News

26 December 201812:58

Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s opening remarks at a meeting with Foreign Minister of Pakistan Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Moscow, December 26, 2018

2512-26-12-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Mr Minister,

Colleagues,

It is a pleasure to welcome you to Moscow. We recently met in New York on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly and discussed the details of our bilateral relations. Today we have agreed to focus on the Afghanistan peace process, which is very relevant. Thank you for your proposal to discuss it.

We have a common interest in creating conditions for the earliest start of a political process that would be orchestrated by the Afghans themselves and take into account the interests of all neighbouring countries.

There is an abundance of various formats, as well as international intermediaries eager to help start this process. Some formats are too narrow and do not represent the entire range of interests of all the countries and Afghan parties that need to be considered at this stage; other formats are overly expanded, which makes it impossible to concentrate on the immediate task of launching the political process.

We try not to impose anything on anyone, but it seems to me that Russia, Pakistan and other participants of the Moscow format have found a very effective framework, which should be also useful for the Afghan parties.

The accession of India and Pakistan to the SCO has given a new breath to the SCO-Afghanistan Contact Group. This is a very promising format. We are grateful for this opportunity to work very closely with Pakistan and other countries. We will be very interested to see today what else we can do. It is very important for us to listen to your assessment of the results of the tour to a number of countries where you discussed the Afghan issues and which ends in Moscow.

Welcome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Additional materials

Photos

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

26.12.1812:58

Вступительное слово Министра иностранных дел России С.В.Лаврова в ходе переговоров с Министром иностранных дел Пакистана Ш.М.Куреши, Москва, 26 декабря 2018 года

2512-26-12-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Уважаемый г-н Министр,

Дорогие коллеги,

Рады приветствовать Вас в Москве. Совсем недавно мы встречались в Нью-Йорке «на полях» Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН и достаточно подробно обсудили состояние двусторонних отношений. Сегодня мы договорились сосредоточиться на задачах афганского урегулирования, что весьма актуально. Спасибо за предложение это обсудить.

У нас общая заинтересованность в том, чтобы как можно скорее создать условия для начала политического процесса, который был бы ведом самими афганцами и учитывал интересы всех стран-соседей.

Сейчас нет недостатка в различных форматах, международных посредниках, которые стремятся помочь начать этот процесс. Некоторые форматы являются слишком зауженными и не представляют всю палитру интересов тех стран и афганских сторон, которые необходимо учесть на данном этапе. Другие форматы - чрезмерно расширенные, что не позволяет сконцентрироваться в их рамках на немедленной задаче запуска политического процесса.

Мы стараемся никому ничего не навязывать, но, мне кажется, что Россия, Пакистан и другие участники Московского формата нащупали достаточно эффективные рамки, в которых должно быть комфортно и афганским сторонам.

С присоединением Индии и Пакистана к ШОС, новое дыхание обретает Контактная группа «ШОС-Афганистан». Это весьма перспективный формат. Признательны за то, что в рамках этих механизмов мы очень тесно сотрудничаем с Пакистаном и другими странами. Будем весьма заинтересованы посмотреть сегодня, что мы можем сделать дополнительно. Для нас очень важно послушать Ваши оценки по итогам турне по целому ряду стран, где Вы обсуждали афганскую проблематику, и которое завершается в Москве.

Добро пожаловать.

 

Дополнительные материалы

Видео

Фотографии

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

Посольство России в Исламабаде:
+92 51 260-08-12
+92 300 852-88-30
Генконсульство России в Карачи:
+92 324 261-28-84
+92 21 35-86-13-36
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж