26 October 201315:20

Comment by the Information and Press Department of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs regarding the forthcoming 14th ministerial session of the Barents Euro-Arctic Council

2116-26-10-2013

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

On the 28-29 October, the 14th ministerial session of the Barents Euro-Arctic Council (BEAC) will be held in Tromsø (Norway). The Russian delegation will be headed by the First Deputy Foreign Minister Vladimir Titov.

The BEAC was established in 1993. It comprises Russia, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Finland, Sweden, as well as the European Commission.

The Council is a central structure of multilateral interaction in the Barents Region, but its activity is significantly oriented towards assisting in the complex development of northern European territories, including the north-western regions of the Russian Federation (Republic of Karelia and Komi Republic, Arkhangelsk Region and Murmansk Region, Nenets Autonomous District).

The session is expected to sum up the results of Norway's two-year presidency of the BEAC, discuss ways of further cooperation within the Council, prospects of its orientation towards practical activities, as well as to review the Action Plan on Climate Change for Barents Cooperation.

The session will end with the adoption of a joint communique, which reflects Russian priorities – the creation of conditions for the full-fledged use of the rich resource potential of the region, including not only natural resources, but primarily the region's accumulated knowledge and experience, scientific potential, qualified personnel, including in the context of the prospects of use of the Northern Sea Route, the formation of a personal project funding instrument, a prospective transfer to a visa free regime of mutual travel, the improvement of coordination between northern regional councils, etc.

The final document of the session envisages the creation of an ad hoc expert group for the development of the details of the project funding mechanism in the Barents region. The Communique also welcomes the draft Plan for the development of the Barents Region transport system, the creation of the Barents award in the area of culture, the creation of a Barents Summer School.

At the decision of the session, the presidency of the BEAC will be transferred from Norway to Finland according to the principle of rotation. Russia occupied the chair of the Council in 2007-2009 and will head it again in 2015-2017.

Apart from the BEAC, cooperation in the Barents Region is also implemented within the framework of direct contacts between the local territorial formations of Russia, Norway, Finland and Sweden, which formed the Barents Regional Council (BRC) at the Kirkenes session in January 1993. On behalf of Russia, it comprises the Republic of Karelia, the Komi Republic, the Arkhangelsk Region and the Murmansk Region, and the Nenets Autonomous District. During the session, the BRC presidency will be transferred from the Swedish Norrbotten County to the Arkhangelsk Region.

26 October 2013

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

26.10.1315:20

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с предстоящей 14-й министерской сессией Совета Баренцева/Евроарктического региона

2116-26-10-2013

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

28-29 октября в г.Тромсё (Норвегия) состоится 14-я министерская сессия Совета Баренцева/Евроарктического региона (СБЕР). Российскую делегацию возглавит первый заместитель Министра иностранных дел В.Г.Титов.

СБЕР учрежден в 1993г. В его состав входят Россия, Дания, Исландия, Норвегия, Финляндия, Швеция, а также Европейская комиссия.

Совет является центральной структурой многостороннего взаимодействия в Баренцевом регионе, а его деятельность в значительной степени ориентирована на оказание содействия комплексному развитию территорий Северной Европы, включая северо-западные регионы Российской Федерации (Республики Карелия и Коми, Архангельскую и Мурманскую области, Ненецкий автономный округ).

На сессии предполагается подвести итоги двухлетнего председательства Норвегии в СБЕР, обсудить пути дальнейшего сотрудничества в рамках Совета, перспективы его ориентирования на практическую деятельность, а также рассмотреть План действий для Баренцева сотрудничества в связи с изменением климата.

Сессия завершится принятием совместного коммюнике, в котором отражены российские приоритеты - создание условий для полноценного использования богатого ресурсного потенциала региона, включающего не только природные богатства, но и, прежде всего, накопленные в регионе знания и опыт, научный потенциал, квалифицированные кадры, содействие активизации делового сотрудничества, в т.ч. в контексте перспектив использования Северного морского пути, формирование собственного инструмента финансирования проектов, переход в перспективе к безвизовому режиму взаимных поездок, совершенствование координации между северными региональными советами и др.

Итоговый документ сессии предусматривает создание экспертной группы ad hoc для разработки деталей механизма финансирования проектов в Баренцевом регионе. В Коммюнике также приветствуются проект Плана по развитию транспортной системы Баренцева региона, учреждение Баренцевой награды в области культуры, создание Баренцевой летней школы.

По решению сессии председательство в СБЕР в соответствии с принципом ротации на два года перейдет от Норвегии к Финляндии. Россия занимала пост председателя Совета в 2007 - 2009 гг. и возглавит его вновь в 2015 - 2017 гг.

Помимо СБЕР сотрудничество в Баренцевом регионе осуществляется также в рамках прямых контактов между местными территориальными образованиями России, Норвегии, Финляндии и Швеции, которые в январе 1993 г. на Киркенесской сессии образовали Баренцев региональный совет (БРС). В его состав от России входят - Республика Карелия, Республика Коми, Архангельская и Мурманская области, Ненецкий автономный округ. На сессии председательство в БРС перейдет от шведской губернии Норрботтен к Архангельской области.

26 октября 2013 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Элемент "Отображение сетевого контента" временно недоступен.

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска