5 March 201917:49

Regarding a Nezavisimaya Gazeta article on Transnistria

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1
We are compelled to respond to an article by the director of the newspaper’s coverage of politics in countries of Russia's near abroad, Svetlana Gamova, on Moldovan and Transnistrian issues entitled “Moldova may open a second Transnistrian front,” published in Nezavisimaya Gazeta on February 20 of this year. This article contains many factual errors.
The following excerpts require revision:
1) “The sides have agreed to mutual recognition of the diplomas of Moldovan and Transnistrian universities.” However, the signed protocol does not endorse such recognition but only the authentication of diplomas of Taras Shevchenko Transnistria State University by the Ministry of Education of Moldova;
2) “They built a bridge across the river that was destroyed way back in 1992.” This bridge was built in Soviet times and repaired in 2012. The relevant protocol provides for the official opening of traffic on it;
3) “The trilateral peacekeeping mission.” This name is incorrect because Ukrainian observers take part in this mission along with Moldova, Transnistria and Russia; OSCE representatives also participate in the work of the United Control Commission (UCC);
4) “Additional Moldovan military units are ready to enter the Security Zone.” A Moldovan delegation refuted this rumour two weeks ago and presented on the following day written assurances that Moldova does not intend to take this action;
5) “Just before, the Central Election Commission (CEC) of the Republic of Moldova announced the doubling of polling stations in the Security Zone, once again without informing the UCC about this.” On the contrary, on February 13, the CEC of the Republic of Moldova announced the withdrawal of practically all polling stations from the Security Zone to Moldovan territory.
We were perplexed by some of the conclusions reached by the journalist. For example, Gamova claims that "the 5+2 negotiating format may trigger a new conflict on the Dniester," implying that Russia – a participant in this format, as well as a mediator and guarantor of the Transnistrian settlement process – will encourage armed clashes. Such a statement shows that the author fundamentally misunderstands the issue, or writes with the intention of provoking.
Chisinau, the article alleges, “is changing the formula of dialogue with Transnistria.” Moldovan leaders have regularly made similar statements since 2012 but without any results.
We believe that these facts show that Gamova was irresponsible in her preparation of this article for print and does not understand the complicated political situation in the region, particularly given that the piece was published ahead of the parliamentary election in Moldova on February 24.  We hope this was not a piece of deliberate disinformation addressed to the world public during the election campaign, which could undermine trust in this Russian publication.
 
 

Additional materials

Photos

5.03.1917:49

О публикации в «Независимой газете» на тему ситуации вокруг Приднестровья

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Вынуждены обратить внимание на статью заведующей отделом политики стран ближнего зарубежья С.Гамовой по молдавско-приднестровской проблематике «Молдавия может открыть второй приднестровский фронт», опубликованную 20 февраля с.г. в «Независимой газете». В этом материале содержится целый ряд фактологических ошибок.

Вот требующие корректировки моменты:

1) «Стороны взаимно признали дипломы молдавских и приднестровских вузов» - в подписанном соответствующем протокольном решении речь идет не о признании, а об апостилизации дипломов Приднестровского госуниверситета им. Т.Г.Шевченко Министерством образования Молдавии;

2) «Построили мост через реку, разрушенный еще в 1992 году» – мост был построен во времена СССР, отремонтирован в 2012 г., протокольное решение предусматривает официальное открытие движения по нему;

3) «Трехсторонняя миротворческая миссия» – это неточная информация, в миссии помимо Молдавии, Приднестровья и России участвуют также наблюдатели от Украины, а в работе Объединенной контрольной комиссии (ОКК) и представители ОБСЕ;

4) «В Зону безопасности готовы войти дополнительные молдавские воинские подразделения» – еще две недели назад делегация из Молдавии официально опровергла подобные слухи, а через день представила письменные заверения в том, что такие действия не предусматриваются молдавской стороной;

5) «Накануне, опять же без оповещения ОКК, ЦИК РМ заявил об увеличении в два раза избирательных участков в Зоне безопасности» –

13 февраля с.г. ЦИК Республики Молдовы, напротив, объявил о выводе практически всех избирательных участков из Зоны безопасности на молдавскую территорию.

Некоторые выводы журналистки вызвали у нас недоумение. С.Гамова отмечает, что «переговорный формат «5+2» может привести к возобновлению нового конфликта на Днестре», т.е. подразумевается, что Россия – участник формата «5+2», посредник и гарант приднестровского урегулирования – будет способствовать вооруженным столкновениям. Подобное заключение – либо полное непонимание автором сути вопроса, либо провокационной вброс.

Кишинёв «меняет формулу диалога с Приднестровьем», акцентирует автор. Похожие заявления делаются молдавским руководством регулярно, начиная с 2012 г., и до сегодняшнего дня без какого-либо результата.

Изложенные факты, как представляется, говорят о недостаточно ответственном подходе С.Гамовой к работе над материалом, непонимании сложной политической обстановки в регионе, в том числе накануне парламентских выборов в Молдавии, состоявшихся 24 февраля. Надеемся, что речь не идет о намеренной дезинформации широкой общественности в электоральный период, которая может вызвать недоверие к данному российскому изданию.

 

http://www.ng.ru/cis/2019-02-20/6_7513_front.html

Дополнительные материалы

Фотографии