30 May 201914:23

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s statement at a joint news conference following Russia-Japan consultations of foreign and defence ministers in the two-plus-two format, Tokyo, May 30, 2019

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Today we held already the fourth round of the two-plus-two consultations of Russian and Japanese foreign and defence ministers. The talks were straightforward. Without avoiding acute issues, we tried to hold a productive discussion and we did so.   

We had a fairly detailed exchange of views on the security situation in the Asia-Pacific Region (APR), including emerging new ideas on ensuring security there, such as the formation of closed alliances like the Indo-Pacific strategy. In this context, we spoke about the development and consolidation of the military alliance between Japan and the United States.

We reaffirmed our concern about the risks to our security being created, in part, by the plans to deploy elements of the global US missile defence system on Japanese territory.

We reaffirmed our position on enhancing security in our common region through collective rather than bloc-oriented efforts and on seeking universal recognition that there is no alternative to the principle of indivisible security by which no single country should ensure its own security by encroaching on the security of others.

I believe the discussion had a fairly positive result, notably, the clear confirmation by Russian and Japanese participants of the need to continue addressing security and cooperation issues in the APR at East Asia Summits, in particular, through our permanent representatives at the ASEAN Headquarters in Jakarta.

Foreign Minister of Japan Taro Kono expressed concern over Russia’s military activity in the southern Kuril Islands. In response we reaffirmed our position that Russian Armed Forces are operating on their sovereign territory and based on international law.

We have close positions on the situation on the Korean Peninsula. We favour its complete denuclearisation. The problem should be resolved in a comprehensive manner, both through dialogue between the United States and the DPRK, between North and South Korea, and in the context of multilateral efforts to form a zone of peace and security in Northeast Asia. Obviously, like in any conflict, it is impossible to achieve anything with ultimatums. There is a need for reciprocal steps and a phased process. In this context, we told our Japanese colleagues about the proposals that are jointly promoted by Russia and China.

We also discussed current issues on our bilateral agenda related to cooperation in countering new challenges and threats, the dangers of terrorism and drug trafficking.

 In cooperation with the UN, Russia and Japan are carrying out a joint project on training drug police for Afghanistan and Central Asia. This is a fairly successful undertaking.

Our agenda also included a discussion of non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, implementation of the agreements on the Iranian nuclear programme and other regional issues.

We agreed to hold the next meeting in the two-plus-two format in the Russian Federation. We will set the dates for it through diplomatic channels later on.

Showing 1 result.

Calendar

x
x

Archive

Advanced settings

Выступления Министра

30.05.1914:23

Заявление Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в ходе совместной пресс-конференции по итогам российско-японских консультаций глав внешнеполитических и оборонных ведомств в формате «два плюс два», Токио, 30 мая 2019 года

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1
Скачать файл

Смотреть это видео на Youtube

Мы сегодня провели уже четвертый раунд консультаций в формате «два плюс два» с участием глав внешнеполитических и оборонных ведомств России и Японии. Переговоры были откровенными. Мы не обходили острых вопросов, но стремились выстраивать дискуссию конструктивно. Нам это удалось.

Достаточно подробно обменялись мнениями о положении дел с безопасностью в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе (АТР), включая появляющиеся новые идеи о том, как здесь обеспечивать безопасность, в том числе, под лозунгом формирования закрытых союзов наподобие Индо-Тихоокеанских стратегий. В этом контексте говорили и о том, как складывается, развивается и укрепляется военный союз между Японией и США.

Подтвердили нашу озабоченность теми рисками, которые создаются для нашей безопасности, в том числе в связи с планами развертывания элементов глобальной ПРО США на японской территории.

Подтвердили нашу позицию в пользу того, чтобы укреплять безопасность в нашем общем регионе на основе коллективных, а не узкоблоковых подходов, добиваться признания всеми безальтернативности принципа неделимости безопасности, когда ни одна страна не должна обеспечивать свою безопасность за счет ущемления безопасности других.

Считаю весьма позитивным итогом этой дискуссии четкое подтверждение российскими участниками и нашими японскими коллегами необходимости продолжения работы над проблематикой архитектуры безопасности и сотрудничества в АТР на площадке Восточноазиатских саммитов, в частности, через наших постоянных представителей при штаб-квартире АСЕАН в Джакарте.

Министр иностранных дел Японии Т.Коно высказал озабоченность по поводу военной деятельности России на южных Курильских островах. В ответ мы подтвердили нашу позицию о том, что российские ВС работают на своей суверенной территории, как это принято на основе международного права.

У нас близкие позиции по ситуации на Корейском полуострове. Мы выступаем за его полную денуклеаризацию. Проблема этого полуострова должна решаться комплексно как через диалог между США и КНДР, Северной и Южной Кореями, так и в контексте многосторонних усилий по формированию в Северо-Восточной Азии зоны мира и безопасности. При этом ясно, что, как и в любой другой конфликтной ситуации, ультиматумами ничего невозможно добиться. Нужны встречные шаги, нужна поэтапность. В этом контексте мы ознакомили наших японских коллег с теми предложениями, которые совместно продвигают Россия и Китай.

Обсудили вопросы, которые стоят на нашей повестке дня в отношении сотрудничества в сфере борьбы с новыми вызовами и угрозами, террористической и наркоугрозой.   

Россия и Япония вместе с ООН реализуют совместный проект по  подготовке наркополицейских для Афганистана и стран Центральной Азии. Это весьма успешное начинание.

На нашей повестке дня также обсуждение ситуации в сфере нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения, выполнения договоренностей по иранской ядерной программе и другие региональные сюжеты. 

Договорились, что следующее заседание в формате «2+2» состоится в Российской Федерации. Конкретные даты мы согласуем дополнительно по дипломатическим каналам.

Показывается результатов: 1.

Календарь

x
x

Архив

Дополнительные инструменты поиска

Последние добавленные

Последние добавленные