась по инициативе Комитета по международным делам Государственной Думы при активном содействии постоянных представительств России при ОБСЕ и международных организациях в Вене, а также российского Посольства в Австрии. На церемонии открытия присутствовали представители ряда государств- участников ОБСЕ, большая группа аккредитованных в Австрии послов, особенно из арабских стран, сотрудники международных организаций, российские и иностранные журналисты.

Во вступительном слове Постпред России при ОБСЕ А.К.Лукашевич акцентировал важность получения объективной информации о ситуации в Сирии, борьбе с террористами в этой стране, российской военной и гуманитарной помощи. Он призвал поддержать усилия по скорейшему урегулированию сирийского кризиса, в частности, реализацию подписанного в Астане 4 мая меморандума о создании зон деэскалации в Сирии.

Член Комитета Государственной Думы по информационной политике, информационным технологиям и связям Е.В.Ревенко подробно рассказал о подготовке выставки российских журналистов, которые с риском для жизни делали фотоснимки. Он особо отметил важность объединения усилий в борьбе с международным терроризмом и прекращения информационного противоборства, приведя в качестве примера неподтвержденную информацию самозваных экспертов о якобы применении химического оружия в Хан-Шейхуне. Как подчеркнул Е.В.Ревенко, такая фотовыставка как раз и нужна для того, чтобы в Европе знали правду о происходящем в Сирии, о том, «как целое государство едва не стало добычей террористов».

Российские журналисты Д.В.Петров, В.В.Приходько и В.В.Мельников поделились впечатлениями о своей работе в Сирии и наиболее ярких эпизодах, которые они запечатлели в представленных снимках.

Выставка вызвала большой интерес присутствующих, отмечавших в многочисленных интервью своевременность и важность проведения подобных мероприятий, мужество российских журналистов, которые своим мастерством показывают реальную картину событий в Сирии.

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+963-991-240-999
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж