13 May 201111:28

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s Attendance at the Arctic Council Meeting Held in Nuuk, Greenland on May 12, 2011

689-13-05-2011

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

PRESS RELEASE

Sergey Lavrov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, participated in the 7th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting on May 12.

The results of the meeting, held in a constructive, intense and lively manner, generally reflected the new level reached in regional cooperation that matches the enhanced role of the Arctic both for the Arctic states themselves and in world politics as a whole.

The Arctic Council ministers signed the first-ever pan-Arctic legally binding document, the Agreement on Cooperation on Aeronautical and Maritime Search and Rescue in the Arctic, worked out under the co-chairmanship of Russia and the United States and aimed at helping people in distress in the Arctic more promptly and effectively. The agreement creates additional prerequisites for Arctic development and reflects the high responsibility of the Arctic states for the state of affairs in the region.

The ministers took decision to strengthen the Arctic Council. Its permanent secretariat with its own budget will be established, and recommendations by the Council will gradually be given a more binding character. Russia announced that it had taken decision to make the first contribution to the Project Support Instrument, the Council's first collective fund that aims to focus on actions for eliminating the ecological flashpoints preeminently in Russia, which will help launch the work of the Instrument. Recommendations on the informational work of the Council were endorsed.

New provisions for the role and criteria of observers in the Arctic Council were approved. This will help regularize the process of granting observer status to non-Arctic states and organizations and will clearly define the rights and duties of observers.

The Arctic Council ministers considered and endorsed a number of major scientific-practical reports devoted to the issues of climate change and the melting of sea ice, the factors of climate change, sources of pollution in the Arctic environment (mercury in particular), the behavioral peculiarities of dangerous substances in Arctic conditions, the Arctic biodiversity trends and a number of others.

They took decision to draw up a new pan-Arctic document on cooperation in the area of preparedness and response to marine oil spills under the co-chairmanship of Russia.

Among the new major projects of the Council for the next period: the elaboration of the questions of the governance of Arctic marine ecosystems, an integrated assessment of the many-sided factors of Arctic changes and human development trends in the changing conditions of the Arctic.

There was noted the successful realization of the initiatives put forward by Russia in the Arctic Council, such as the idea of a gradual creation of a regional system to prevent and combat man-made disasters, and Electronic Memory of the Arctic (establishing a generally accessible Internet archive of data on Arctic development and culture). Russia's new projects include providing support to the young reindeer breeders of the Arctic, working together with organizations of the indigenous peoples in cleaning up the pollution in territories, and others.

Sergey Lavrov pointed out the importance of the two Arctic-related events being held in 2011 by Russia – an international conference involving high representatives of the Arctic states during the Northern Sea Route voyage on the nuclear-powered icebreaker Yamal, to be organized under Russian Security Council auspices, and the Second International Arctic Forum ‘The Arctic: Territory of Dialogue' to be organized by the Russian Geographical Society. Both events will be dedicated to the prospects of further increasing international cooperation in the Arctic, primarily in the field of transport.

The meeting ended with the signing of a political declaration recording the key aspects of the work of the Arctic Council and plans for the future.

Sweden took over the two-year chairmanship from Denmark at the meeting.

Russia is satisfied with the results of the meeting, which has confirmed the central role of the Arctic Council in the organization and promotion of regional cooperation.

May 13, 2011

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

13.05.1111:28

Об участии Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в заседании Арктического совета, Нуук, Гренландия, 12 мая 2011 года

689-13-05-2011

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

СООБЩЕНИЕ ДЛЯ СМИ

12 мая Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров принял участие в Седьмом заседании Арктического совета.

Результаты заседания, прошедшего в конструктивном, насыщенном и заинтересованном ключе, в целом отразили выход регионального сотрудничества на новый уровень, соответствующий повышению роли Арктики как для самих арктических государств, так и в мировой политике в целом.

Подписан первый в истории панарктический юридически обязывающий документ – Соглашение о сотрудничестве в авиационном и морском поиске и спасании в Арктике, разработанное под сопредседательством России и США и нацеленное на повышение оперативности и эффективности оказания помощи людям, попавшим в беду в Арктике. Соглашение создает дополнительные предпосылки для освоения Арктики и отражает высокую ответственность арктических государств за положение дел в регионе.

Принято решение об укреплении Арктического совета. Будет создан его постоянный секретариат с собственным бюджетом, рекомендациям совета будет постепенно придаваться более обязательный характер. Россия заявила о принятии решения о внесении первого взноса в Инструмент поддержки проектов – первый коллективный фонд Арктического совета, создаваемый для финансирования ликвидации экологических «горячих точек» преимущественно в России, что позволит запустить работу Инструмента. Одобрены рекомендации по информационной работе совета.

Утверждены новые положения о роли и критериях наблюдателей в Арктическом совете, что позволит упорядочить процесс предоставления статуса наблюдателя внеарктическим государствам и организациям, а также ясно определит права и обязанности наблюдателей.

Рассмотрен и одобрен ряд крупных научно-практических докладов, посвященных вопросам изменения климата и таяния льдов, факторов изменения климата, источников загрязнения арктической природной среды (в частности, ртути), особенностей поведения опасных веществ в арктических условиях, тенденций в изменении биоразнообразия в Арктике и ряду других.

Принято решение о разработке нового панарктического документа о сотрудничестве в области готовности и реагирования на морские нефтеразливы под сопредседательством России.

Среди новых крупных проектов совета на предстоящий период – разработка вопросов экосистемного управления окружающей средой в Арктике, интегрированной оценки многосторонних факторов происходящих в Арктике изменений, тенденций в развитии человека в меняющихся условиях Арктики.

Отмечена успешная реализация инициатив, выдвинутых Россией в Арктическом совете, таких как идея поэтапного создания региональной системы предотвращения техногенных катастроф и борьбы с ними, «Электронная память Арктики» (создание общедоступного Интернет-архива данных об освоении и культуре Арктики). Среди новых проектов России – оказание поддержки молодым оленеводам Севера, совместная работа с организациями коренных народов по очистке территорий от источников экологических загрязнений и другие.

С.В.Лавров отметил важность двух проводимых в 2011 году Россией мероприятий по арктической тематике – международной конференции с участием высоких представителей арктических государств во время организуемого под эгидой Совета Безопасности России перехода по Северному морскому пути на атомном ледоколе «Ямал», а также второго Международного Арктического форума «Арктика – территория диалога», организуемого Русским географическим обществом. Оба мероприятия будут посвящены перспективам дальнейшего укрепления международного сотрудничества в Арктике, прежде всего в области транспорта.

По итогам заседания подписана политическая декларация, в которой зафиксированы узловые моменты работы Арктического совета и планы на будущее.

Председательство в Арктическом совете на заседании перешло от Дании к Швеции.

В России удовлетворены итогами состоявшегося заседания, подтвердившего центральную роль Арктического совета в организации и продвижении регионального сотрудничества.

13 мая 2011 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска