News

6 August 201715:56

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s comment and answer to a media question following bilateral meetings on the sidelines of ASEAN events, Manila, August 6, 2017

1466-06-08-2017

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

 

Bilateral meetings are taking place on the sidelines of ASEAN events. Meetings were held with Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu, Chinese Foreign Minister Wang Yi, and US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson.

My Turkish colleague Mevlut Cavusoglu and I discussed the implementation of the agreements within the Astana process, and preparations for the next meeting of the representatives of Russia, Turkey and Iran, which will take place in Tehran on August 8-9 and be used to continue the discussion on further strengthening the de-escalation zone regime in Syria. As you know, there are already three such zones: in the south of the country, in Eastern Ghouta and to the north of Homs. We are now working on the fourth zone, which is the largest and most complex, in the province of Idlib.

My Chinese colleague Wang Yi and I discussed the implementation of the agreements that were reached during the visit of Chinese President Xi Jinping to Russia on July 4. We are making good progress. Our representatives at the deputy foreign minister level are heading the corresponding mechanism, within which all decisions of our leaders are being implemented. We also discussed preparations for the BRICS summit, which will be held in China in early September, and our interaction within the SCO. Of course, much attention was paid to the situation on the Korean Peninsula, including in the context of the UN Security Council resolution adopted just last night. In addition to new fairly serious measures to influence Pyongyang's leaders in order to make them comply with the UN Security Council resolution on North Korea's nuclear missile programmes, it also includes the firm commitment of the Security Council to resume the six-party talks and to start looking for a political settlement.

As you know, Russia and China have a common position, which was confirmed by a joint statement by the foreign ministers of our countries on July 4 and involves moving forward towards a political process via the Chinese initiative to double freeze any missile launches and nuclear tests in the DPRK and to simultaneously freeze large-scale military exercises by the United States and the Republic of Korea. In addition to this Chinese concept, our joint statement includes support for the Russian proposal to develop a roadmap for gradual restoration of trust and the creation of proper conditions for resuming the six-party talks. We agreed to promote this concept in practical activities, including within the UN.

I had a fairly long meeting with US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson. He was primarily interested (he started with this) in the details of the decisions that we were forced to take in response to the law on anti-Russia sanctions adopted by the US Congress. We provided the explanations. Strictly speaking, this response was based on President Putin’s interview with Rossiya television channel, which provided all the details and the reasons for the decisions we made after our lengthy expectations that the United States would not embark on a path of confrontation. Unfortunately, the Russophobic attitudes of Congress members prevented this from happening.

We discussed cooperation in other areas as well. We reminded our partners about the understandings that were reached at the meeting between President Putin and President Trump in Hamburg, including the need to establish cooperation in the sphere of cybersecurity, and combating and preventing cybercrime.

We had a discussion concerning our contacts on various international issues. North Korea and the nuclear issue on the Korean Peninsula were among the central items as well. We proceed from the premise that contact on this issue between the US State Department and the Russian Foreign Ministry would be very useful, and we are open to such contact. We expect that this will be reciprocated.

We touched on the situation in Afghanistan, the Persian Gulf region, and the state of affairs regarding a Syria settlement. Here, too, contact is maintained between our representatives, including as a follow-up to the agreement reached by Russia, the United States and Jordan to create a southern de-escalation zone in the south of Syria. We hope that our contacts with the United States with regard to other aspects of the Syrian settlement - both military and political - will continue. As a matter of fact, they have never stopped.

We touched on the Middle Eastern settlement and the Ukraine crisis. We reminded our counterparts that the US President and the US Secretary of State promised us that the United States Special Representative for Ukraine Negotiations, Kurt Volker, would visit us soon. Rex Tillerson confirmed that such contact with our representative Vladislav Surkov is planned and will take place in the near future. This will be interesting because Mr Volker has already been to many capitals, including Kiev, Paris, Berlin and London. We will be interested to learn what the US special representative thinks about the current state of affairs.

We spoke about strategic stability as well. All levels must be reached and the restrictions established by the START Treaty must be applied by February 2018. An appropriate bilateral mechanism must ensure compliance with their obligations by both sides. We talked about the need to establish a professional, depoliticised, and pragmatic dialogue on the INF Treaty. I think we have the understanding of US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson. We will instruct our experts accordingly.

As you know, there is a Ryabkov-Shannon mechanism with the participation of the corresponding Deputy Foreign Minister of Russia and the Under Secretary of State of the United States, who have met several times already. It was considered useful to keep this format intact and to continue to discuss, within it, all issues, including the complex issues on our bilateral agenda, which, unfortunately, are not diminishing. However, we felt the willingness of our American colleagues to continue the dialogue. I believe that there is simply no alternative to this.

Question: Aren’t you indignant by the fact that the militants who do not want to sign the truce are moving to Idlib?

Sergey Lavrov: As I mentioned earlier, agreeing on the parameters of the de-escalation zone in Idlib won’t be easy. Perhaps, this is the most complicated of the four zones, which Russia, Turkey and Iran agreed on last May in Astana. We also believe that these three countries, as well as other players, including probably the United States, have a cumulative influence on all militants and armed groups, with the exception of the terrorists, who will never be brought under any agreements. If Russia, Turkey, Iran, and the US-led coalition synchronously use their influence on specific players who are confronting each other on the ground with weapons in their hands, then proposals for compromises that can contribute to a ceasefire and create proper conditions for a political process will be found.

Additional materials

Photos

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

6.08.1715:56

Комментарий и ответ на вопрос CМИ Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова по итогам двусторонних встреч "на полях" мероприятий по линии АСЕАН, Манила, 6 августа 2017 года

1466-06-08-2017

  • de-DE1 en-GB1 es-ES1 ru-RU1 fr-FR1

На полях мероприятий АСЕАН у нас начались двусторонние встречи. Состоялись контакты с министрами иностранных дел Турции М.Чавушоглу и Китая Ван И, а также с Госсекретарем США Р.Тиллерсоном.

С турецким коллегой М.Чавушоглу мы обсудили ситуацию с выполнением договоренностей в рамках астанинского процесса, подготовку к очередной встрече представителей России, Турции и Ирана, которая состоится в Тегеране 8-9 августа. На ней будет продолжен разговор по дальнейшему укреплению режима зон деэскалации в Сирии. Как вы знаете, функционируют уже три такие зоны- на юге страны, в Восточной Гуте и севернее Хомса. Сейчас идет работа над четвертой зоной, наиболее крупной и сложной, в провинции Идлиб.

С нашим китайским коллегой Ван И мы обсудили ход выполнения договоренностей, которые были достигнуты во время визита Председателя КНР Си Цзиньпиня в Россию 4 июля. Работа идет споро. Наши представители на уровне заместителей министров иностранных дел возглавляют соответствующий механизм, в рамках которого реализуются все решения наших лидеров. Обсудили и  подготовку к саммиту БРИКС, который состоится в начале сентября в Китае, наше взаимодействие в ШОС. Конечно, много внимания было уделено ситуации на Корейском полуострове, в том числе в контексте принятой буквально сегодня ночью резолюции СБ ООН. В ней наряду с новыми достаточно серьезными мерами воздействия на руководство Пхеньяна с целью добиться выполнения резолюции СБ ООН в отношении ракетно-ядерных программ КНДР, также содержится твердая приверженность Совета Безопасности возобновлению шестисторонних переговоров и поиску политического урегулирования.

У России и Китая, как вы знаете, есть совместная позиция. Она закреплена совместным заявлением министров иностранных дел наших стран от 4 июля и предполагает продвижение к политическому процессу через китайскую инициативу о двойном замораживании любых ракетных пусков и ядерных испытаний в КНДР и одновременного замораживания крупномасштабных военных учений США и Республики Корея. Помимо этой китайской концепции в нашем совместном заявлении содержится поддержка российского предложения о разработке дорожной карты постепенного восстановления доверия и создания условий для возобновления шестисторонних переговоров. Договорились продвигать эту концепцию в практической деятельности, в  том числе в ООН.

