13 October 201518:12

Comment by the Information and Press Department on Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s participation in the 15th ministerial meeting of the Barents/Euro-Arctic Council

1944-13-10-2015

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1
 

On October 14, Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov will attend the 15th ministerial meeting of the Barents/Euro-Arctic Council (BEAC), which will take place in Oulu, Finland.

The BEAC was established at a meeting of Russian, Danish, Icelandic, Norwegian, Finnish and Swedish foreign ministers, as well as a European Commission representative on January 11, 1993 in Kirkenes. Over the more than two decades of its existence, the Council has established itself as a central structure for multilateral interaction in the Barents region.

One of the BEAC’s central objectives is to promote the social and economic development of Russian regions that are party to the BEAC (the Murmansk and Arkhangelsk regions, the republics of Karelia and Komi, and the Nenets Autonomous Area). On a practical level, its goals are to create a favourable environment for trade and investment, develop stable integration links, upgrade border and customs infrastructure and create new transport routes.

The participants in the meeting will review the results of Finland’s two-year presidency, address the prospects for further interaction within the council’s framework and consider ways of uniting the efforts of all multilateral regional cooperation mechanisms. The meeting will also address strengthening the financial basis of the BEAC’s activity, including by taking into account the conclusions and recommendations of the BEAC working group to examine the possibility of creating a project financing mechanism in the Barents region.

The meeting will result in a joint communique reflecting the current priorities of Barents cooperation: the development of transport and logistic infrastructure, including the use of the Northern Sea Route, expanding cross-border economic activity, interaction in energy efficiency, environmental protection and addressing climate change, and developing tourism, and youth and cultural exchanges.

In accordance with the rotation principle, the BEAC presidency will be transferred from Finland to Russia for two years. In our activity, we are committed to the principle of continuity, taking into account the interests of all participants in Barents cooperation, including the indigenous population. We prioritise the promotion of the region’s sustainable social and economic development, putting in place modern infrastructure and making the region more competitive and attractive to investors through the effective utilisation of its industrial, scientific, innovative, and resource potential, as well as in compliance with environmental requirements. These efforts should result in the provision of conditions to improve the living standards of the region’s population.

A distinct feature of Barents cooperation is that it proceeds both on an interstate and regional level in the form of direct contacts between 13 local administrative and territorial entities in Russia, Norway, Finland and Sweden, which in 1993 established the Barents Regional Council (BRC). At the meeting, the BRC presidency will pass from the Arkhangelsk Region to the Finnish province of Kainuu.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

13.10.1518:12

Комментарий Департамента информации и печати МИД России в связи с участием Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в 15-й министерской сессии Совета Баренцева/Евроарктического региона

1944-13-10-2015

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

14 октября Министр иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лавров примет участие в 15-й министерской сессии Совета Баренцева/Евроарктического региона (СБЕР), которая состоится в г. Оулу (Финляндия).

СБЕР учрежден на встрече министров иностранных дел России, Дании, Исландии, Норвегии, Финляндии, Швеции, а также представителя Европейской комиссии 11 января 1993 г. в Киркенесе. За более чем два десятилетия своего существования Совет утвердился в качестве центральной структуры многостороннего взаимодействия в Баренцевом регионе.

Одна из профильных задач СБЕР - содействие социально- экономическому развитию российских регионов - участников Баренцева сотрудничества (Мурманская и Архангельская области, республики Карелия и Коми, Ненецкий автономный округ). В конкретном плане речь идет о формировании благоприятных условий для торговли и инвестиций, развитии устойчивых интеграционных связей, совершенствовании пограничной и таможенной инфраструктуры, создании новых транспортных магистралей.

На сессии предполагается подвести итоги двухлетнего председательства Финляндии, обсудить перспективы дальнейшего взаимодействия в рамках Совета, а также рассмотреть пути сопряжения усилий всех действующих в регионе многосторонних структур сотрудничества.

Будут рассмотрены вопросы укрепления финансовой основы деятельности СБЕР, в т.ч. с учетом выводов и рекомендаций Целевой рабочей группы Совета по изучению возможности создания в Баренцевом регионе механизма проектного финансирования.

По итогам встречи будет принято совместное коммюнике, в котором найдут отражение текущие приоритеты Баренцева сотрудничества: развитие транспортной и логистической инфраструктуры, в том числе использование Северного морского пути, наращивание приграничной экономической деятельности, взаимодействие в сфере энергоэффективности, защита окружающей среды и борьба с изменением климата, развитие туризма, молодежные и культурные обмены.

Председательство в СБЕР в соответствии с принципом ротации перейдет на два года от Финляндии к России. Намерены руководствоваться в своей деятельности принципом преемственности, учитывать интересы всех участников Баренцева сотрудничества, в том числе коренного населения. Основной задачей считаем содействие устойчивому социально- экономическому развитию региона, созданию современной инфраструктуры, повышению его конкурентоспособности и инвестиционной привлекательности при рациональном использовании промышленного, научно-инновационного и ресурсного потенциала, а также соблюдении экологических требований. Конечным итогом такой работы видим формирование условий для повышения уровня жизни проживающего здесь населения.

Особенность Баренцева сотрудничества состоит в том, что оно осуществляется как на межгосударственном, так и на региональном уровне в форме прямых контактов между тринадцатью местными административно-территориальными образованиями России, Норвегии, Финляндии и Швеции, учредившими в 1993 году. Баренцев региональный совет (БРС). На сессии председательство в БРС перейдет от Архангельской области к финской провинции Кайнуу.

 

13 октября 2015 года

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска