1 November 201012:37

MFA Spokesman Andrei Nesterenko Interview to RIA Novosti Regarding the Upcoming Attendance of Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, at the Second Ministerial Meeting of the Northern Dimension in Oslo

1519-01-11-2010

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

Question: At the invitation of the Norwegian side, the second ministerial meeting of the renewed Northern Dimension (ND) is being held in Oslo on November 2. In the opinion of the Russian side, on what issues will attention be focused during the upcoming event?

Answer: The Northern Dimension is a joint policy of four equal partners – Russia, the EU, Iceland and Norway – which was launched at a summit held in November 2006 in Helsinki.

The ministerial meeting is scheduled to review the state of affairs in the Northern Dimension, in the ND Environmental Partnership and the ND Partnership in Public Health and Social Wellbeing already in action and in the ND Partnerships on Transport and Logistics and on Culture which are beginning their practical activities. The ministers will also discuss the process of the formation of the Northern Dimension Institute and Business Council.

Question: What can participation in the upcoming event give to Russia?

Answer: Russia's participation in the Northern Dimension not only helps to further promote multifaceted cooperation in Northern Europe, but also facilitates the task of modernization in Russia, primarily through developing the energy efficiency project portfolio under the ND Environmental Partnership and via participation in improving European transport and logistics networks under the auspices of the relevant ND partnership. Collaboration between Russia and the EU in the Northern Dimension contributes to the realization of the goals of the Russia-EU Partnership for Modernization.

Question: What are the main topics to be discussed in the conversation between the Foreign Ministers of Russia and Norway?

Answer: On the sidelines of the second ministerial meeting of the Northern Dimension, Sergey Lavrov will have a conversation with Norwegian Foreign Minister Jonas Gahr Store on November 1.

It is presumed that they will substantively examine the nodal practical issues of Russian-Norwegian relations and cooperation from the viewpoint of the implementation of the agreements reached by Russian President Dmitry Medvedev and Norwegian Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg on April 27 this year in Oslo, and on September 15 in Murmansk.

They will discuss the themes of deepening the political dialogue and promoting economic and trade collaboration, particularly in the context of the partnership for modernization, and cooperation in energy, fisheries, environmental protection, nuclear and radiation safety, and the problems of the Russian presence on the Spitsbergen Archipelago.

Particular attention will be paid to the bilateral cooperation in the Russian-Norwegian border zone and in the North as a whole.

Russia and Norway are endeavoring to create the best conditions for cross-border cooperation. An important specific measure in this regard is the forthcoming signing in Oslo of an intergovernmental Agreement on the facilitation of mutual travel for residents of the border territories of Russia and Norway.

The Joint Statement to be signed by the ministers on strengthening cross-border cooperation is intended to give a comprehensive and systematic character to joint work in this sphere and will be the basis for further concrete steps.

Question: What issues are included in the regional and international clusters of the talks' agenda?

Answer: In the regional and international clusters it is borne in mind to discuss the subject of cooperation with Norway in the North and the Arctic – within the framework of the Arctic Council and other regional formats – to exchange views on European security, Russia-NATO relations, including the preparations for the RNC summit in Lisbon, the development of a new strategic concept of NATO, OSCE issues and preparation of the upcoming summit of the Organization in Astana, as well as a number of regional issues including the Middle East peace process, the situation in Afghanistan and Sudan.

Question: What is the agenda of the forthcoming meeting between the foreign ministers of Russia and Iceland?

Answer: Sergey Lavrov will hold a conversation with Iceland's Foreign Minister, Ossur Skarphedinsson, on the sidelines of the ministerial meeting of the Northern Dimension on November 2.

They are expected to discuss a wide range of Russian-Icelandic relations, including questions of the implementation of the accords reached at the meetings of Russian President Dmitry Medvedev and Prime Minister Vladimir Putin with President of Iceland Olafur Ragnar Grimsson on September 22-23, 2010, on deepening the cooperation with Reykjavik in modernization and innovation with emphasis on priority areas – geothermal energy and energy efficiency.

Questions of cooperation in the Arctic and some international issues will also be considered.

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)

Council of Europe (CoE)

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)

European Union (EU)

x
x
Advanced settings

1.11.1012:37

Интервью официального представителя МИД России А.А.Нестеренко РИА «Новости» в связи с предстоящим участием Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова во второй министерской встрече «Северного измерения» в Осло

1519-01-11-2010

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

 

Вопрос: По приглашению норвежской стороны 2 ноября в Осло проводится вторая министерская встреча обновленного «Северного измерения» (СИ). На обсуждении каких вопросов, по мнению российской стороны, будет сфокусировано внимание в ходе предстоящего мероприятия?

Ответ: «Северное измерение» является совместной политикой четырех равноправных партнеров – России, Евросоюза, Исландии и Норвегии, – которая была запущена на встрече на высшем уровне, состоявшейся в ноябре 2006 года в Хельсинки.

В ходе министерской встречи планируется рассмотреть состояние дел в «Северном измерении», в действующих в его рамках Природоохранном партнерстве и Партнерстве в области здравоохранения и социального благополучия и в начинающих практическую деятельность Партнерствах в области транспорта и логистики и в области культуры. Министры также обсудят процесс становления Делового совета СИ и Института «Северного измерения».

Вопрос: Что может дать России участие в предстоящем мероприятии?

Ответ: Участие России в «Северном измерении» не только способствует дальнейшему продвижению многопланового сотрудничества на севере Европы, но и содействует задачам модернизации России, прежде всего за счет развития проектного портфеля по энергоэффективности в рамках Природоохранного партнерства СИ и участия в совершенствовании общеевропейских транспортно-логистических сетей под эгидой профильного партнерства СИ. Взаимодействие России и Евросоюза в «Северном измерении» вносит вклад в реализацию целей Партнерства для модернизации Россия – ЕС.

Вопрос: Какие основные темы будут обсуждены в беседе министров иностранных дел России и Норвегии?

Ответ: 1 ноября «на полях» второй министерской встречи «Северного измерения» состоится беседа Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова с Министром иностранных дел Норвегии Й.Стёре.

Предполагается предметно рассмотреть узловые практические вопросы российско-норвежских отношений и сотрудничества под углом реализации договоренностей, достигнутых Президентом Российской Федерации Д.А.Медведевым и Премьер-министром Норвегии Й.Столтенбергом 27 апреля с.г. в Осло и 15 сентября с.г. в Мурманске.

Будет обсуждена тематика углубления политического диалога, продвижения торгово-экономического взаимодействия, в т.ч. в контексте партнерства в целях модернизации, сотрудничества в сферах энергетики, рыболовства, охраны окружающей среды, ядерной и радиационной безопасности, проблематика российского присутствия на архипелаге Шпицберген.

Особое внимание будет уделено вопросам двустороннего взаимодействия в российско-норвежском приграничье и на Севере в целом.

Россия и Норвегия стараются создать максимально благоприятные условия для развития приграничного сотрудничества. Важная конкретная мера в этом плане – готовящееся подписание в Осло межправительственного Соглашения об упрощении порядка взаимных поездок жителей приграничных территорий России и Норвегии.

Подписываемое министрами Совместное заявление об укреплении приграничного сотрудничества призвано придать комплексный и систематический характер совместной работе в этой сфере, станет основой для дальнейших конкретных шагов.

Вопрос: Какие вопросы включены в региональный и международный блоки повестки дня переговоров?

Ответ: В региональном и международном блоках имеется в виду обсудить тематику сотрудничества с Норвегией на Севере и в Арктике – в рамках Арктического совета и других региональных форматов, обменяться мнениями по проблематике европейской безопасности, отношений Россия-НАТО, включая подготовку саммита СРН в Лиссабоне, разработки новой стратегической концепции альянса, вопросам ОБСЕ и подготовки предстоящего саммита Организации в Астане, а также по ряду региональных проблем, включая ближневосточное урегулирование, ситуацию в Афганистане и Судане.

Вопрос: Какова повестка дня предстоящей беседы глав внешнеполитических ведомств России и Исландии?

Ответ: 2 ноября «на полях» министерской встречи «Северного измерения» состоится беседа С.В.Лаврова с Министром иностранных дел Исландии Э.Скарпхьединссоном.

Предполагается обсудить широкий комплекс российско-исландских отношений, включая вопросы реализации достигнутых на встречах Президента Российской Федерации Д.А.Медведева и Председателя Правительства Российской Федерации В.В.Путина с Президентом Исландии О.Р.Гримссоном в Москве 22-23 сентября с.г. договоренностей по углублению взаимодействия с Рейкьявиком в сфере модернизации и инноваций с упором на приоритетные сферы – геотермальную энергетику и энергосбережение.

Будут также рассмотрены вопросы взаимодействия в Арктике, некоторые международные темы.

Организация по безопасности сотрудничества в Европе (ОБСЕ)

Совет Европы (СЕ)

НАТО

Европейский союз (ЕС)

x
x
Дополнительные инструменты поиска