News

22 March 201816:17

Deputy Director of the Information and Press Department Artyom Kozhin’s answer to a media question on cooperation between the Russian Federation and the Central African Republic

538-22-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Question: Recently, Western media have published articles on the nature and content of Russia's bilateral relations with the Central African Republic. What is your take on the state and prospects for Russia-CAR cooperation?

Artyom Kozhin: The Russian Federation and the Central African Republic have a long history of mutually beneficial partnership.

Since the time diplomatic relations were established on December 7, 1960, cooperation between our two countries has unfolded steadily in a friendly atmosphere. Unfortunately, the ensuing long period of internal political turmoil in the CAR led to a decrease in intensity of interaction between our states.

According to the results of the presidential election held in the CAR in 2016, Faustin-Archange Touadera was elected head of state.
The international community positively assessed the democratic nature of the elections and the transparency of the electoral process. The CAR’s new government, led by the president, embarked on a course to restore domestic political stability and diversify its international relations.

The meeting between Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov and CAR President F.A. Touadera that took place in Sochi on October 9, 2017 was an important milestone in our bilateral cooperation. The participants re-affirmed their commitment to restoring practical cooperation in politics, trade, the economy, research, education and healthcare.

Under existing agreements, Russia is exploring the possibilities of the mutually beneficial development of Central African natural resources. The prospecting mining exploration concessions began in 2018. We believe these projects will help stabilise the economic situation in the CAR, promote the construction of the infrastructure, and serve as a basis for drawing additional investment to the country's economy.

Moscow welcomes the policy adopted by Faustin-Archange Touadera to establish an inclusive political process in the CAR, to put an early end to interethnic and inter-confessional clashes, and to restore state authority throughout the country. We believe measures taken by the CAR leadership to reform the security sector are important. Such steps are designed to facilitate, including with the support of the international community, the normalisation of the situation in the republic, as well as to implement the National Defence Plan in order to gradually transfer all responsibility for the state of affairs to the legitimate authorities.

Responding to a corresponding request from the president of the CAR, Russia decided to provide Bangui with free military-technical assistance. With the consent of the UN Security Council Committee created pursuant to UNSC Resolution 2127, an allocation of small arms and ammunition from the stocks of Russia’s Defence Ministry was made available to the Central African Army in late January - early February. Five military and 170 civilian instructors from Russia were sent to train CAR service personnel with the knowledge of this committee. This assistance is provided in strict accordance with the sanctions imposed by the UN Security Council on the country. Russia’s assistance is carried out as part of the common efforts of the international community to strengthen the national security units of the CAR, to transfer full responsibility for maintaining security and law and order throughout its territory to the local authority and, ultimately, to normalise the situation and to provide a lasting solution to the drawn-out internal armed conflict.

Diplomatic and consular missions of Russia

Representative offices in Russia

Photo

22.03.1816:17

Ответ заместителя директора Департамента информации и печати МИД России А.А.Кожина на вопрос СМИ о развитии сотрудничества между Российской Федерацией и Центральноафриканской Республикой

538-22-03-2018

  • en-GB1 ru-RU1

Вопрос: В последнее время в западных СМИ появляются публикации о характере и содержании двусторонних отношений России с Центральноафриканской Республикой. Как Вы оцениваете состояние и перспективы развития российско-центральноафриканского сотрудничества?

Ответ: Российская Федерация и Центральноафриканская Республика (ЦАР) имеют длительную историю взаимовыгодного партнерства.

С момента установления 7 декабря 1960 г. дипломатических отношений сотрудничество между нашими двумя странами поступательно развивалось в дружественной атмосфере. К сожалению, последовавший длительный период внутриполитической нестабильности в ЦАР привел к снижению интенсивности нашего межгосударственного взаимодействия.

По результатам состоявшихся в 2016 г. президентских выборов в ЦАР главой государства был избран Фостен Арканж Туадера. Международное сообщество позитивно оценило демократичность выборов, транспарентность избирательного процесса. Новое руководство страны во главе с Президентом взяло курс на восстановление внутриполитической стабильности, а также диверсификацию внешних связей.

Важной вехой в развитии нашего двустороннего взаимодействия стала состоявшаяся 9 октября 2017 г. в г.Сочи встреча Министра иностранных дел Российской Федерации С.В.Лаврова с Президентом ЦАР Ф.А.Туадерой, в ходе которой был подтвержден обоюдный настрой на восстановление практического сотрудничества в политической, торгово-экономической и гуманитарной областях.

В рамках достигнутых договоренностей Российской Федерацией проводятся мероприятия, направленные на изучение возможностей взаимовыгодного освоения запасов природных ресурсов ЦАР. В 2018 г. началась реализация поисковых горнорудных концессий. Исходим из того, что развитие данных проектов будет способствовать стабилизации экономической ситуации в ЦАР, развитию инфраструктуры, а также послужит основой для привлечения дополнительных инвестиций в экономику страны.

В Москве приветствуют взятый Ф.А.Туадерой курс на налаживание в ЦАР инклюзивного политического процесса, скорейшее прекращение столкновений на межэтнической и межконфессиональной почве, восстановление государственной власти на всей территории страны. Считаем важными предпринимаемые руководством ЦАР меры по реформе сектора безопасности. Такие шаги призваны содействовать, в том числе при поддержке международного сообщества, нормализации ситуации в Республике, а также выполнению Плана по национальной обороне в интересах постепенной передачи всей ответственности за положение дел в стране законным властям.

Откликаясь на соответствующую просьбу Президента ЦАР, российская сторона приняла решение об оказании Банги на безвозмездной основе военно-технической помощи. С согласия Комитета СБ ООН 2127 из наличия Министерства обороны России на нужды центральноафриканской армии в конце января – начале февраля с.г. поставлена партия стрелкового вооружения и боеприпасов. С ведома этого Комитета туда также командированы 5 военных и 170 российских гражданских инструкторов для подготовки военнослужащих ЦАР. Данная помощь оказывается в строгом соответствии с требованиями санкционного режима СБ ООН в отношении этой страны. Российское содействие осуществляется в русле общих усилий международного сообщества по укреплению национальных силовых структур ЦАР, передаче им всей полноты ответственности за поддержание безопасности и правопорядка на всей ее территории и, в конечном счете, нормализации обстановки и надежному урегулированию затянувшегося внутреннего вооруженного конфликта.

 

Общие сведения

  • Флаг
  • Герб
  • Гимн
  • Двусторонние
    отношения
  • О стране

Горячая линия

+236-21-61-03-11 +236-70-15-21-73
Телефон горячей линии для граждан за рубежом, попавших в экстренную ситуацию.

Загранучреждения МИД России

Представительства в РФ

Фоторепортаж