Продолжительной была  встреча с Госсекретарем США Р.Тиллерсоном. Его прежде всего интересовали (он начал с этого) подробности решений, которые были вынужденно нами приняты в ответ на принятый закон с антироссийскими санкциями в Конгрессе США. Мы эти разъяснения дали. Собственно говоря, это было сделано на основе интервью Президента России В.В.Путина телеканалу «Россия». Там все было подробно сказано, разъяснены причины решений, которые мы приняли после длительного ожидания того, что США все-таки не пойдут по пути конфронтации. Но, к сожалению, русофобская настроенность членов Конгресса помешала этому сбыться.

Обсудили наше взаимодействие по другим направлениям. Мы напомнили о тех пониманиях, которые были достигнуты на встрече президентов России В.В.Путина и США Д.Трампа в Гамбурге, в том числе о необходимости наладить сотрудничество в сфере кибербезопасности, борьбы с киберпреступностью, предотвращения киберпреступлений.

Обсудили вопросы, касающиеся наших контактов по различным международным проблемам. Северная Корея и ядерная проблема Корейского полуострова тоже были одними  из центральных. Исходим из того, что контакты по этой проблеме между Госдепартаментом США и МИД России были бы весьма полезны, и мы открыты таким контактам. Рассчитываем, что это будет встречено взаимностью.

Касались ситуации в Афганистане, в районе Персидского залива, положения дел в сирийском урегулировании. Здесь тоже осуществляются контакты между нашими представителями, в том числе в развитие договоренности, достигнутой Россией, США и Иорданией, по созданию южной зоны деэскалации в южной части САР. Рассчитываем, что и по другим аспектам сирийского урегулирования – как по военным, так и по политическим – наши контакты с США будут продолжаться. Собственно, они никогда и не прерывались.

Затрагивали вопросы ближневосточного урегулирования, украинского кризиса. Напомнили о том, что Президент и Госсекретарь США обещали нам, что в ближайшее время к нам приедет специальный представитель США по украинскому урегулированию К.Волкер. Р.Тиллерсон подтвердил, что такой контакт с нашим представителем В.Ю.Сурковым запланирован и состоится в ближайшее время. Это будет интересно, потому что К.Волкер уже объехал немало столиц, включая Киев, Париж, Берлин, Лондон. Нам будет интересно, какое представление о нынешнем положении дел составил американский спецпредставитель.

Затронули вопросы, касающиеся стратегической стабильности. К февралю 2018 г. должны быть достигнуты все уровни и применены ограничения, установленные Договором СНВ. Соответствующий двусторонний механизм должен обеспечить выполнение обеими сторонами своих обязательств. Говорили о необходимости налаживания профессионального, деполитизированного, прагматичного диалога по вопросам Договора РСМД. Мне показалось, что мы встретили понимание Госсекретаря США Р.Тиллерсона. Поручения нашим экспертам будут даны.

Как вы знаете, есть механизм «С.А.Рябков – Т.Шэннон» с участием соответствующих заместителя Министра иностранных дел России и заместителя Госсекретаря США, которые встречались уже несколько раз. Было сочтено полезным сохранить этот формат и продолжить в его рамках обсуждение всех вопросов, в том числе сложных тем нашей двусторонней повестки дня, которых, к сожалению, пока не становится меньше. Однако мы почувствовали готовность наших американских коллег продолжать диалог. Полагаю, что альтернативы этому просто не существует.

Вопрос: Не возмущает ли Вас, что все боевики, не желающие подписаться под перемирием, уходят в Идлиб?

С.В.Лавров: Как я сказал, согласовать параметры зоны деэскалации в Идлибе будет непросто. Наверное, это самая сложная из четырех зон, о которых договорились в мае этого года в Астане Россия, Турция и Иран. Исходим также из того, что эта "тройка", а также другие игроки, включая, возможно, США, в совокупности имеют влияние на всех боевиков и вооруженные формирования, за исключением террористов, которые никогда не будут подводиться ни под какие договоренности. Если Россия, Турция, Иран и американская коалиция синхронно будут использовать свое влияние на конкретных игроков, которые с оружием в руках противостоят друг другу «на земле», то компромиссные предложения, которые будут способствовать прекращению огня и создавать условия для политического процесса, будут найдены.

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Фотографии

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+90-312-439-21-22
440-82-17
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж